We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy "Throwback" Lodging with Great Extras” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haleys Motel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Haleys Motel and Resort to your Saves list
Haleys Motel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   8102 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago,IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cozy "Throwback" Lodging with Great Extras”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Haley's for two nights in Room 7. This has a very comfortable bed and a great kitchenette, complete with Futon, breakfast table, and amenities enough to cook your own breakfast or light dinner. Mini Fridge and Microwave also worked well and were put to good use! The bathroom was a little on the small side (1 person at a time...) but still very clean. Also, A/C unit is a little loud for such a small room. Finally, the TV could be a little larger. Other than those little things, this place has a TON of personality and makes up for it with a VERY FRIENDLY staff and its proximity to the beach. PLUS, you can use Haley's beach cart to load up beach towels, beach toys, beach chairs, and even umbrellas - all complimentary! Very nice for us coming from Chicago to not have to buy any of that stuff as it was all there for us to use.
There was a small pool, but we spent our days at the beach. Make sure you walk down to the SandBar for Lunch and/or Dinner - just a short walk down toward the tip of the island. All-in-All, Haley's is a great place if you are looking for a clean "old-school" style Florida Motel. Rates are reasonable and amenities are excellent. WILL REPEAT!!!

Room Tip: Room 7 is perfect for a Couple who doesn't mind sharing a cozy space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    63
    8
    12
    9
See reviews for
34
114
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My partner and I spent Christmas getting away from the snow and frigid temperatures in Pittsburgh at Haley's in Holmes Beach. We brought our dogs along and the stay in Cottage A was perfect for all - clean, spacious and accommodating. The whole experience of fishing from one of the piers, fishing out in the Gulf (advice from Tom of Haley's), the Ringling Museum on the only day it rained (suggested by Eric of Haley's), and taking the furry ones to DeSoto Park to romp on the beach with birds and other dogs, made the whole experience worth the drive. I would absolutely stay at Haley's whenever I go to the Gulf.

Room Tip: If you are bringing dogs with you Cottages A or B are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Haley's is a great place to stay if you are in the area for a quick trip! Right up the street from the beach, you can walk one block down for gorgeous sunrise and sunset walks, not to mention a beautiful sandy beach. The Hotel staff is accommodating, and welcoming. We had a hotel room that provided a full kitchen. I am not sure if all the rooms have kitchens, but there are a variety of rooms, from cottages, to suites, to one room efficiencies. Even though, we were only staying two nights, it came in handy for morning coffee, and making lunches.

Haley's has all sorts of beach gear on their front patio, which can be used by the guests: towels, plastic buckets, beach chairs, and even a beach cart to take the gear down to the beach.

The staff of this hotel is wonderful, from the manager to the housekeeper to the maintenance guy.

They have a secret garden which I discovered while exploring, and it looks like a small community room where you could have a catered event, perhaps a wedding, but I would check with the motel staff. Also, a pool, and some lovely rock gardens.

Don't hesitate, stay here for a lovely beach week or weekend in Holmes Beach/Anna Maria Island area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Haleys motel room 7. The room was clean, the dishes came in handy, we liked having a refrigerator and microwave oven and coffee maker, the bed was comfortable. We liked being close enough to the water to take early morning walks on the beach and watch the sunset. We also liked being close to the trolley stop … we never had to get in our car again until we left which was a definite positive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have been coming to AMI since I was born and I have always stayed at relatives beach houses. So when I decided to try out Haley's, I was a little concerned. But, they are the best... and especially when you want to take a quick trip down for a couple days... perfect place and perfect location on the North end of the Island. The rooms are so darling and very clean!! I would absolutely recommend it to family and friends and we will be back soon!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great location, very competitive in cost, excellent service, clean and just a lot of fun.
Super beachwith good shelling. Lots of great places to eat and shops for purchasing.
Excellent memories.
We plan another visit soon and have told our friends what a great time we had.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 7 and 9. Loved them both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Haley's in room 1. We loved the quaintness of the room and the attention to the little details. The motel is centally located on Anna Maria and many places are within walking distance. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and compassionate as we waited to hear from our family and friends who were in the midst of Hurricane Sandy. We will forever be grateful to Carol for her every kindness. We would absolutely recommend Haley's to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haleys Motel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haleys Motel and Resort

Address: 8102 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haleys Motel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haley’s offers studios, motel rooms,one bedroom cottages and 2 and 3 bedroom homes to suit every guest’s needs. We can easily accommodate larger parties in our guesthouses that offer a screened front porch. With a friendly, helpful concierge/owner staff on premises, available to give dining or sightseeing recommendations and directions, the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico steps from your door, lush gardens, plenty of places on property to relax, a sparkling heated pool, and a whole laid-back, welcoming island to experience, you have the makings of the perfect vacation. You can easily prepare a meal or just morning coffee if you wish, since every room has a refrigerator, coffeemaker, and toaster. Many also have a stove or burners, cookware, and serve-ware. All our rooms offer wireless internet and TVs, some also have DVD players. Haley’s is located centrally in the most desirable and quiet part of Anna Maria called Holmes Beach. From here, you can bike or take the free trolley to wonderful dining, shopping, and all kinds of activities. We also offer select dog friendly rooms where your pet will be comfortable and happy. While neither dogs nor bikes are allowed on our ecologically protected beaches, you will find bike trails, a dog park, and a nearby causeway where you and your pet can swim to your heart’s content. Or perhaps you will be lucky enough to watch hundreds of baby loggerhead turtles hatch and run to the moonlit surf from their nest. Whether you want to do everything or do nothing but relax, Haley’s is the place to make your vacation dreams become reality. We look forward to sharing our place in paradise with you. Free Beach Chairs and Towels. AC/Heat, basic cable TV/VCR; Free wireless Internet access;guest computer; heated pool; gas BBQ grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Haleys Motel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel And Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleys Motel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.