We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bistro

Beach Bistro
6600 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1326
9417786444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Beach Bistro has been Anna Maria Island’s romantic fine dining destination for 26 years. Located beachfront, looking out on the Gulf of Mexico, the scenic waterfront backdrop and spectacular sunsets make it the perfect place to celebrate special occasions or simply relax after a long day.The Beach Bistro boasts the highest Zagat ratings for food and service in the state of Florida and is currently the eight-time recipient of Florida Trend’s Golden Spoon Award. It is also the twelve-time recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.The mission of the bistro is simple: to provide you with one of the best dining experiences that you have ever had.
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful beach restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Do not miss this one on Holmes Beach. Stop in for a cocktail at the cozy bar and stay for a wonderful dinner by the gulf

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    74
    51
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Uncomfortably expensive and worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our pal, Joanie, was having a birthday. We asked if she'd like to go to the Beach Bistro and celebrate, our treat! And -- of course -- she said, yes. As fellow Anna Maria Islanders, we enjoy the Bistro from time to time, and since we're not wealthy, we don't go all that often. For special occasions, though, it can't be beat.

We also told Joan that we were going to eat at the bar, because there's a special bar menu, with the same high quality food, at a slightly lower price. One can also use the full menu, but we invited the bar menu and were specific about it. But first, we had to have a beverage with which
to toast.

Joanie got a lovely cabernet, Chris had a glass of prosecco, I opted for a Beefeater's martini on the rocks, olives. Fred, the bartender, handled all with aplomb and style, immediately after he finished mixing drinks for a party of eight who called ahead with their orders (you can do that). a bystander watched Fred handle the drinks and said, "Now that's a serious pour," as he noted the steady gurgle of gin from the bottle over the rocks. Fred's reply: "We're not messing around here." True.

Joan started with a Caesar salad, Chris had salmon appetizer and I had a tru-bleu bowl of tomato bisque. Wonderful all around. Then I had steak with mashed potatoes, Chris had sliders, and Joan loved her grouper sandwich. Really, the best of everything one has ever had.

Total bill including tax was just over $150, with tip, $180.

We loved yakking it up with the other folks in the bar, telling and asking "Where are you from?" stories, and watching Fred, the master, at work.

If you're lucky like we were, Sean Murphy, the owner, will say, "Over your shoulder," and serve you himself. But the rest of the staff is better at that than he is. His expertise is throwing a new party every night, and making it as fun and rewarding with the very best of everything, including service, in the process.

We come back for most all our celebrations, and each one is special in its own way. It's just amazing that we can come to what's probably the best restaurant in Florida, and it's only a few blocks from home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this secret gem. Beach Bistro is fabulously consistent, delicious and intimate. Tomato soup is beyond compare. The desserts are worth saving room for. The fish they serve is caught in the waters right outside the front windows of the restaurant. The bar is commanded by bartenders who know what they are doing and David (the guru of all things wine) is spot on with his recommendations. We have been going to BB since it opened and we love to go early (in high season) and perch at the bar and enjoy a smaller meal there. We've celebrated there with friends from far away (who return for the restaurant!) and family. We live in Washington, DC but this is our favorite place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pricey, but for some, the Best at the Beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

There is no doubt that this restaurant provides a fare that cannot be surpassed by any others on Anna Maria Island, even if some establishments may be a better value for the price. Bring money. The service is old school professional, and the menu rates 5 stars. As mentioned by other reviewers, an ideal setting for that special occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALENA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“As ALWAYS....exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We started the night off by re-affirming our 30th anniversary vows on the beach at sunset in front of the "Bistro". We've been here every year for our anniversary since the late 90's and it is always exceptional. One of the members in our party brought champagne and wedding cake, and our waiter offered to keep them both chilled during our excellent meal. The Beach Bistro is already Zagat rated and the reason is the consistently superb service and cuisine that is always a standard part of their menu. May be a bit pricey for some, but it's well worth it and it's always an annual treat worth waiting for!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Bistro also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Beach Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.