We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fine motel - sunsets at night, pancakes on the beach for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort
Save
You added Anna Maria Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
105 39th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217 (Formerly the Aquarius Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, fine motel - sunsets at night, pancakes on the beach for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our family has been visiting Anna Maria Island for over forty years. We stayed at the Anna Maria Island Beach Resort during spring break in 2012. We made a last minute decision to visit family on the island and found a room due to a last minute cancellation.

The two story motel is located in the heart of the island, on the beach and walking distance from one of Anna Maria's unique rituals - pancake breakfast on the beach at the Manatee Public Beach. Skinny's hamburger place is just across the street.

Our room was fine though not huge. It was a clean one bedroom with one bath and a small living/kitchenette area on the first floor. There is a tiki hut pool (which we didn't use) and a beautiful beach with some shady areas if its too hot. It's an older building but was in decent condition. it's no Plaza Hotel, but it's right on the beach in the center of everthing and fairly quiet.

There is a popular fire pit that was used most nights by guests. An outside beach shower, lawn chairs and a grilling area are included. Overall it was a fine stay and the location is perfect. I'm glad we got lucky and found a room.

Room Tip: The building in two story. We were in two units, first floor at the end (a good location) and second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    18
    1
    10
See reviews for
46
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was my second time here on beautiful Anna Maria Island and at the Anna Maria Island Beach Resort. Booking was easy, rates were good, place is clean and the view is awesome.
If you are the type of traveler that is not high maintenance this is your place! I loved the fact that we did not have to check in at the office, a code was emailed to us and when we arrived we simply used the lock box located outside our door to let ourselves in. In fact the entire time we were there we never had to worry about taking a key with us! The kitchen has everything you need to prepare a meal. The bathroom had towels and pool towels. The decor was very beachy and casual. The fire pit is awesome. The large grill area is great for families. Our room had a private area off the bedroom and another slider from the living room where you could sit outside. The view is unbelievable and having the beach outside your door was great. The heated pool was also very nice too.
Now even though we were happy to be left alone and didnt need anything, I just want to mention there were management present if you did. We had the pleasure of meeting staff if nothing more to just ask us if we needed anything or to instruct us on using the grill and fire pit. Everyone was very pleasant! Parking was always available and checking out, you merely need to leave everything the way you found it!
All in all we love this place it's very quaint, and friendly and laid back! We look forward to another trip here real soon!

Room Tip: Room 9 and 4 great rooms for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We rented Unit 11 during spring break. The resort is in a great location next to the public beach and across the street from Skinny's. The shortfall was that there is NO Jacuzzi as advertised and shown in photos. The week we were there was exceptionally cold and the jacuzzi would have made up for it. Unit 11 was very convenient for cooking on the grill as it is just outside the door; however there is no thatch roof over the bar as shown in other photos. There is a view of the gulf from the master bedroom/patio. The beds were very comfortable. Overall this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons Island, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay during the week of January 12 – 12, 2013; the weather was great – in the 80’s during the early part of the week which was unusually above normal.
WE enjoyed the support of the staff of the resort in all our requests. We rented unit 9 which is a one bedroom on the ocean side with the only unit that had oceanfront views.
Overall we had a good time but there were many “niggling” issues with eh room that made the experience less than perfect. My wife and I would return if the following issues were corrected.
Here is the good and bad part of the experience:
Good Stuff:
• Amazing views of the ocean and wonderful sunsets
• Pool area with seating (too bad not heated)
• Outdoor gas grill with marble countertop seating area
• Comfortable bed
• Excellent support staff
• Flat screen TV with DVD player
• Free Wi-Fi
• Supplied – paper towels, toilet paper, dish & bath soup
• Shampoo & cream rinse
• Hairdryer
Things that need improvement:
• Dirty shower / tub (see pictures – this was disgusting, cannot be corrected by cleaning – this was disgusting, cannot be corrected b cleaning – stained and worn out)
• Worn out furniture – the couch was totally uncomfortable (see pictures) and the rest f the furniture has probable seen better days.
• Carpet needs cleaning – our bare feet were “black” after a few minutes of walking on the floor
• Marks on the bedroom walls due to luggage wheels hitting the walls
• Refrigerator old, no ice maker, and noisy
• Did not have non-stick skillet in room
• No screens on the living room sliding door, screens on windows broken with windows that would not close completely
• Ceiling fan blades are dirty and haven’t been cleaned in a while
• Decks and rails need scrubbing with bleach to remove stains

