We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, charm and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Hai Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bali Hai Beach Resort
Save
You added Bali Hai Beach Resort to your Saves list
6900 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34218   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, charm and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here Jan 22-25, 2014 and couldn't have had a better time. Anna Maria is beautiful and the location of Bali Hai can't be beat.
Like most of Anna Maria, Bali Hai is a quiet, quaint and very clean place. If you're looking for "National Chain" hotels, restaurants, shopping and 24/7 stimulation; Anna Maria is not for you. If you're looking to unwind on un-crowded white sand beaches in a picturesque residential atmosphere, then Ann Maria is for you.
Our room was on the 2nd floor and faced the pool/courtyard--Great view of pool and palms. The unit is a one bedroom with full kitchen, bath and living room---lots of storage. The units are very clean, somewhat retro (think “the Golden Girls meets the Brady Bunch”), but very well kept, neat as a pin, and stocked with all the essentials.
The trolley picks up right on the corner by resort and will take all the way to Longboat Key and everywhere in-between. The village of Anna Maria or Holmes Beach is a nice walk from resort. Good food at the “Sandbar” and great shelling from there- along the North Shore (Turtle Point) of Island at low tide.
We will definitely be back as Anna Maria and Bali Hai are awesome places.

Dan H.
Minneapolis, MN

Island tip: Once on the island- stay on the island- you can get caught in a lot of traffic in Bradenton or Sarasota when the draw bridges are all up-

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We loved our stay here. Very reasonable condo right on the beach for an affordable price/weekly rate. Anna Maria Island is a gem and there is no end to the relaxing that can be done in this little piece of paradise. Located in a wonderful, quiet neighborhood of 50s-style beach houses. Don't hesitate to book a week or more here. There will be no regrets.

Room Tip: Nearly every room faces the beach. Worth the upgrade to get beachfront, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I am definitely bringing the family back here again and again...the free trolley stops right in front of the hotel which is a convenient way to get around the island. Landscape and the hotel rooms are so tropical and very attractive. The pool is heated and very big. Rooms are beyond clean! Hotel has its own private beach with the most beautiful sunset on earth!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEMMEL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I know this place for so many years and still love it and miss it like if it was my owm home
Not a fashion place with luxury furnitures aso but what u need and the best view , very well maintained with owners that are so helpfull.and kind
huggies to you ,Al and Mike from Belgium (thesy)

Room Tip: I stay in a 1 bedroom appartment , no need to choose a special one this place is quite because good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the one bedroom condos, beachfront, on the second floor. Absolutely perfect location. If you need the most deluxe accommodation, this place is not for you, but if you want to stay in a clean comfortable place directly on one of the top rated beaches in the world, with a free trolley stop right out front, book this place! September was fun, because a bunch of people from around the world show up every year at the same time and meet for the sunset every night on the patio.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hubby and would highly recommend the Bali Hai Beach Resort! Friendly owners Al and Dave made us feel very welcome. Our bed was quite comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. Towels and sheets could be exchanged for clean ones when needed. Our second floor unit faced the beautiful Gulf! Our large and roomy lounge had a flat screen TV with comfortable chairs and sofa. The swimming pool is beautiful and large enough to swim laps. Although it is somewhat dated, we would certainly return to the Bali Hai Resort on lovely Holmes Beach/Anna Maria Island!

Room Tip: Choose a Gulf front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Daisy (mom) and I stayed at the Bali Hai this past weekend (4 days) and enjoyed a lovely and trouble free weekend shelling, biking, eating and exploring! The BALI HAI is directly on one of the prettiest places on the water. The proprietors, Al and James, were friendly, accommodating and just overall lovely and kind people. Our room was indeed a 70's throw back and it was spotless! My bare feet picked up NADA on the floor...now that's spectacular! I highly recommend this sweet spot for a comfy stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Hai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Hai Beach Resort

Address: 6900 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34218
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Bali Hai Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Hai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.