We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhonda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Anna Maria Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
105 39th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217 (Formerly the Aquarius Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Rhonda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great location. Easy walking to beautiful beach...don't even have to get onto a main road.
Rooms were nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. Nice secluded patio area outside bedroom with table and chairs.
I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    13
    1
    7
See reviews for
35
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The best thing this place has going for it is LOCATION. The worst thing is the paper thin walls. It sounded like a heard of buffalo were above us and it was enough to keep us up at night. The pool is nice and other than that, it was a place for us to sleep, shower and change clothes. As the saying goes, it is what is. If you are looking for nice accomodations, this is not the place for you. If you want some shelter that is close to the beach and everything else, then consider this place. If you are a foodie, try MR BONES BBQ. I give it 5 stars!

Room Tip: look for an upper room so you dont have to hear the footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
We thank the Kays for their visit. This is Resort is located in a fantastic location. We regret the noise that came into their room from the room above, that week of there stay was in July around the shortly after the 4th and the Resort was totally pack out with allot guest, and allot of activity. We do have allot fine places to eat close to the Resort, and Mr. Bones I agree is great BBQ place. With exception to the extremely busy times the Resort is quiet and peaceful, and totally relaxing place to spend a vacation. We have plenty of rooms upstairs if you believe noise from above would be an issue. We would like to see the Kays come back in the future and maybe stay in Room 9 which is above the room they stayed in, great view, relaxing, and give them different perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Great location next to main beach. Close to shopping and restaurants. Awesome heated pool for the little ones. Cozy and clean room. Bring picnic supplies to enjoy the shaded tables. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had a good booking with the agency "Ricky Skipper" and arrived to a good location. The room was average, but great for us as we had two young children and didn't need anything fancy. The king size bed was VERY comfortable, but the couch in the other room was old, but for the children... okay. It was not the futon as mentioned in the brochure!!!
Publix was a quick walk away and we enjoyed cooking our meals and watching movies on the large tv.
We had a wonderful view of the sunset with the second balcony and the privacy of the lower area was wonderful. A grill and fire pit in the courtyard was useful The beach area has a playground, cafe and extra showers... The sunsets and a free local bus was simply a true gift. WE LOVED THE EASY WALK AND SAFETY TO THE BEACH. WE WOULD DEFINATELY BOOK THERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: #7 does NOT have the futon in living room But good for a couple only. #9 upstairs has the full view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Having read some neagtive Reviews on the AMI Beach Resort prior to our arrival we were then pleasantly surprised to discover that the new Management had made their promised improvements: our room (11) was clean and well equipped (towles, shampoos and soaps, etc) and big enough for our family of 4 (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, small kitchen). The location is superb and the beach just a few meters away. We enjoyd our stay very much and would come again! A huge tiki hut was under construction during our stay, it seemed too big for the place...

Room Tip: Room 11 (Groundfloor) was great for our kids to easily run in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Since new owners took over, this place has no charm. Office staff is rude & unflexible. Not to mention the new renovations. A monster-size tiki hut has been erected next to the pool area, eliminating privacy of pool area that it once had. The tiki hut also obstructs the view & patio privacy of the 2 units facing pool. This resort used to be quaint, charming & friendly when Carolyn & Tim were the managers. They made you feel like it was a home away from home. They also lived on-site and were always eager to assist. My family has vacationed here for the past 20 yrs., but no more. They used to allow dogs but new managers will not. Luckily I was able to stay next door at the Alamanda Villas. Anna is the owner & she is truly an exceptional lady! While relaxing there, the New Managers (at the beach resort) found dog poop on their property & blamed me & called the police twice to come & talk to me. Unbelievable! They told me I was not allowed on their property with my dogs. I can assure you I did not walk my dog on their property. They told me they had video cameras & would be researching the tape. To this day, they have been unable to prove who made the dog-poo on their property! They do not have common courtesy to treat others with respect & they don't know the value of a SMILE :-) Being a "sourpuss" (or as the Brits say "fiddleface") is not a good way to do business !!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
There are some people who have been coming to the Resort for years, and are sad to see the improvements. They liked it the way it was. Repairs and remodeling were necessary to keep up with current expectations that guest expect. Not aware of any rude comments by staff. Since we have taken over in April of 2012, we have had nothing but high marks from guest on the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

From day one we were plagued with workers upgrading the facilities.Work was taking place sometimes from 08.00 until after 20.00 hours.We were unable to use our patio's ( for which we paid a premium) due to the lack of privacy and the fact that the workers were using it as a storage area. When we did find an area to relax at the edge of the site relatively free from disruption we received a note from the management warning us not to move the picnic table. Naturally we ignored such a warning and reminded management we were paying guests trying to obtain some comfort from an unsatisfactory situation.An indication of the poor management approach to our comfort was evident when we would place the table in a position that suited us and when our back was turned they would move it back to its original position.
After several weeks of trying to enjoy the facility we approached the manager and suggested a rebate of 20% would be appropriate for the disruption to our vacation, this was met with the response that " the owner could not agree as he was having to pay for upgrading the facilities" we reacted by leaving the site and reporting the events to the chamber of commerce.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We are a new management company just took over in April 2011. It is my understanding there was allot of construction going on to remodel the Resort, sadly this guest was there during the time when this may have taken place. All of the heavy construction is done. Beautiful tumbled marble decks are down, pool looks great, rooms have been updated. If this guest were to contact us, we would definitely give them a greatly reduced rate, and some free days to offset there bad experience during that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Maria Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

Address: 105 39th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217 (Formerly the Aquarius Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort has been recently remodeled and updated.The pool area has been redone, with pool accessories and chairs and a tumbled marble deck. The pool is heated. The rooms have been updated as well with flat screen TVs, pillow top King size bed, queen size sleeper sofa. There are 9 one bedrooms, and 2 two bedroom suite. All the rooms have dining table, Kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave and sink. The Resort itself is directly on the beach, surrounded by lavish gardens of palms and shrubs and tumbled marble decks and walkways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Island Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.