We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people and great ice cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holy Cow Ice Cream Shop

Holy Cow Ice Cream Shop
3234 East Bay Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
+1 941-779-0690
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Description: We serve Working Cow brand ice cream. We carry at least 20 gourmet flavors, including frozen yogurt and no sugar ice cream, as well as soft serve. We serve Sundaes, Floats, Banana Splits, Malts and Milkshakes. Your choice of flavors.
Restaurant details
Description: We serve Working Cow brand ice cream. We carry at least 20 gourmet flavors, including frozen yogurt and no sugar ice cream, as well as soft serve. We serve Sundaes, Floats, Banana Splits, Malts and Milkshakes. Your choice of flavors.
Livonia, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice people and great ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We came here about 5 times during our week on AMI. Every time, we were treated very nicely and the ice cream was great. I loved the little kitschy items for sale and the atmosphere. We will definitely be back on our next trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very cute shop, and very good ice cream.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a lovely mix of a kitschy gift shop and old time ice cream parlor. We loved the vibe and the ice cream.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sticky fingers..?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Decent little ice cream shop and a pretty good value.

My wife and I just left here and I just have to question this; we got ice cream and a Anna Marie Island car sticker all for $9.00. A great deal.

The petite blonde manager asked me if I was going to pay cash or credit. I said cash. I could see her mind working as she totaled it up in her head instead of ringing it up on the cash register. She said $9.00.

I gave her a 20 and she hit one button on the register and the drawer opened. She gave me my change and we left.

I went back to get my frequent buyer card stamped and came back to my wife with my concerns. My wife told me she saw her take money out of the register and walk into the back room and came back with empty hands.

We left but it sure left me with a sick feeling. I even asked her of this was her business and she said no I am just the manager.

I figured if she was the owner it would be ok to mess that way with the cash register but as a manager her sticky fingers really left me concerned.

Ice cream was good though and we will be back. I will also be curious to see if this manager will be back as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Fat free/sugar free ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Not that I encourage everyone to eat fat free/sugar free ice cream on vacation, but some people are diabetics or they just want something good without feeling too guilty about it. I had the salty caramel ice cream - great sweet and salty combination. Besides that the atmosphere was unique and enjoyable. Looking forward to going one more time before we leave.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holy Cow is right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Was looking for an ice cream treat to fix the cravings and we stumbled upon the Holy Cow Ice Cream Shop. The shop is so cute with a little area where they sell little tidbits, an area with chocolates, and then the ice cream station. They also had a cute area where you could play checkers and a black board. The ice cream is so good. We got a "small sundae which wasn't small at all and it was very very very good. Defiantly a top notch in all of those aspects. My only complaint is there was a rude pre teen working the counter, she had a smirk on her face and it felt like we were a burden on her being in there. After helping us she sat at a table in the area for customers and started chatting with her friend. After her friend left she just stood behind the counter and played on her phone. Our experience would have been excellent if it wouldn't had been for the moody pre teen. If I was the employer id be looking for a peppy up beat girl that would fit in with the shop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Cow Ice Cream Shop also viewed

Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Holy Cow Ice Cream Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Cow Ice Cream Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.