We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort
Save
You added Anna Maria Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
105 39th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217 (Formerly the Aquarius Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My family loves Anna Maria Island Beach Resort. We visit twice a year and always stay in the beachfront room and it is always clean and well stocked. I'm a bit surprised at some of the other reviews stating otherwise. The rooms aren't super modern but they have a nice, down to earth, beachy feel. I don't go to sit in the room though, I go to enjoy the paradise that is outside - the beach! The beachside patio is very nice and large with plenty of seating, a nice fire pit, and you can see and hear the gulf or take a few steps right onto the beach. The pool area has a large cooking area with plenty of seating and the pool is always very clean. There is also a small patio off the bedroom that is perfect for your morning coffee. The resort is located within walking distance to Publix and several other shops. We love it - it's fabulous. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    13
    1
    7
See reviews for
35
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Shabby and outdated rooms. Poorly furnished. Absolutely filthy bathroom. We found dirty underwear in the closet. One attendant on site and he left frequently. No cleaning provided. Get your own clean towels if you can find anyone in the laundry. Kitchen was sparsely furnished with mismatched dishes, few utensils, broken blender. Refrigerator had huge streaks of rust down the front and the inside was dirty. Tiny balcony was covered in debris. We would have left if we had a choice, but there are no refunds!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
I do not know who this guest is, I have no records of anyone having a complaint on
room 7, besides room 7 has a brand new refrigerator, with no rust!
I wish that if they did stay with us that they would have let us know if they had
issues so we could address them. I will not say they did not stay here, but all the guest I met
during stay had nothing but positive comments on the Resort, so they may had
issues and just did not bring it to our attention. As far as the Resort it is not a
five star Hilton, it is a quaint, clean, and affordable place to stay on the Beach. Look at the
pictures we post on the Resort here at Trip Advisor, it shows you the rooms.
It was updated in 2010 with new tumbled marble stone all around, new pool deck, new pool furniture a fire pit, new stainless steel BBQ, Granite counter BBQ Bar grill area. Many of the
rooms were updated as well, it is not perfect, but we have hundreds of guest every
year and vast majority absolutely love it. We have a very large number of return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The positives: The staff people were friendly, the bed was comfortable, there was a full size fridge, the pool area is clean and the pool was warm, pool chairs were provided, the outside grill and bar area was a great place to gather, the fire pit (actually a gas fire pit with stones - nice for no smoke) was a good place to hang out. You can go to the office to exchange your bath towels, washcloths, etc. Shampoo, lotion, etc were provided. Additionally it is right next to a public beach that has a good menu and plenty of room to eat outside, along with volleyball nets and a nice play area for little kids. Publix (grocery) is about a block away, along with some typical island-type stores selling souvenirs, tshirts, etc. Bottom line: outside area and bedroom = great. Ideally, you aren't spending much time inside.

The cautions: The rooms here need some updating and could really use some basic amenities, especially in the kitchen. We had hardly any silverware, no bakeware (not even a pizza pan or cookie sheet), just a couple of pots and pans, very few place settings and coffee mugs (3-4). That means you have do dishes every time you eat. There were a few kitchen tools like a spatula, whisk, serving spoons, etc but we had to buy other things we needed; thank goodness for dollar stores but we shouldn't have had to do that. The furnishings in the main area were adequate but old; one sofa, one chair, small kitchen table. (The bedroom was fine.) The main area shares space with the kitchen and dining and is very, very compact. There's really only one rental in the whole place that has a gulf view out the window; every other room you have to step out on a tiny, tiny balcony. Office hours were a bit unpredictable. We have a couple of suggestions for the management:
1 - Equip the kitchens properly (service for 8, silverware for 8 or more, wine glasses, drinking glasses, coffee mugs, set of pots and pans, kitchen tools, perhaps small kitchen appliances in rooms or at least available to borrow in office) and have the cleaning staff do a quick inventory of the items at week's end. Just let people know up front that you expect all the equipment to be there when they check out and they will be billed for missing items. Don't be ridiculous and bill them $25 for a spoon (or key!) but make it clear that the items are not free for the taking. This has worked well at other resorts we've used.
2 - Clean your light fixtures, fans, filters, etc. regularly.
3 - You're a Florida resort so you should expect bug issues unless you get on a regular maintenance plan for spraying. Do it. Do it so somebody doesn't have to bug bomb their room and gag the neighboring rooms.
4 - If people aren't supposed to hang towels on their balconies, walkways, etc. then provide something else for them. A clothesline? Even the retractable type that is wall-mounted should help.
5 - If people are to use the pull-out sofa as their bed, it follows that those same people will need a place for their clothing. Provide a small dresser in the main area or hallway.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being near the public beach; it is a busy beach but you can't really hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
This is the type of review we love, because they point all the ways we can improve the Resort
and many of these suggestions are being taken. We have purchased more and new dishware
and pots and pans for the kitchen. We are updating are High speed internet with faster one. We now will have HD TV's in the room. Guest are allowed to hang towels out on rear balconies, just not front railings. We have an excellent Pest control company who is dealing with any situation we have. So once again Thank you for giving us positive suggestions to make our place even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed Monday through Saturday in March 2014. It was a one bedroom unit on the second floor. Our first impression was good - the appliances were dated as was the decor. I agree with previous comments that it could use a good cleaning - we found used kleenex behind the nightstand in the bedroom. The bedroom was large with a king sized bed that was comfortable. It was nice to see the ocean from the bedroom patio. The bathroom seemed small but was clean and updated. Overall it was a great week. My suggestions to the owners would be to update the appliances and furniture.
The pool is really nice. They have comfortable furniture by the pool and in the deck out in front that faces the ocean. We didn't get a chance to use the fire pit or the grill.

