We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Bones

Mr. Bones
3007 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2149
+1 941-778-6614
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 34 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Oh dear. I had so looked forward to visiting this restaurant on my recent trip to Anna Maria Island. Yes, I had read through the reviews and the majority were most positive. Went with a party of five. Only two other diners in the restaurant. Lukewarm reception. Chose our drinks from the "coffin". Tried to read the menu but was put off by the overpowering smell of bleach which was trying hard to disguise an underlying foul smell. Paid for our hardly touched drinks and left. Now in fairness, there might have been an excuse for this and the food might well be fantastic but I would honestly have been unable to stomach anything that came out of the kitchen on that particular night. Sorry Mr Bones, you let yourself down badly!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    124
    70
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daglan, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Terrific choice, terrific tastes in BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We ordered take-out several times from Mr. Bones on a recent visit to Anna Maria Island, and thought it was terrific. Great choice (for a BBQ joint), and really well prepared food. Only item we didn't care for was the candied yams, which were in too much sauce and tasted far too sweet. But all the meats -- chicken, baby back ribs -- and nearly all the side dishes (baked beans, cole slaw) were really enjoyable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont oh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

All the food was great! Usually something is not so good. The entire meal was awesome. Ribs, potatoe salad, cole slaw, bread, rice!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick lunch. We both had baby back ribs which were very good. The ribs were served with baked beans and rice, which were also good. It was definitely a satisfying meal. Service was excellent, decor was interesting. I would go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the skeleton fountain (if you can imagine) to the drink cooler in the shape of a coffin to the big sign discouraging patrons from seeking to add condiments (they will if asked of course but not in the original packages) this is truly an experience you must reward your self if you seek original New Orleans style cooking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Bones also viewed

Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mr. Bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Bones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.