We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bistro

Beach Bistro
6600 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1326
9417786444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Beach Bistro has been Anna Maria Island’s romantic fine dining destination for 26 years. Located beachfront, looking out on the Gulf of Mexico, the scenic waterfront backdrop and spectacular sunsets make it the perfect place to celebrate special occasions or simply relax after a long day.The Beach Bistro boasts the highest Zagat ratings for food and service in the state of Florida and is currently the eight-time recipient of Florida Trend’s Golden Spoon Award. It is also the twelve-time recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.The mission of the bistro is simple: to provide you with one of the best dining experiences that you have ever had.
Bradenton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beach View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great food, beautiful view, very relaxing. You can dine inside or out. I eat there at least once a month. Staff is very nice and very efficient.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    84
    54
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you are into fine dining and enjoy the luxury of real waiters who know there job, - then you found the place.

I loved the variations on the menu, and yes it is French inspired which I personally love. It is all about the good food and being able to enjoy the cosy atmosphere and stunning view.

The only thing I would suggest to make it my favorite would be outdoor serving.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Romance with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Second visit to this incredible food experience. Service, food, menu and drinks.

We came here after our wedding and I could think of few places to choose from on our anniversary. Incredible.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Four Seasons food, Denny's service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

A dinner which is prepared perfectly, appetizing in presentation, and absolutely delicious in this charming, intimate beachfront restaurant is sadly lacking in quality of service to make it the experience it should be for a Zagat winner. I was called for confirmation of my reservation, and though the caller identified himself, I could not understand him-he had all the enthusiasm of someone confirming an appointment for root canal. I would think such a call should end something like, "Thank you, we look forward to seeing you." Perhaps they weren't...with the exception of the gracious and personable hostess, the waitstaff were robotic and perfunctory. There was no eye contact, no nonessential conversation, no smiling. When we raved about the food, our waiter might have been more pleased to have lost money. Needs were not anticipated throughout the meal. It should not be necessary in such a small restaurant to repeatedly have to flag down staff for such things as water or cream for coffee. My pet peeve was having the check plopped on the table with an over the shoulder, "No rush." at the start of dessert. Whether they
wondered if we wanted anything else, were glad we came, or hoped we had a good evening, we will never know. When I made this reservation, I mentioned when I called that the last time I had been there my brother had dined with us; he had since died and I wanted it to be a special time for my mom. Luckily, I did not mention this to her, since she felt she was speaking with recordings instead of waitstaff. At least she enjoyed her food on Mother's Day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Possibly the finest restaurant there is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

There isn't anything about this restaurant that isn't first class! We've eaten all over the US and world and the Beach Bistro can compete with anyplace. You must have reservations. Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Bistro also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Beach Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.