We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the ordinary and one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haleys Motel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Haleys Motel and Resort to your Saves list
Haleys Motel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   8102 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Smyrna, TN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary and one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We arrived on the island without reservations late in the afternoon. After driving around for a while, we decided on spending the night at Haleys. We stayed in unit #1, which was immaculate - probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed (and I'm very picky about that kind of thing). Our unit had a very comfortable king size bed, small but fully stocked kitchen, and a small but clean and fully functional bath. I thought the decor was a charming mix of retro antiques. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Haleys.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    62
    8
    12
    9
See reviews for
34
112
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Booked for three nights, stayed one ! oh what a night ! first thing that hit us on opening the door to our room was the stench, musty moldy mildew smell. The bed was like trying to sleep on a slab of concrete it was so hard ! After a few hours our clothes reeked musty and moldy! The room was so small but the smell made it worse. As for the bathroom which was clean, but so small could probably have taken a shower at the same time as using the toilet ! the website told us we had a french door leading out to a backyard sitting area, NO FRENCH DOORS ! but a door that did open into a tiny unkempt area, even an old rusted metal headboard propped up on display... The pool looked murky , no way would we use it or even sit around it , did not see any other guests near it either !! No refund on the money we paid , and so totally overpriced. Would not go there again even if it was free !!
Anna Maria is a beautiful Island., would recommend it for a vacation. But don,t stay at Haley,s Motel unless you don,t mind being bitten alive !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biels123, Owner at Haleys Motel and Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
We are sorry to learn that you found your room unsatisfactory. Had you informed us immediately, instead upon check out, we would gladly have offered you another room that may have suited you better. You are correct in stating that some of our rooms and bathrooms are small-Haley’s was built in the 1950’s and it was a conscious decision to try to preserve some of that “Old Florida” feel in both the room as well as the furniture. We are also sorry to learn that you did not appreciate the funky art pieces placed around our gardens-most of our guests write us to comment favorably on this particular aspect. You mentioned that we advertise French doors, but we have never done so, simply because we do not HAVE French doors, We are sorry to learn that this contributed to your dissatisfaction. Finally, our pool is cleaned and serviced on a regular basis, but most guests prefer to swim in the Gulf, which is why they came and why you may not have seen guests at our pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed at Haley's for a family vacation. Smelled musty and old. The bed had two dents, one for each side. The mattress must have been 50 yrs old! The bathroom was smaller than my closet at home. I could have washed my hands and gone to the bathroom at the same time. My kids slept on the pull-out couch. In the morning they had something brown at their heads. We called management and found out it was termite dung. They said they had sprayed for termites earlier in the year. We left after 4 days it was so bad. We had booked for a week. The manager said she'd give us a refund if she rented out the room again!!! She certainly had NERVE. Needless to say, we didnt get any kind of a refund. This place was very run Down. Please don't stay there!!!!!!

  • Liked — It was fairly close to the beach
  • Disliked — Smelly, dirty and gross!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

I hate to write really negative reviews, but this place absolutely deserves it. Please do not stay here. I read through all the other positive reviews and just do not agree with them. Our group's experience was absolutely horrible.

If you get a "regular" room or suite, they are tiny. I literally had to climb over the sink to get to the toilet in Unit 10, and I'm not a very big person. Although the decor in some of the regular rooms has been updated and could be classified as cottage chic (although a bit overboard with colors), cleanliness seems to be an issue.

Our group stayed in Unit 11 at first, which is supposed to be a "condo". Umm, not so much. I've stayed in frat houses that are cleaner. One of the windows was broken, the sliding door was being prevented from falling off the frame by a metal prop, the kitchen was infested with ants, the mattresses were plastic, and the air conditioner made the entire building shake and wasn't very successful in lowering the temperature below 78 F. The only funny part was the dilapidated gas grill on a second story deck. When we asked the manager about it, she insisted that there was no gas grill there. This is while the gas grill is clearly visible to all of us and her.

When we suggested to management that this wasn't exactly what we expected based on the descriptions on the website or what she actually told us, she begrudgingly agreed to move us to Unit 21 and 22. These might have been even worse. While the kitchens were marginally cleaner, the fridge had unidentifiable stains on the front that made me very suspicious for previous flood damage. The plumbing was literally held together with electrical tape (not even duct tape). The bathrooms were ridiculously tiny (I didn't have enough room to get my arms above my head in the shower). The beds were just too horrific for words. Flea market furniture abounded, and the couches looked like they hadn't been cleaned since Nixon was in office. The whole place smelled like a dead cat. The window A/C unit sounded like it was going to take off for outer space at any minute and again, didn't even cool the tiny bedroom down at all. There was a screened in porch, which is nice in theory. Several panels of the screen were missing, so we had to fight off the crazy squirrels who got stuck in there. One of our party sat down on the couch on the outdoor porch and was immediately engulfed by insects and larvae. There was a single light on the porch that had frayed wiring and was clearly a safety hazard.

I did see the inside of Units 8 and 10. They are updated and kind of cute, but incredibly tiny. The pool area is actually very nice and has some shade and vegetation instead of just a slab of concrete.

Overall, I would never stay in this place or recommend it to an enemy, let alone a friend. The thing that makes the place even worse is how expensive it is. The per night rate is comparable to some of the nicer resorts in the area that I visited during my stay. The management of Haley's is totally clueless and could care less about our most basic complaints such as "hey, for how much we're paying, can we at least have a window that's not missing huge chunks of glass?". Don't stay here.

