We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Hai Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bali Hai Beach Resort
Save
You added Bali Hai Beach Resort to your Saves list
6900 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34218   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
buffalo, ny
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

This is a very laid back place. We met people from all over the world who told us they had been coming there for years. Our beachfront on the 1st floor was perfect for my son, who is 13 months old. Sunsets every night! The kitchen was handy. Room came with utensils and cooking gear, plus LOTS of storage space. We never used the dining table inside, preferring to sit on the long patio and chat to our neighbors. The heated pool was a nice way to relax at the end of a long day of doing nothing. Gorgeous private beach and gardens area. Just keep in mind if you are in a 1st floor room like ours, the patio is one long patio stretching down the whole side. If you want privacy, take the 2nd floor. Also, there is no maid to pick up after you, but there are vacuums available and a grocery store up the road for supplies. It suited us just fine. We will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

this motel is so moldy and worn out it's beyond saving.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestResort, Owner/Manager at Bali Hai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2010
Completely unfounded. Used this excuse break her lease for a "cheaper" facility. Family owned & operated for forty years and never had a claim against the cleanliness of our accommodations I believe speaks for itself. Thank you for allowing us to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

I've been staying at Bali Hai with family every spring for over 30 years and just recently added a month long stay in early winter. The location is like heaven on earth and I'd be perfectly happy to stay there forever. The apartments are spacious and are a great value for the money. If you're looking for Ritz-Carlton type accomodations, this isn't the place. If you want a great, comfortable, family friendly place at the beach, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyfusion
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

My family and I stayed at Bali Hai for a week and had a great time. The beach was wonderful and right out your door, the property was well maintained, with flowers and palm trees. Our room was large and super clean! It is family owned and run. The owner was very friendly and helpful, telling us the best places to eat and things to do in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We have visited the Sarasota / Bradenton area for years and know all the cool things to enjoy from renting a jetski in Venice to exploring Egmont Key. We are waterbugs, so keep that in mind.

We wanted to try something different this year and found it. We want to feel “more local” or more on the waters. We found what ended up being the coolest thing the 3 of us had done in a long time.

We chartered a sailboat for an overnight sailing trip. Here’s how it worked.

We showed up at a marina in Palmetto (I forget the name of the marina) about 11AM. We were told to lay out what we thought we needed for that night and the next day, then take ½ of what we lay out. It was good advise. We packed up some wine, cheese, Coke, rum, CD’s, and fruit. Our captain, Captain Brad was waiting for us at the boat, Seaduced Again, and help us load up. About 11:30 and after a quick safety discussion we were off and on the Manatee River. Not too much later, the sails were up and the motor was off. I had only sailed small boats before so it was cool to be on a larger boat.

We sailed though a 15 minute of rain but it cooled us off nicely. At 3PM we were at another marina on Anna Maria Island. They gave us a “how to work the stuff on the boat” talk and told us to go explore the beach while they tied up the boat.

When we returned, the beds were made, clean towel were out, TV/DVD was set up, radio was playing boating songs and they even put our wine and cheese on ice.

We took the trolley to Coquina Beach and walk to a great waterside restaurant called Marvisa I think. It was GREAT seafood and cold beer. Then we went to The Beach House for drinks and to watch the sunset. KILLER sunset! We headed back to the boat and sat till about 11PM when we hit the sack.

Next day the Captain shows back up and after a bit of breakfast, we start our sail back to our starting place. I was so relaxed, I slept about half the way.

We flew Delta to SRQ… flight was on-time but service was so so.

Stayed at the Bali Hai Beach Resort and it’s a great place to stay, nice people and great location.

Beach house was best sunset

Flying into SRQ not TPA was nice

Ribs at Bones were okay

Waters were clear!!!
But overall, the 2 days one night sailing was the highlight!
Tom

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in May with our two young girls aged 5 and 2. The location is fantastic. It's a little north of the busier areas which made it much quieter, however it's convenient to everything. The grounds are immaculate with gorgeous flowers, palm trees, walkways...all very well maintained. There are lots of big beautiful birds walking all over the property and often landing on your balcony railing. The beach is stunning. The sand is like I've never seen before; like powdered sugar and the shells are unbelivable. We had so much fun creating our collection to take home. There's a nice sized pool with enough lush landscaping to provide adequate privacy from people who may be outside on their downstairs patios. The pool has an area where you can be in the shade or in the direct sun...which was nice with fair-skinned young kids. Most downstairs rooms included a picnic table or chairs right outside the door as well as grills randomly placed throughout the property.

The owners were terrific. They let us stay the dates we needed, not a week at a time like many other local condos and hotels. The other guests were very friendly and most we met were on a return visit. A few said they've stayed all over the island and keep returning to the Bali Hai.

The rooms, while older and possibly in need of some updates, are immaculately clean and tidy. My husband is so critical of cleanliness and this place exceeded his expectations. Ours had a full kitchen so we headed to the grocery store and bought a supply of food to keep in the room/fridge...plenty of space for a family of 4. We stayed in an upstairs gulf facing balcony and the view was out of this world. A picture postcard. The only negative for us with two young girls was that the balcony bars were a little far set apart and the girls could fit their heads through. Next time we will request a gulf side lower level room. In the evening once the kids were exhausted and asleep, hubby and I sat on the balcony drinking Corona's late into the evening...just listening to the waves crashing onto the beach. Could have stayed there forever.

A few last things. The restaurants are wonderful. I don't remember seeing any chain establishments and everything was very uncommercialized...which we loved. The Rod & Reed Pier and Sandbar were our favorites. Also, there's a trolley which travels the entire length of the island and beyond. It was so much fun and convenient as it stops right at the Bali Hai. The kids loved it...oh, and it's FREE!!! Cannot beat it. As you can probably tell, we'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

What a wonderful place to stay and we shall certainly return!
The rooms are scrupulously clean (the kitchen and bathroom are old but very clean) ALL the furniture is very comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay to the full. The situation is fantastic with turtles pulling up directly in front of the beachside room and dolphins swimming passed daily. Our only complaint? .....we couldn't stay longer:)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Hai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Hai Beach Resort

Address: 6900 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34218
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Bali Hai Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Hai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.