We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Bones

Mr. Bones
3007 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2149
+1 941-778-6614
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 34 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Deerfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We decided to take advantage of the eclectic menu at Mr. Bones (BBQ and Indian food??). We had a variety of dishes from baby back ribs, to Jambalaya to the Chicken Tikka and Congo Chicken. Everyone thought their meals were very good; my husband particularly loved his Jambalaya. The decor is fun and the kids enjoyed choosing their drinks from the big metal tub at the front and the skeleton with "water feature". I thought the 20% gratuity automatically added in for parties over 6 was a bit steep though our waitress was good and I would have probably given her that anyways.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    119
    68
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best ribs ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Had a nice dinner at Mr Bones. I usually don't eat ribs because they are never that good but the ribs at Mr Bones where outstanding.
This is the place to visit if you are looking for a quick dinner with excellent food.
It's not a fancy place, though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“One and done...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Food was decent and served promptly, however I was disappointed at the automatic 20% tip added for groups of six or larger. Sorry, but that was way overboard. I'll let it pass this time, but will not go back nor offer a recommendation. Plenty of other dining options to choose from.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly and THE tastiest food you can ask for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had Mr Bones down on our "must do's" this week as it had been recommended by a local and we are BBQ fans. We were nearly put off by some of the online reviews but decided the menu looked too good to ignore. And we are so glad we went.
Anna Maria Island is the last stop of a month long trip for our family, having been to NYC, Hilton Head Island, Savannah, and Orlando - and we all agreed Mr Bones gave us THE BEST meal this holiday! The kids all devoured their baby back ribs and chicken wings. I ordered the Jambalaya which was one of the nicest meals I've ever eaten. So tasty, I didn't want it to end! And my husband felt the same about the Chicken Tikka with Rice Biryani. We've got 3 nights left of our trip and are trying to work out if we can make it back to Mr Bones! Awesome.

Good atmosphere with friendly, smiley service. No rush to finish. Felt welcome and kids had a blast - they loved the dressed up skeleton/water feature. Hilarious. Go!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place had good shrimp and grits and my husband enjoyed his barbaque however the staff were not friendly and they shorted my dinner by 2 shrimp. The small dish had 4 shrimp and the dinner size was suppose to have 8. Good food but not fun because of the staff. Felt like they were moving cattle.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Bones also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mr. Bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Bones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.