We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Sixty-Six

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Resort Sixty-Six
Save
You added Resort Sixty-Six to your Saves list
6600 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We loved Resort 66. The location is perfect..right on the beach...relaxed, friendly and clean. If you like a quiet, comfortable atmosphere, this is perfect. White sand beaches right outside your door,...awesome sunsets,.. and a FREE Trolley to get you around the island...to me it is the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank SAM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

First time at this resort but not first time to anna maria island. The place was just what we were hoping for...the room had everything we needed and for the two of us was plenty big enough. Pool/hot tub in the courtyard was excellent, grills(cleaned daily) was a very nice touch. Restaurants galour on island and close by. Publix grocery store and several gift shops also close by. If you want to "chill" this is the place to go. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We over looked courtyard and that was great. Several rooms face the ocean but not critical. Try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank superbrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
325 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The beach is close and beautiful, but the view from our room was the back of the over-priced restaurant on the property. It felt like we were working in their kitchen. The restaurant staff passed our room and nearby with all kinds of equipment and supplies. Very noisy, especially while they set up and closed down for the evening. Their smoke-break area was near our front door and some workers seemed to take lots of smoke breaks, especially during the daytime. Our bathroom window was so close to where their large refrigerator is that I felt like I was taking a shower with someone else. The lights in the back of the restaurant kept flashing through our bathroom window. The air conditioners for the restaurant were right outside our front door and noisy. I could even hear the humming of the compressors while sleeping with earplugs. The restaurant staff certainly showed little consideration for the guests of the resort. The resort itself is nice enough but not worth what we paid for it. I'd think twice about staying here again, although we love Anna Maria Island.

Room Tip: Avoid the bottom floor with poor views and the rooms close to the beach, as they are noisy because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tlscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Booked the room through Bluegreen. The worst Bluegreen Resort we've ever stayed at. If you're here and stay in your room, you're the loser. The room itself was extremely disappointing. Cramped, dated with old carpet in the bedroom which definitely needs replacing. Our bedroom was in the back of the unit and right outside the window were the restaurent's garage cars. YUCK! The attached restaurant is not owned by the resort. It's also extremely pricey. On one evening the restaurant owner was having tile work done. He didn't want to disturb his patrons so the work didn't start until midnight. A few of us had to raise a fuss to get them to stop so we could sleep. The pool and hottub areas are new and very nice. Absolutely the best thing about the "resort" was the beach. Dolphins every morning and amazing sunsets. We'll be back to Anna Marie Island but NOT to Route Sixty-Six.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a delightful place. You have everything that you could ever need in a 1 bedroom unit. There is a sleeper sofa as well, so you can easily accomodate 2 couples pretty privately. The kitchen is a little dated, but has everything you need. The unit is wonderfully clean and comfortable. The sand is steps away with lounge chairs for you to use for the comfort of watching a wonderful sunsets while dolphins swim by. If you prefer, there is a heated pool and hot tub. THE 5 star restaurant of the island is on property, so if you want to get fancy, it is right at your fingertips. Or you can walk a ways down the beach to a cafe and bar and dine and imbibe there. Very close to other amenities. You will have everything you need. Only issue is 1 car per unit on site parking, otherwise across the street you go to park on a side street.

Room Tip: No bad rooms that I can tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carrieollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stay here all the time and here is what you must know before booking:
The rooms that face the gulf are the best and there are only 5 of those (unit 226 is the only one where both the living room and bedroom face the gulf). The rooms facing the pool are nice but noisy. The rooms in the corners (6) have lousy views and are very dark. The studios have pull down beds and are the last ones to be updated. The gulf is the best anywhere. The area is heaven (this is old beach without the high rise condos slapped up everywhere). The restaurant is very good but very expensive and not associated with the resort. There are many, many, many dining options. If you cannot find something to do there, you have issues. This is a little slice of heaven and is the reason I go back year after year.

Room Tip: Room 226 is the best but any of the ones facing the gulf are good. Only 5 of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We booked this with one thing in mind: location, location, location. Resort Sixty-Six is situated right on the beach at Anna Maria Island, FL. It is roughly half-way between Holmes Beach and The Sandbar at the North Point on the Gulf.

The outside has been recently renovated by the management, with attention soon turning to updating the inside of the units. The pool is a great added touch at the beach. The management and entire staff were friendly, courteous, helpful and pleasant - obviously taking pride and pleasure in their work - all with local tips, happy to share, making sure the guests enjoy their stay - even for long time, returning veterans such as ourselves.

We had a 2nd floor, 1 bedroom unit with an ocean view. Although slightly dated, the units' interiors were clean, spacious, adequate window views, tile floors and everything worked in the entire unit from the kitchen to the living room, plus plenty of ceiling fans, working A/C, and a wireless WIFI router in each unit. There were brand new gas grills available with a pleasant courtyard and The Beach Bistro restaurant right on the premises (a personal favorite, not to be missed).

Having been vacationing on Anna Maria Island from childhood since the late 60's, I wasn't disappointed. Usually staying in vacation rentals on Anna Maria Island, my wife wanted to use her RCI exchange week instead. I have a natural bias against timeshare travel due to personal experience and reluctantly agreed. It is hard to not succeed on Anna Maria Island and I was very pleasantly surprised. My experience has shown timeshare travel to be average at best. Resort Sixty-Six is definitely above average.

We rented beach bikes for a week from a local rental place which they delivered to our unit. We brought our own beach chairs & umbrella. On the one day that it rained, we drove a short distance south to St. Armand's Circle for the shops & restaurants just off of the Sarasota coast. The rest of the time was spent unwinding and relaxing on the beach and exploring on the bikes the perfect, low-key, unspoiled treasures that Anna Maria Island has to offer. Development on Anna Maria is restricted to no more than 3 stories high with most only 1 or 2 stories. It is a true, undiscovered, well-kept secret that still has most of Old Florida with it.

Make sure you eat breakfast at The Old IGA (which I still remember as the old IGA grocery store). It's been completely remade into a very cool, eclectic bookstore, bakery, coffee shop, restaurant, home furnishings, folk art place, complete with free WIFI - the creme brulee french toast is to die for, There's always the Waterfront restaurant across from the City Pier along with The Sandbar just up the street, The Sign of the Mermaid and other great places to eat, exploring is half the fun. Lots to see and explore, best done on bikes or scooters all over the Island.

We alternated between cooking for ourselves having stocked up at the local supermarket, and enjoying the fantastic local seafood at several local restaurants, always at our choice and happy to do either.

The long walks on the beach at sunrise and best, at sunset will never disappoint and are spectacular. The locals AND tourists are friendly and happy to stop and share their memories, tips, and stories - a unique place indeed. All done at Resort Sixty-Six on the beach, with a pool, and one of the best restaurants in the entire state with fabulous views and great service. If you're looking for clean, friendly service on the beach with a relaxed, unique local flair, this is it.

Room Tip: As for 2nd floor ocean view or either 1st/2nd floor oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank zen_journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
0.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
3.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
3.1 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#9 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Sixty-Six

Address: 6600 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Resort Sixty-Six Hotel Holmes Beach
Resort 66
Hotel Sixty Six
Resort Sixty-Six Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing