We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starfish Cafe

Starfish Cafe
12306 46th Ave W, Cortez, FL 34215, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34215
941-778-5018
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW

Overall, the food was very good, but they 'spindled' a.k.a. Lost one of our orders. The rest of our party had finished their food before ours was delivered. The manager grudgingly agreed to comp for one of the dinners, but his first offer was to pay for our drinks (water and a Coke).
Don't need to go back there again in life.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Used to be great but went downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We used to visit here often. The food was good, so the atmosphere and it was affordable.

Now you have to battle impatient snowbirds and overworked employees. The friendly faces who used to work here are gone. The prices went up a lot and your order gets taken by a grouchy face.
Seating is sparse. Hey people, you don't need to occupy a complete picnic table with 2 persons, you can share.

Food is passable but nowhere near the quality it used to be. Please hire some fresh energetic faces and get rid of the sour pusses.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This place has some of the freshest fish around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We didn't eat here but we did pick up some very fresh tuna that we seared on the grill. It was wonderful. Friends of ours love this place. They have a large variety of fish available and you can dine on the water and enjoy the harbor too. Not an upscale place at all. Relax, dress down, and eat some yummy sea food!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe, az
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“FUN and good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Great location right on the water. You eat on picnic benches and food comes in a cardboard box. AMAZING Shrimp. Fresh fish. They also have a fish market. NO credit cards; cash only! Worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, food and service. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Called five mins before closing as got lost. They kept the kitchen open for us and then we found out they only take cash! But they agreed to take a check. Then the food arrived abd and wow. Best mahi mahi sandwich ever! Simply outstanding food and great service. You have to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfish Cafe also viewed

Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Starfish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starfish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.