We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get together” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haleys Motel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Haleys Motel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haleys Motel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   8102 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Specials
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Holmes Beach
Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family get together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

We were a group of oversea travellers as well as US residents who decided to meet at Haleys. We have been visiting Anna Maria several times before, but this time we needed more space because the group would bee far too big to be able to stay with relatives. We had almost three weeks of wonderful togetherness with HALEYS MOTEL as our center. 19 of our group stayed at Haleys and were recieved but the owners and their staff in the most generous and welcoming way. Any request was met as soon as possible.
We can recommend this facility to anyone who wants to be able to have a relaxed time close to the beach and given the chnace to cook themselves or to go to small and cozy restaurants.
The motel provides free beach towels, beach mats, childrens beachtoys, bikes and much more to give guests an opportunity to form their own stay the way they like best.
We can sincerely recommend Haleys to anyone bur the persons expecting the kind of service one can fins in luxury hotels.

  • Liked — The great readiness to meet our requests for any kind of service
  • Disliked — ????
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    58
    6
    12
    9
See reviews for
31
105
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for an impromptu couple of days at the beach. The owners were wonderful! Very friendly and polite. The room was cute. Nice clean bedding and the furniture was marvelous. The room had a nice cozy kitchen and bathroom. It was absolutely perfect for our get away. They even were welcoming to my dog. They made sure we knew the pet laws in the area and where we could walk him. We are planning on making this Hotel a regular vacation spot for years to come. The owners made this a great first experience to the Island for my Husband an warm home comming to me.

  • Liked — The friendly service and the fact they were pet friendly.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

Oh, what a night!
As we entered the room it was as though we entered the Twilight Zone......there was a fowl odor and the floors were dirty....as we turned the sheets down we found, to our dismay, that our sheets had NOT been changed.........I won't go into any details....we put a blanket that we used for the beach on top and would not sleep under the covers. As we laid down we found NO BOX SPRINGS!!!!! Yes, it is true NONE!!! we slept on an old mattress on top of a piece of plywood......there was dog food, I hope, on the floor, and hardly any light.......they were frantically putting up digusting Halloween decorations. As far as I am concerned they should have invested their time in the Hotel instead of the extra bloody walking dead statues. This delapidated establishment has much potential. The only nice feature that it was in walking distance to the beach.
I would never stay there again.....it would be good for dogs.....well, maybe not because of the fleas.......
Sorry....the truth needs to be told.....

  • Liked — Location to the beach
  • Disliked — dirty sheets....smell......dirty floor......no box springs/plywood......fleas.....unfriendly...extremely overpriced
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champaign IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

I have been going to the island for years and I've never stayed anywhere that was so personable. The owners are very lovely and you feel as if you are staying in their home. They even have a potluck on saturdays!!!
The rooms are very well decorated and very clean. They all have small kitchens. The beach is a one minute walk. It's a lovely place and it's so popular that it's tough to find an opening. The pool is great if you don't feel like going to the beach. It's really my favorite place to stay. When you meet the owners you will feel like they are your lifetime friends.
Helen in Illinois

  • Liked — The wonderful staff and the feeling of being at home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Everytime we come to Anna Maria we stay at Haley's! It's charming, quaint and quirky...just like the island! Only a short walk to the beach and you can hardly get closer. The condos are about that far off the beach anyway! Year after year we have clean rooms and excellent hospitality. If you ever need a suggestion for a place to eat or for something to do, you only need ask Sabine or Tom, our gracious hosts! We've never had a problem at Haley's and unless you bring your problems with you, you won't have problems either! D.Dens4d.

  • Liked — The hospitality, it's quaint and close to a great beach
  • Disliked — Better cable TV but there's probably not anything they can do about that and besides you won't be in the room that much!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

In 1994 Delta offered round trips to Tampa for $89. I walked into a local bookstore, picked out a Florida guide and opened it to Haleys. I've gone back to Haleys for a week every year since--I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I've been there for a week in Jan, Feb, March and April, weather is always fine. Charming old Florida rooms and so close to the beach, the little car room signs, the flamingos. Bikes, beach chairs, the Sandbar and the fishing pier, dolphins. Haleys is wonderfully centrally located for beach time, inexpensive, welcoming. Real island feel, a place to go if you need a vacation! Their beach view is my laptop screensaver. We're booked for early april, can't wait.

  • Liked — new wifi available everywhere (we used to have to go around the side of the motel)
  • Disliked — absolutely uncritical about it, sorry
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

If you like old furniture from garage sales that is moldy to boot, this is the place for you. Flea infested rooms, rude hosts, I could go on. We paid for a week stay,but after 3 days of bug infestation we moved to another place on the island.
My advice, find another place!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — fleas
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haleys Motel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haleys Motel and Resort

Address: 8102 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haleys Motel and Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haley’s offers studios, motel rooms,one bedroom cottages and 2 and 3 bedroom homes to suit every guest’s needs. We can easily accommodate larger parties in our guesthouses that offer a screened front porch. With a friendly, helpful concierge/owner staff on premises, available to give dining or sightseeing recommendations and directions, the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico steps from your door, lush gardens, plenty of places on property to relax, a sparkling heated pool, and a whole laid-back, welcoming island to experience, you have the makings of the perfect vacation. You can easily prepare a meal or just morning coffee if you wish, since every room has a refrigerator, coffeemaker, and toaster. Many also have a stove or burners, cookware, and serve-ware. All our rooms offer wireless internet and TVs, some also have DVD players. Haley’s is located centrally in the most desirable and quiet part of Anna Maria called Holmes Beach. From here, you can bike or take the free trolley to wonderful dining, shopping, and all kinds of activities. We also offer select dog friendly rooms where your pet will be comfortable and happy. While neither dogs nor bikes are allowed on our ecologically protected beaches, you will find bike trails, a dog park, and a nearby causeway where you and your pet can swim to your heart’s content. Or perhaps you will be lucky enough to watch hundreds of baby loggerhead turtles hatch and run to the moonlit surf from their nest. Whether you want to do everything or do nothing but relax, Haley’s is the place to make your vacation dreams become reality. We look forward to sharing our place in paradise with you. Free Beach Chairs and Towels. AC/Heat, basic cable TV/VCR; Free wireless Internet access;guest computer; heated pool; gas BBQ grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Haleys Motel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel And Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleys Motel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.