Room Tip: Make sure you take in the all you can eat pancake breakfast at the restaurant next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for that response. We are constantly taking what funds we have, and replacing older appliances with new, at this date almost all have been updated or greatly improved. Being on the beach puts allot of wear and tear on all our appliances and AC, so it is a constant battle, but our Guest are worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom in January. At first glance it seemed great, but then we realized it was really not all that clean. It didn't seem like the floors had been swept well or mopped/scrubbed at all. All of the vents, ceiling fans, doors were extremely dusty. The master bathroom was nicely upgraded but it's not going to mean much if they don't start cleaning it better. We still had a great time because we were there with a lot of family, but I would not choose to stay here again only because of the cleanliness factor. The location was fantastic. The space in the room was great. We also loved using the fire pit because it was pretty chilly while we were there. If they can improve their housekeeping, then it would be a great place to stay while on AMI.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Once again thank you for a good honest response. We did have some serious issues in January with allot of beach construction and a tremendous amount of dust. The beach construction is done and this issue has been resolved. Thank you again for your visit and we will work hard to do even a better job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

There should be some guidelines around a place being able to call itself a resort. There are nearly zero amenities. No towels at the pool, no chairs available to use on the beach, nothing in the room to make a guest feel welcome. Oh, but there are pages of warnings of the monetary consequences of various deeds, from $25 if you have the audacity to lose a key and need to be let in your room after business hours, (that’s right, no one is on the property outside business hours) to the threat of a $2,000 fee if they don’t think you left the place clean enough. Lots of smarmy little comments, like don’t use towels to take off make-up, use tissues…they don’t mention you have to do buy your own tissue. Nowhere on their web site does it mention that there are no housekeeping services. So if you like paying top dollar to stay someplace and do your own housework, then this is the place for you. We could have tolerated all of this if the place was clean. The air conditioner filter was thick with filth. Twice I asked the very young man in the office to have it changed, and both times he assured me it would be. It was never done. The window sills were full of dirt and mold, and they wouldn’t stay up. Light fixtures were left bare with no globe covering the bulb. Additionally, different guests get different treatment. We were directed to a public Laundromat, while the folks in the room next to us were given a key to an onsite laundry room. Another guest had fresh flowers put in her room by the management, and was surprised to find out no one else did. There are thousands of beach front properties up and down the Florida coast, stay far away from this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
With this individual there were some issues with room that we needed to be addressed, sadly when ask if we could go into room and try and deal with AC and Light fixture, she did not want us to enter. She wanted to note that she was not happy, her stay was very short. To answer the questions, yes there is laundry room on site, it used by the resort to keep fresh linens and towels to guest as needed. It is available after hours to guest who are staying longer terms more than just a few days, otherwise it would be overwhelmed. We tried to help with issues, but she wanted to complain and not let us fix, to this there is nothing more I can do. As far as stating to guest the do nots, we do not want smoking in the room, we do not want rooms left wide open with AC on ( it does not work well under those conditions), and we do not want them to taking towels, or keys, or remotes, we do want them left behind when they leave. Those are standard request of any Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This resort is in nearly the best location on Anna Maria Island in terms of being right on the beach, close to the trolley and close to stores and restaurants. Everything is walking distance so that you can park your car and not have to struggle with island traffic. The price is definitely higher than most other spots on the island, but location makes it worth it for us. The hotel is a mixture of new and beat up. The owners are slowly remodeling, but the rooms are still a mix of new and really old. The resort is getting much nicer. We have rented from them five times over the last eight years. We will probably look for another location simply because of price. They say the rooms are good for four people. Good for two adults and two children, but not four adults.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. The one bedrooms are best for two adults and two children. I would recommend anyone who has more that two adults to take the two bedroom units. Pricing we are very competative all direct beach front property, and we are constantly reviewing our prices verse
other places with similar amenities. Yes we are constantly updating and replacing older items with new, so were constantly getting better, but we are also sensitive to cost and weigh improvements to the cost we have to pass on to future guest, so we trying remain affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Maria Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

Address: 105 39th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217 (Formerly the Aquarius Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort has been recently remodeled and updated.The pool area has been redone, with pool accessories and chairs and a tumbled marble deck. The pool is heated. The rooms have been updated as well with flat screen TVs, pillow top King size bed, queen size sleeper sofa. There are 9 one bedrooms, and 2 two bedroom suite. All the rooms have dining table, Kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave and sink. The Resort itself is directly on the beach, surrounded by lavish gardens of palms and shrubs and tumbled marble decks and walkways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Island Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.