  • Liked — That I got to leave
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

I chose this hotel due to the cheapest rates available on the island and after our experience realized it was ridiculously overpriced for what they offer.
We arrived when it was down-pouring and a hurricane had been issued earlier that week in the carribbean, but we took a chance on the weather. We were lied to by management saying that this is Florida and it rains everyday and that eventually the rain would subside by sunset. Again we took a chance and found our room which was absolutely gross. The brochure and website photos are completely misleading and make the hotel look like it's a pricey resort. The clock on the wall was wrong and when I went to change it the nails fell out. There were 3 areas of black scuff marks along the walls. 2 of the 4 windows were dented as if they'd been broken into and our front door had a half inch crack where you could see outside even though it was locked.
Deciding to make the best of the dump, we received an emergency call and had to leave the hotel/island. When we mentioned it to managment nothing was refunded to us despite only staying for 1-2 hours. Not to mention the lie about the rain stopping was further proven when we overheard the same guy say to someone else that a storm was coming and when we left found the island nearly submerged. Absolutely rude, misleading and uncomfortable place to stay. I suggest the Hilton for $45 less.

  • Liked — That we left
  • Disliked — The hotel room, hotel service, misleading information
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biels123, Owner at Haleys Motel and Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
We would love to be able to control the weather-if we could, we would have it rain for two hours from 2-4AM every night and have all sunny beach days for our guests! Unfortunately hurricanes in particular are unpredictable, and often change course many times. When we spoke to you, the hurricane was on a different path, and changed course which then suddenly made it dangerous for anyone to stay on the island, including all of our staff as well. This was a mandatory evacuation for everyone on the island. Since this is an island it floods quickly. We are not in the habit of lying to our guests and would have been in business for all these years if we were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

My two kids (ages 8 and 12), my husband and I loved our stay. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful, our room was clean and ready upon arrival. Although we did not request the optional housekeeping, they did come in during our stay and provided clean towels. The premises and the furniture show their age and are not upscale, but it was more than adequate, clean and relaxed, much more enjoyable for a beach vacation than being in a traditional bland hotel. They have fabulous charming gardens with several fountains tucked in here and there, and funky art work around every corner. One morning a turtle walked through our garden while we sipped our morning tea on the patio and sifted through shells we had collected. We used the pool room every night, we used the free bikes to tour around, the fabulous beach was a short walk. They provided boogie boards, towels, chairs, goggles, umbrellas. We loved every minute and will go back again.

  • Liked — Different and relaxed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

We found Haley's on the internet. We wanted to be near the beach and thought it looked like a good place to be.

Unfortunately, the room was run-down, dark, dank and musty smelling with furniture of the poorest flea market variety. The floors weren't clean and the window air conditioner was on its last legs...it only put out the merest of cool air.

The bathroom was so small we thought it probably was fashioned from a closet: the toilet situated in such a way that we had to wedge ourselves around the miniature sink just to be able to use it. Paint was chipped off the walls and there was paint peeling from the ceiling fan blades. The bed coverings, blankets and sheets were old and worn... we couldn't be certain that they were clean. We were told that the room was to be cleaned every other day. Alas, only the towels were changed -- the room and bathroom definitely weren't cleaned. Noise from the street was a problem at times

Even after we returned home, our clothing smelled moldy from the mustiness in the room and in the closet.

Do proprietors think marginally clean rooms and old furniture and linens are acceptable because of the property's proximity to the beach? I wonder....

We would not return to this property at any price and couldn't in all honesty recommend this "motel" to anyone. I regret that it deserves a negative report.

  • Liked — one block to the beach
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness; run down rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biels123, Owner at Haleys Motel and Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Had you informed us of your dissatisfaction with your room, we would gladly have made every effort to move you to another accommodation more to your liking. There is very little we can do to satisfy you if you do not inform us immediately so we can react. All of our accommodation are thoroughly cleaned and inspected before each guests arrives. You are correct in commenting on the small bathrooms, and you will note that we also comment on them on our website as well as when clients call for reservations. You misunderstood our housekeeping policies We do not provide daily housekeeping. We are sorry you did not “hear’ what we told you on the phone. The furniture is authentic to the period, and we are sorry it was not to your liking. Most of our guests appreciate the old Florida theme, and we are disappointed you did not
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haleys Motel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haleys Motel and Resort

Address: 8102 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haleys Motel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haley’s offers studios, motel rooms,one bedroom cottages and 2 and 3 bedroom homes to suit every guest’s needs. We can easily accommodate larger parties in our guesthouses that offer a screened front porch. With a friendly, helpful concierge/owner staff on premises, available to give dining or sightseeing recommendations and directions, the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico steps from your door, lush gardens, plenty of places on property to relax, a sparkling heated pool, and a whole laid-back, welcoming island to experience, you have the makings of the perfect vacation. You can easily prepare a meal or just morning coffee if you wish, since every room has a refrigerator, coffeemaker, and toaster. Many also have a stove or burners, cookware, and serve-ware. All our rooms offer wireless internet and TVs, some also have DVD players. Haley’s is located centrally in the most desirable and quiet part of Anna Maria called Holmes Beach. From here, you can bike or take the free trolley to wonderful dining, shopping, and all kinds of activities. We also offer select dog friendly rooms where your pet will be comfortable and happy. While neither dogs nor bikes are allowed on our ecologically protected beaches, you will find bike trails, a dog park, and a nearby causeway where you and your pet can swim to your heart’s content. Or perhaps you will be lucky enough to watch hundreds of baby loggerhead turtles hatch and run to the moonlit surf from their nest. Whether you want to do everything or do nothing but relax, Haley’s is the place to make your vacation dreams become reality. We look forward to sharing our place in paradise with you. Free Beach Chairs and Towels. AC/Heat, basic cable TV/VCR; Free wireless Internet access;guest computer; heated pool; gas BBQ grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Haleys Motel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel And Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleys Motel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.