We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A No-Frills Tavern With Great Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duffy's Tavern

Duffy's Tavern
5808 Marina Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
941 778 2501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 34 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A No-Frills Tavern With Great Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A visit to Duffy's reminded me of my late uncle.

When I was a child, he was the manager of a movie theater and if you played by his rules, it was great. If not, you would not be able to enjoy the show. At one point, he wouldn't even let teens with long hair into the theater (it was the 70's!)

Duffy's has quite a few limitations that might, at first blush, make you reject the place.

They don't take credit cards (cash only), there's no table service (order at the bar, food and drinks), the menu is limited and there's no hard liquor.

Trouble is, everything else about the place is great!

The beer is cold and cheap ($6.00 for a pitcher of ice-cold bud) and draft is served in a frosty mug.

The four of us in our party heartily enjoyed burgers, toasted cheese sandwiches, potato chips, and cole slaw and there was not a complaint among us!

As others have mentioned, the burgers are absolutely decadent.

If you can live with the limitations, Duffy's will not disappoint.

We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    57
    30
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Best burgers we have had in a long time. No fries available which is fine as the burgers are so big. Good selection of beers as well and prices are very reasonable.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Damn Good Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I visited Duffy's with good friends and certainly wasn't disappointed at all. I spoke to the owner and she's a down home lady with a great smile. Her ten year old daughter explained the menu to us and she is a great representative for the restaurant.
I hope to return several more times.
No fries and they don't take credit ot debit cards.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The REAL DEAL. A Salloon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Why not try one of the local taverns when on vacation; especially one that claims to have the Best Hamburgers on the island?
Duffy's is the real deal. The place has tables and a long bar and a kitchen that can prepare a great hamburger. The menu gives a great selections of differently prepared burger; any which could satisfy a hungry diner. Duffy's Tavern doesn't have two things; FRENCH FRIES and No Credit Cards. So what ! It's worth a visit.
JR of Sebring

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Decent burgers but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We tried this for the burgers but didn't find them all that special. They just seemed like frozen patties to us. Overall a very relaxed place and you can go in straight from the beach if you like. Sure it is fine to get a beer or two, but I wouldn't go just for the food. Also like many places in AMI they only take cash.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duffy's Tavern also viewed

Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Duffy's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duffy's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.