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We take all healthy criticism. We are glad that the guest a good stay. There issue with the fan blades were addressed and an easy fix. The refrigerator in the unit has been replaced, and was on the schedule for replacement. We are not going to put screens on the front sliders it blocks the view, and everyone with rare exception wants them, there is screens on the bedroom sliders for the breeze. The carpets are cleaned on a regular basis, so with exception to a small stain in a bed corner, the carpets are clean....please note we are on the beach and guest are constantly bringing sand into the room...so I believe the cleaning crews to an excellent job trying to stay on top of it. In regards to the bathroom shower, that is not dirt but prior guest chipped off a section of the top enamel of shower stall sill, it is being repaired. We are constantly making improvements and are seeking the best satisfaction from all our guest.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Have enjoyed the AMI Report for over 10 years, with family and solo. No better location...you truly get what you pay for. In 2012, was here in May and November...wonderful times each time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The place was nice and the tiki bar was awesome!! As soon as we got in the room we saw cockroaches in the kitchen on the walls. When I opened the silverware drawer there were live and dead cockroaches in there about 5 of them!! That was disgusting!! Never saw anyone in the office.
and dead cockroaches in there about 5 of them!! The fridge did not shut all the way so our stuff did not get cold.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
The Resort has a Pest control person spray service at least couple times a month, Roaches of that variety are very common to this area, and since we are surrounded by very beautiful landscaping and palm trees, and Austrialian Pines right on the beach, it is constant battle. 99.9% of the time we win that battle, but we can spray the grounds and the rooms, but we can not stop them from flying in if doors are left open they are attracted to light and cool air, nor can we stop some guest who unaware that there luggage (which may have been left in their closet at home) may also be transporting into the room unaware. The Resort takes pride in being extremely clean, well maintained, and responsive to our guest. Being in paradise, right on the beach, with allot native plants and gorgeous landscaping its a constant challenge to keep uninvited guest(bugs) out, who want in to cool room and lights when doors left open. This situation is an isolated event, and not common, of the hundreds of guest we have stay it is very rarely reported.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our 3rd stay @ AMIBR & it was the best ever! We love the beach area & the pool and the best thing you have everything you might need right there! Harold & Betty are the sweetest people & take care of anything that might happen or get whatever you need! Already planning our next visit. I like to cook my own meals & kitchen has what we might need.

Rick & Skipper are wonderful people to deal with & we consider them a "blessing".

Mike &Terri Maynard, Sebring, Florida

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
0.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
1.3 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
1.6 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#8 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 3 in Anna Maria
5.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Maria Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

Address: 105 39th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217 (Formerly the Aquarius Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort has been recently remodeled and updated.The pool area has been redone, with pool accessories and chairs and a tumbled marble deck. The pool is heated during winter. The rooms have been updated as well with Hi-def flat screen TVs, pillow top King size bed,new queen size sleeper sofa. There are 9 one bedrooms, and 2 two bedroom suite. All the rooms have dining table, Kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave and sink. The Resort itself is directly on the beach, surrounded by lavish gardens of palms and shrubs and tumbled marble decks and walkways.Rooms 1,2,3,4 and 11 are ground level for handicap individuals. Room 4 and 9 face the beach directly. Rooms 10 and 11 are the two bedroom and two bath units that face toward the pool. Rooms 5, 6,7 and 8 are upstairs and have balconies with views of the beach. Room 11 is the best equipped for handicap individuals. Rooms 1,3,4 and 11 are pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Island Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.