We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, the rest is good not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Anna Maria Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
105 39th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217 (Formerly the Aquarius Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Holmes Beach
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, the rest is good not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This resort is in nearly the best location on Anna Maria Island in terms of being right on the beach, close to the trolley and close to stores and restaurants. Everything is walking distance so that you can park your car and not have to struggle with island traffic. The price is definitely higher than most other spots on the island, but location makes it worth it for us. The hotel is a mixture of new and beat up. The owners are slowly remodeling, but the rooms are still a mix of new and really old. The resort is getting much nicer. We have rented from them five times over the last eight years. We will probably look for another location simply because of price. They say the rooms are good for four people. Good for two adults and two children, but not four adults.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. The one bedrooms are best for two adults and two children. I would recommend anyone who has more that two adults to take the two bedroom units. Pricing we are very competative all direct beach front property, and we are constantly reviewing our prices verse
other places with similar amenities. Yes we are constantly updating and replacing older items with new, so were constantly getting better, but we are also sensitive to cost and weigh improvements to the cost we have to pass on to future guest, so we trying remain affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    12
    1
    7
See reviews for
35
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just spent 9 days @ AMIBR-our 4th visit. We had a wonderful stay-staff provides anything we might need. We feel like family and are already planning our next visit. Thanks Rick & Skipper!
Mike & Terri Maynard
Sebring, Florida

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family rented the entire 11 units for the week. What a wonderful week. The location is the best. Located next to the main Holmes beach, 1 block from the grocery store and near the main free shuttle stop. Units all had Wifi.
The pool was wonderful and the grill and counter area by the pool was our main gathering place.
The beds were very comfortable and the a/c worked well. Loved that we could walk to beach without crossing any streets and had our own private path. The gas fire pit was a plus and we made smores two nights. Spent little time in the rooms, but our two bedroom unit was very spacious and clean. Recommendations for improvement include providing teflon frying pans or griddles that the food doesn't stick to.

Room Tip: Two bedroom units are great size. One bedroom units on beach side have great viess with a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I cannot find anything negative to say. It is extremely comfortable and safe. I traveled to see a friend and wanted a beach place to stay. This met all my needs. Staff was great. It is truly right on the beach. It is beside the public park but that was not an issue. The king sized bed was awesome. I will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We rented unit 4, ground floor, overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and it was perfect. Our relatives were in a house two miles away and they came over and barbecued around the pool and raved at how nice and CLEAN our place was. Publix Grocery is right around the corner, Beach Cafe 200 yards away... turned out perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: Ocean view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our family has been visiting Anna Maria Island for over forty years. We stayed at the Anna Maria Island Beach Resort during spring break in 2012. We made a last minute decision to visit family on the island and found a room due to a last minute cancellation.

The two story motel is located in the heart of the island, on the beach and walking distance from one of Anna Maria's unique rituals - pancake breakfast on the beach at the Manatee Public Beach. Skinny's hamburger place is just across the street.

Our room was fine though not huge. It was a clean one bedroom with one bath and a small living/kitchenette area on the first floor. There is a tiki hut pool (which we didn't use) and a beautiful beach with some shady areas if its too hot. It's an older building but was in decent condition. it's no Plaza Hotel, but it's right on the beach in the center of everthing and fairly quiet.

There is a popular fire pit that was used most nights by guests. An outside beach shower, lawn chairs and a grilling area are included. Overall it was a fine stay and the location is perfect. I'm glad we got lucky and found a room.

Room Tip: The building in two story. We were in two units, first floor at the end (a good location) and second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was my second time here on beautiful Anna Maria Island and at the Anna Maria Island Beach Resort. Booking was easy, rates were good, place is clean and the view is awesome.
If you are the type of traveler that is not high maintenance this is your place! I loved the fact that we did not have to check in at the office, a code was emailed to us and when we arrived we simply used the lock box located outside our door to let ourselves in. In fact the entire time we were there we never had to worry about taking a key with us! The kitchen has everything you need to prepare a meal. The bathroom had towels and pool towels. The decor was very beachy and casual. The fire pit is awesome. The large grill area is great for families. Our room had a private area off the bedroom and another slider from the living room where you could sit outside. The view is unbelievable and having the beach outside your door was great. The heated pool was also very nice too.
Now even though we were happy to be left alone and didnt need anything, I just want to mention there were management present if you did. We had the pleasure of meeting staff if nothing more to just ask us if we needed anything or to instruct us on using the grill and fire pit. Everyone was very pleasant! Parking was always available and checking out, you merely need to leave everything the way you found it!
All in all we love this place it's very quaint, and friendly and laid back! We look forward to another trip here real soon!

Room Tip: Room 9 and 4 great rooms for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Maria Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

Address: 105 39th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217 (Formerly the Aquarius Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort has been recently remodeled and updated.The pool area has been redone, with pool accessories and chairs and a tumbled marble deck. The pool is heated. The rooms have been updated as well with flat screen TVs, pillow top King size bed, queen size sleeper sofa. There are 9 one bedrooms, and 2 two bedroom suite. All the rooms have dining table, Kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave and sink. The Resort itself is directly on the beach, surrounded by lavish gardens of palms and shrubs and tumbled marble decks and walkways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Island Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.