We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anna Maria Island Never Disappoints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Sixty-Six

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Resort Sixty-Six
Save
You added Resort Sixty-Six to your Saves list
6600 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Anna Maria Island Never Disappoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We booked this with one thing in mind: location, location, location. Resort Sixty-Six is situated right on the beach at Anna Maria Island, FL. It is roughly half-way between Holmes Beach and The Sandbar at the North Point on the Gulf.

The outside has been recently renovated by the management, with attention soon turning to updating the inside of the units. The pool is a great added touch at the beach. The management and entire staff were friendly, courteous, helpful and pleasant - obviously taking pride and pleasure in their work - all with local tips, happy to share, making sure the guests enjoy their stay - even for long time, returning veterans such as ourselves.

We had a 2nd floor, 1 bedroom unit with an ocean view. Although slightly dated, the units' interiors were clean, spacious, adequate window views, tile floors and everything worked in the entire unit from the kitchen to the living room, plus plenty of ceiling fans, working A/C, and a wireless WIFI router in each unit. There were brand new gas grills available with a pleasant courtyard and The Beach Bistro restaurant right on the premises (a personal favorite, not to be missed).

Having been vacationing on Anna Maria Island from childhood since the late 60's, I wasn't disappointed. Usually staying in vacation rentals on Anna Maria Island, my wife wanted to use her RCI exchange week instead. I have a natural bias against timeshare travel due to personal experience and reluctantly agreed. It is hard to not succeed on Anna Maria Island and I was very pleasantly surprised. My experience has shown timeshare travel to be average at best. Resort Sixty-Six is definitely above average.

We rented beach bikes for a week from a local rental place which they delivered to our unit. We brought our own beach chairs & umbrella. On the one day that it rained, we drove a short distance south to St. Armand's Circle for the shops & restaurants just off of the Sarasota coast. The rest of the time was spent unwinding and relaxing on the beach and exploring on the bikes the perfect, low-key, unspoiled treasures that Anna Maria Island has to offer. Development on Anna Maria is restricted to no more than 3 stories high with most only 1 or 2 stories. It is a true, undiscovered, well-kept secret that still has most of Old Florida with it.

Make sure you eat breakfast at The Old IGA (which I still remember as the old IGA grocery store). It's been completely remade into a very cool, eclectic bookstore, bakery, coffee shop, restaurant, home furnishings, folk art place, complete with free WIFI - the creme brulee french toast is to die for, There's always the Waterfront restaurant across from the City Pier along with The Sandbar just up the street, The Sign of the Mermaid and other great places to eat, exploring is half the fun. Lots to see and explore, best done on bikes or scooters all over the Island.

We alternated between cooking for ourselves having stocked up at the local supermarket, and enjoying the fantastic local seafood at several local restaurants, always at our choice and happy to do either.

The long walks on the beach at sunrise and best, at sunset will never disappoint and are spectacular. The locals AND tourists are friendly and happy to stop and share their memories, tips, and stories - a unique place indeed. All done at Resort Sixty-Six on the beach, with a pool, and one of the best restaurants in the entire state with fabulous views and great service. If you're looking for clean, friendly service on the beach with a relaxed, unique local flair, this is it.

Room Tip: As for 2nd floor ocean view or either 1st/2nd floor oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I am a Bluegreen owner, and I read a few reviews before booking my reservation at this resort. The resort exceeded our expectations. It looks like they renovated the rooms because they looked new. We rented a 1bd/1bath villa overlooking the Gulf. Upon booking our reservation, we did not expect a beachfront villa. The villa has an excellent view of the Gulf. It has a balcony out from the living area, as well as the bedroom, which was fantastic. In my opinion, the villa is the right size for a couple who wants to get a way from everyday rat race of life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The resort is an old resort with a great pool and spa, the entire building has been renovated,however, there are no elevators or ramps for the disable and ugly rugs which are bad for huminity in Florida.The resort does not provide beach towels,soda machine or water fountains,they do have free daily newspapers in a so call gift shop which has bearly nothing,they do close early 5:00pm must arrive before they close, it is in a beautifull location of the island of Anna Maria which is very lay back and with lots of good restaurants such as the Sand bar,Beach Bistro,Sparky's,Rotten Ralph,Minnies a family run breakfast/lunch restaurant. This is a good place to retire,quiet everyone obeys driving laws (speed) no meters on the street,few if any cops,you can fish with no problems,lots of things to do such as boating,parasailing etc.
The island has a great Publix and many banks, it is also very close to Long boat key,and world famous Sieta Key were the sand is very soft and great swimming.

Room Tip: Call the office to find out the location of the room before you actually book it with RCI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We booked through Bluegreen Resorts and didn't know what to expect. We weren't told that since we aren't Bluegreen owners that we'd be placed in the room between the office and laundry room (the only room rented out to non owners! I was very upset upon learning of this but found that it wasn't much of a problem as I anticipated. Booked our room for $80/night which was a steal right on the beach.

Room was clean although furniture and TV was older(DVD remote didn't work). Didn't spend much time in the room so it worked. Was well equipped with the full kitchen and all utensils. Small courtyard with 2 gas grills. Felt very secure with 2 keyed entries to the property.

Resort is on the beach and attached to Beach Bistro, a very upscale intimate restaurant ($50 plates and up) The beach access was wonderful and although we explored neighboring beaches of Ana Maria Island, Cocquina Beach, Manatee Public beach, Longboat Key and Siesta Key, we found Holmes Beach to rate very highly compared to the others. The beach was never crowded like Siesta Key although the volume did pick up on the weekend. Because of the rainy season, the ability to dart inside when storm clouds rolled in during the evening also was wonderful.

Was a wonderful stay and was a very laid back vibe to the area. As Floridians, we've visited many beach but we loved Holmes Beach and our stay at Resort Sixty-Six and its our new spot to visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Overall the resort was nice and very convenient to the beach. The biggest drawbacks for us was there were some problems with some things in the room. Nothing big the resort was a bit dated but overall we had a great trip and would return.

They did come and fix all problems (the next day).

There is a very nice restaurant that often defeated the security of the guests by leaving outside doors open. It's not really a kid restaurant so we didn't go there but others I'm sure would like it. Seemed like it was 4 rooms put together to make a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Vermont
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

When we booked this resort through RCI I tried to contact at least 10 times. Never got through to a human and never got a call back afte leaving messages. We were booked into a room with no sunlight. The room shared a hallway with the small overpriced restaurant attached to the resort. We had to look out the small bathroom window to see if it was raining. This window overlooked the garbage cans. We were not able to see if it was day or night from the door or the two windows. The cleaning staff was great though and the location on the beach was great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

This place is a hidden gem. On the beach, beautiful white sand and aqua clear water. Staying here you are also close to some of the best resteraunts ever. The casualness of the small town makes you wanna stay forever. You can actually get on a bike and travel the whole little town, and have lunh at a small bistro and go hang in the small shops potsed all over the town I have been twice so far on my anniversarys and we will continue to visit every year. I'm only 33 but when I retire this where I wanna be. The stay is great with a beautiful pool that is very relaxing and a well kept hot tub to end the day with a nice cool drink in your hand as the sun sets in the ditance, doesn't get better than this......

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Sixty-Six

Address: 6600 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Resort 66
Resort Sixty-Six Hotel Holmes Beach
Hotel Sixty Six
Resort Sixty-Six Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Sixty-Six, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.