We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of kozy kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
kozy kitchen
5904 marine dv, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a wonderfully prepared wasabi encrusted snapper with coconut milk sauce. Served with garlic mashed potatoes and sauteed vegetables... and don't forget the glass of dark beer! My wife thoroughly enjoyed the calzone as an entree after having the rich tomato bisque as an appetizer. Service was top notch and the prices quite reasonable... perfect in every way! Scott, the new owner took over August 1st... The Kozy Kitchen is now The Island Gourmet Grill... We will definately return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    5
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Kozy Kitchen is a real must for any visitor to Anna Maria.

Good, honest, fresh and tasty food, cooked to YOUR liking/tastes with service that was second to none.

As a special mention - The Fried Green Tomatoes were out of this world.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myakka City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“love the owner and love the menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

very good food. could have a little more flavor but still mouthwatering.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I have to agree with previous reviewers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I thought Kozy Kitchen- love the concept- the name not so much... is finding it's way to be a good restaurant, maybe even better. There are a few kinks to work out.

First of all, it's a small, eclectic room , good background music. One friendly waitress for all tables, and it looked like only 2 people working the open kitchen.

We arrived at 7:00 and after our orders were taken and we received our drinks, placed our food orders then much later we were informed only 1 fish special was left. I ended up getting shrimp and grits instead. It seems like mine had been plated a bit long, the grits were just a little gummy and the shrimp were just okay compared to others I already had.

Some of the preparations for the fish options were more ambitious and my husband really enjoyed his habenero sauce. I think another place they excelled was with basics like burgers and fries.

So get there early for more choices of specials, and be prepared to relax and wait. Our dinner took 1 1/2hrs. Another family seated before us didn't get their food until after we did. Not sure what the hold up was. Everyone still seemed to be enjoying themselves. No hard liquor, beer and wine only and not much of a selection. I hope KK works out the kinks...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“has potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

food was good. even the basic items were well prepared with excellent sauces and flaver. decor was interesting the place has charcter. prep time was too slow, room too hot were skimping on A/C. Seemed like somebody set out to make a good restaurant, got off to a good start and then never finished. they need to fix a few problems and then this could be good place to eat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed kozy kitchen also viewed

Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage kozy kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.