We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of China 1

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China 1
3236 East Bay DR, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 34 restaurants in Holmes Beach
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

It was a rainy night so we decided to try something quick and easy. We ordered beef lo mein and sesame chicken and there was no sesame seeds on it did not taste like sesame. The beef lo mein taste bad and the beef was fatty and I didn't eat it. Our crab Rangoons were good and the only thing I enjoyed. We will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

30% Recommend
    1
    3
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lecanto, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable food and reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were staying nearby and it started to rain as we were getting ready for dinner. We travel with out dog so have to have outside seating which is not possible in a tunderstomr. The food was reasonable. Not the best but not the worse. I phoned the order through and it was ready when I got there. There was plenty, in fact there was so much we had it for lunch the next day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcanum, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Asian food, Americanized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The proximity of the China 1 restaurant to our hotel was close. The food was just average, nothing spectacular. I've had much better quality Asian food but it was priced fairly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great take-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Beautiful late night Chinese take-away, when its late and you just can't be bothered to dress up and go out or cook. We loved it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“DON'T eat the food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We decided to call in an order since we were staying just around the corner and had been at the beach all day. We love Asian cuisine, so we decided to order take out. I have never really had bad Chinese, since most take pride in what they do. Well, I guess since they cater to mainly tourists, this restaurant, if you can call it that, thinks what the heck...I don't need to please someone that will be leaving soon...We ordered crab rangoon, hot and sour soup, beef and snow peas, moo goo gai pan, and a pork and broccoli dish.. over $30.00. Quite expensive for what you get. Let's start with the crab rangoon...they were triangles of wet greasy uncooked dough...one bite, and to the trash they went. On to my favorite soup...hot and sour...can't wait! Open it up and it looked like egg drop soup, but also with tofu and mushroom bits that are in the hot and sour soup...looked as if they realized they made a mistake and just mixed the two together. Oh, well...took a bite..WHAT! How can you get a non flavor out of chicken stock and hot and sour components! Amazing how horrible it was.....trash....on to the main meal...the beef, chicken and pork were undercooked, the taste, very bland, the rice must have been from a week ago. Rice that sits for days has a nasty taste, and this did...all three dishes went back in the bag and out to the trash. I was very temped to walk back in with that bag of crap and give it back to them. To make matters worse, my hubbie got sick less than two hours later...they need to shut this place down...shameful...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China 1 also viewed

Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island

Been to China 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.