We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time, can't wait to go back.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Sixty-Six

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Resort Sixty-Six
Save
You added Resort Sixty-Six to your Saves list
6600 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Bradenton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A great time, can't wait to go back.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at Resort 66 for 5 days and had a great time. We had a studio on bottom floor near Bistro. Was cramped a bit when Murphy bed was down but with full kitchen and a fantastic gas grill right outside our door...we loved it. Nice pool, plenty of beach chairs to use at beautiful white sandy beach. Super friendly staff, super clean. Ate at the Bistro one night and it was wonderful! The restaurant is right behind condo. Great martinis and we got the special of the night. Fresh scallops in a curry sauce. Yummy and Delicious. I can't wait to go back to Resort!

Room Tip: No elevator if you need one. Rooms away from pool I think are the better. Across from courtyard ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Resort Sixty-Six, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello coquinabeach,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Resort Sixty-Six. We are delighted you had a great time and enjoyed the accommodations and found the staff to be super-friendly. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a great section of Anna Marie Island. It's not commercialized and very peaceful. The water is also blue and calm. If I was just reviewing the actual property and unit we stayed in, then I would give it 3 stars...but because of the wonderful location and overall experience of the beach, I give it 4 stars. Resort Sixty-Six is right on the beach so this is one of the things that make it so ideal.

To use the term "resort" for this property is a real stretch in my opinion. It's more like a simple, clean, basic hotel or motel. It's small and doesn't have many units. This, however, can be a positive thing because you avoid heavy crowds. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit that faced the small pool and there was nothing special about it. I would even suggest that the appliances and furniture could use an upgrade. But again, it wasn't dirty and it was sufficient. I personally don't go to the beach to stay inside a unit for the majority of my time, so this really didn't impact our vacation in a negative way.

Overall this is a very family-friendly property and the location is so ideal that my family and I plan on going back to Resort Sixty-Six again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room that's connected to the restaurant on the property.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Resort Sixty-Six, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello AllPurposeTravel,

We are thrilled that your stay at Resort Sixty-Six was filled with joy and peace. Our goal is to make our resort a home away from home. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation, and we hope to see you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at Resort 66 as BlueGreen owners for our first trip to Anna Maria. It's on a lovely, quiet, family section of beach -- no commercialization, no vendors/rentals, no lifeguards. Small heated pool and hot tub, but no other "resort" amenities. Our room was #214 in a secluded corner with easy access to the stairs, (No elevator here.) The rooms are large, but the furniture is dated (sofas especially need replacing). Entire den area coming in from entry is tile -- easy for housekeeping to clean beach sand, but it feels sterile living there -- could use a huge throw rug. Blinds do not keep ambient light out -- draperies would be better (bring a sleep mask if light bothers you). But the location of this resort on the north end of the island is perfect. Staff very nice. (Front desk closes at 6pm, so call if you'll be arriving late.) Security guards pleasant & visible -- felt very safe. Easy, free parking. Will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Resort Sixty-Six, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Karen B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Resort Sixty-Six. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and will return. We appreciate your comments on what could be improved. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I just spent several days here on our first visit to Anna Maria Island. We had a studio room on the first floor by the pool. When pulled down, the murphy bed took up most of the room. The unit was very quiet. Due to the second floor walkway being just outside and above our door, this room was very dark, not the atmosphere I was anticipating at the beach. We are Bluegreen owners and have been to half a dozen properties. This was our first disappointment.

Room Tip: If we go back, we will request a one bedroom unit overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Resort Sixty-Six, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Pamela W,

We regret to learn your stay at Resort Sixty-Six did not live up to your expectations. We would like to learn more about your particular concerns. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This review pertains only to Unit 100. Very nice decor with a kitchen stocked with nice dishes, flatware, pots, and pans. Supplied with a basket containing popcorn, coffee(reg/decaf), salt, and pepper. Room is newly updated and very comfortable with a door on the parking lot side as well as the poolside. Pool area clean and has a jacuzzi. Nice grill area with seating for those who wish to grill out. The Bistro features a varied, although pricey menu. Lounge chairs are stored close to the beach and can be left on the beach for the caretaker. The studio was roomy enough for 2 people with only the one bed. Linens are comfortable and clean and room smelled fresh. Kitchen has a blender, coffee maker, dishwasher, full size stove and refrigerator/freezer (with ice maker), a small table for two, and dishtowels and detergent. This is a Bluegreen timeshare but you will not be solicited to purchase. The local free trolley stops a few steps away. There was very little noise from the street side and other guests were only heard a few times. There are no towels at the pool, so bring the extra from your room. Staying on the island can be expensive but Resort 66 was less expensive than most and was much nicer than most.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Resort Sixty-Six, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello Rhonda D,

Thank you for staying at Resort Sixty-Six and sharing your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the room comfortable and well-stocked. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the 1st time for a week in January, 2014. We liked just about everything it had to offer. One of the friendliest resorts we have stayed at. Our unit was a 1 bedroom on the 2nd floor with a direct view of the Gulf of Mexico. It was clean and bright and with our view we ate dinner in every evening looking out at the beautiful sunset. Anna Maria Island is quaint but fun. St. Armand's Circle on Lido Key is just a short trolley ride away for great food and shopping. You won't regret staying here!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have the best view. There are only a couple of units on the 1st floor that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Resort Sixty-Six, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello bykerdutch,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Resort Sixty-Six. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found the resort to be one of the friendliest. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Want to get away from all the hustle and bustle this is the place! Anna Maria island is a wonderful place for a relaxing vacay. No chain restaurants here all local delish cuisine. Great resort on a beautiful beach that has not been ruined by tourism. Rooms are good in size with a full kitchen, definently going back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Resort Sixty-Six, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello KelliL05,

Thank you for staying with us at Resort Sixty-Six. We love that you enjoyed the location and had a relaxing time at the resort. We hope to welcome you back when you need another beach getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Resort Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Sixty-Six

Address: 6600 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Resort Sixty-Six Hotel Holmes Beach
Resort 66
Hotel Sixty Six
Resort Sixty-Six Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Sixty-Six, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.