We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare Exchange” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Sixty-Six

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Resort Sixty-Six
Save
You added Resort Sixty-Six to your Saves list
6600 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Timeshare Exchange”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The resort is an old resort with a great pool and spa, the entire building has been renovated,however, there are no elevators or ramps for the disable and ugly rugs which are bad for huminity in Florida.The resort does not provide beach towels,soda machine or water fountains,they do have free daily newspapers in a so call gift shop which has bearly nothing,they do close early 5:00pm must arrive before they close, it is in a beautifull location of the island of Anna Maria which is very lay back and with lots of good restaurants such as the Sand bar,Beach Bistro,Sparky's,Rotten Ralph,Minnies a family run breakfast/lunch restaurant. This is a good place to retire,quiet everyone obeys driving laws (speed) no meters on the street,few if any cops,you can fish with no problems,lots of things to do such as boating,parasailing etc.
The island has a great Publix and many banks, it is also very close to Long boat key,and world famous Sieta Key were the sand is very soft and great swimming.

Room Tip: Call the office to find out the location of the room before you actually book it with RCI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We booked through Bluegreen Resorts and didn't know what to expect. We weren't told that since we aren't Bluegreen owners that we'd be placed in the room between the office and laundry room (the only room rented out to non owners! I was very upset upon learning of this but found that it wasn't much of a problem as I anticipated. Booked our room for $80/night which was a steal right on the beach.

Room was clean although furniture and TV was older(DVD remote didn't work). Didn't spend much time in the room so it worked. Was well equipped with the full kitchen and all utensils. Small courtyard with 2 gas grills. Felt very secure with 2 keyed entries to the property.

Resort is on the beach and attached to Beach Bistro, a very upscale intimate restaurant ($50 plates and up) The beach access was wonderful and although we explored neighboring beaches of Ana Maria Island, Cocquina Beach, Manatee Public beach, Longboat Key and Siesta Key, we found Holmes Beach to rate very highly compared to the others. The beach was never crowded like Siesta Key although the volume did pick up on the weekend. Because of the rainy season, the ability to dart inside when storm clouds rolled in during the evening also was wonderful.

Was a wonderful stay and was a very laid back vibe to the area. As Floridians, we've visited many beach but we loved Holmes Beach and our stay at Resort Sixty-Six and its our new spot to visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Overall the resort was nice and very convenient to the beach. The biggest drawbacks for us was there were some problems with some things in the room. Nothing big the resort was a bit dated but overall we had a great trip and would return.

They did come and fix all problems (the next day).

There is a very nice restaurant that often defeated the security of the guests by leaving outside doors open. It's not really a kid restaurant so we didn't go there but others I'm sure would like it. Seemed like it was 4 rooms put together to make a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

When we booked this resort through RCI I tried to contact at least 10 times. Never got through to a human and never got a call back afte leaving messages. We were booked into a room with no sunlight. The room shared a hallway with the small overpriced restaurant attached to the resort. We had to look out the small bathroom window to see if it was raining. This window overlooked the garbage cans. We were not able to see if it was day or night from the door or the two windows. The cleaning staff was great though and the location on the beach was great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

This place is a hidden gem. On the beach, beautiful white sand and aqua clear water. Staying here you are also close to some of the best resteraunts ever. The casualness of the small town makes you wanna stay forever. You can actually get on a bike and travel the whole little town, and have lunh at a small bistro and go hang in the small shops potsed all over the town I have been twice so far on my anniversarys and we will continue to visit every year. I'm only 33 but when I retire this where I wanna be. The stay is great with a beautiful pool that is very relaxing and a well kept hot tub to end the day with a nice cool drink in your hand as the sun sets in the ditance, doesn't get better than this......

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

All you need if you want to relax at a laid back, on the Gulf Great resort! Choice of GREAT BEACH, pool or hot tub. Look North or South--Just beach as far as you can see, and sunsets, an event. Amazing 1 bed room units have a KING bed ( rare for 1 BR units) and all else you need --even wi-fi. Don't have to worry about traffic or kids becoming road pie.----Is a true island location in a residential area. You can leave your car and take the FREE trolly for shopping or goin'g to Din Din and such.

Down the road is Publix --their steaks grill real GOOD on the free Gas Grilles --save alot on cooking your own dinners.

If you have 5 to 7 kids, and like boom boxes and 3000ft to get your knees wet --- go to Daytona. If you want no big traffic problem, totally relax and get sea biscuts and starfish in 6 ' of water ---You need to go here or buy a week here.

[--]

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome, georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

My husband and I are Bluegreen travelers. WE DECIDED IN JAN OF 09 TO GO TO anna maria in sept of 09. Our entire trip was wonderful. The room was one bedroom on the second floor. I was very impressed with the cleanliness and friendliness at this resort. We look forward to returning again and again to resort sixty six.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Resort Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Sixty-Six

Address: 6600 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Resort Sixty-Six Hotel Holmes Beach
Resort 66
Hotel Sixty Six
Resort Sixty-Six Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Sixty-Six, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.