We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Property for Relaxing Beach Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mainsail Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mainsail Beach Inn
Save
You added Mainsail Beach Inn to your Saves list
101 66th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 5, Stay 7 Offer!
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Property for Relaxing Beach Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The photos did not do this property justice! After-hours check-in was a breeze. Management was very friendly and responsive to the few issues we encountered. The beach location was perfect. A comfortable and clean inn with a great location contributed to the outstanding vacation we had. The outdoor showers and pool were refreshing after a long day at the beach. I would love to see them add beach cocktail service and a person to assist with setting up and returning the beach chairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on Anna Maria Island. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed an outstanding vacation at Beach Inn. We appreciate your kind words about our lovely resort and hope you will stay with us again in the future. If you do come again and need help setting up the chairs, just let us know. We will be happy to help anyone that needs some extra assistance at our resort.

Sincerely,
Margo Ryder
Manager, Mainsail Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
90
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at Mainsail Beach Inn for 4-nights in May. We had one of the spacious fully furnished 3 bedroom / 3 bathroom oceanfront units on the 3rd floor. The building was beautiful and our unit was roomy. There was an elevator so lugging our suitcases was no problem. The only complaint we had is how narrow the 2-sided balcony was. If someone was sitting in a chair they had to get up so you could go by. But we saw some spectacular sunsets from the balcony. We took the free trolley around the entire island and other times we would hike on the beach till we got tired and then jumped on the trolley to return to the Mainsail Beach Inn. The pool was refreshing and the pool chairs have soft cushions to relax on.

Room Tip: Don't park your car near the Beach Bistro near sunset, if you plan to take it out, as you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for your review, we are pleased that you felt at home at the Beach Inn. The sunsets are indeed beautiful from our decks and we do wish we could extend our decks too. Hopefully that issue didn't take away from enjoying your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Margo Ryder
Manager, Mainsail Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

AMI has some of the most beautiful beaches I have visited. Easily on a par with my Hawaiian visit in Maui. Puts Aruba, Bahamas, and Jamaica to shame. Ireland, UK & Northern France have the rustic, windswept beauty that I love to visit, but the Florida climate trumps the rainy, windy weather that is the signature of a UK holiday. AMI raises the bar for U.S. And Florida beaches as well with Charleston, Cape Elizabeth, Marco Island, Sanibel, & Captiva trailing the unspoilt beauty of AMI. No high rises really means NO high rises.
Mainsail Beach Inn is a lovely condo building with relatively newer, but worn updates. We had some issues with general cleanliness (i.e. Fruit Loops inside the couch cushions, general greasiness in the kitchen and previous occupants undies left in the drawers), but with 3 teens nothing that was a reason to leave or complain loudly.
The mid-way location on the island's beach is perfect. Stay North of the property, if you prefer a more "upscale" experience.
Staff is friendly and accommodating. We had a later flight and were allowed to vacate the unit, but hang by the pool for a couple hours with a picnic style lunch. We did have the "cable" die on Day 2 of our visit (which normally wouldn't matter, but we were there during a very rainy week) and no one notified us. We thought we were idiots who couldn't figure out the TV settings. After wasting a considerable amount of time with the TV, we questioned the staff, who informed us there would be no TV for at least 48 hours. For our family not a big deal...we get along. Not informing us immediately was a poor decision considering the cost of this place. Additionally, included kayaks are almost unusable. They need love for guests to use safely without a lot of headaches.
All in all, nice place, but prices don't commiserate with our unit's quality or service. 5 star accommodation? Not really. Five star service? Not quite.

Room Tip: Corner ground floor units have a larger deck and multiple entrances to come and go as you please. Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review about your stay at Mainsail Beach Inn. We appreciate your comments and will use your feedback to improve on our service as noted. It sounds like you had some glitches with us (i.e. not providing quick notification on interrupted cable service & with some housekeeping neglect) and I hope that we were able to resolve these issues quickly during your stay. We are sorry if those issues took away from the serenity of your visit to our lovely island. We do hope that you will choose to stay at Mainsail Beach Inn again on your next trip to Anna Maria Island so that we can raise the bar and really wow you.

Sincerely,
Margo Ryder
Manager, Mainsail Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazard, Kentucky
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A beautiful condo on a beautiful beach, at a very low cost. We would like to see more resort type amenities such as full beach service and on-site restaurant for breakfast & lunch. It was also difficult to set up transportation for dinner each evening. An on-site concierge would be a nice addition. There was rarely anyone available at help desk. However, our unit was beautiful and we enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Mainsail Beach Inn. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your suggestions about a concierge service and on-demand transportation are noted however with only 12 units at our resort, we could not keep either busy enough at our small property . There is a free trolley that is available right outside our inn that covers most dining spots on Anna Maria and we do provide a lot of info about great places to visit nearby (if not in person, than in our room guide and on our website). We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely
Margo Ryder
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have stayed at the Mainsail Beach Inn 3 times over the last 4 years, and it has been wonderful every time. Reservations are super easy although you may need to reserve your choice of accommodation months in advance. The Mainsail is a beautiful place: well decorated, well maintained and well managed by the friendliest staff we have encountered anywhere. Margo and Amy are always interested to know how they can make your stay better, and they always listen when there is something you need.

Although the inn has been open for quite a few years now, it looks as if it is a brand new property. The units are dressed in calm, neutral colors and the kitchens are well-equipped. The bathrooms are roomy and up-to-date, and the beds are super comfortable. All of the units are similar in style and color, but my favorite are the beachfront units. So nice to find a place right on the dunes with unrivaled views. I can't really think of any negatives about the inn. Always feel instantly relaxed the moment we arrive.

The Mainsail is our favorite place to stay in Florida. The management and the property make us feel right at home. A very relaxing place to stay - can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are 2- or 3-bedroom units and offer outstanding views. The 2-bedroom unit on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you Sarah for your review. We love hearing the feedback from our "regulars" and are so pleased that you found time to write such a lovely review of your last stay. We are thrilled to hear that the Beach Inn is your favorite place to stay in Florida, that means a lot. Also, your comments about our staff are wonderful but we simply enjoy making our guests feel at home. Having returning guests is like seeing old friends, so we hope to see you again in the near future. If you are not already keeping in touch with us, please do so via social media. Thanks

Sincerely
Margo Ryder
Manager, Mainsail Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

New ,clean, beautiful decor. Great beach,& view, it exceeded our expectations. They are condos fully equipped. Quiet beach but good restaurants close by. Good get away for families. They usually rent the whole week but they let us rent for 3 days because it was available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Mainsail Beach Inn. We think you summed up everything perfectly! We are happy that we could accommodate you for your short stay and hope that you will be with us a little longer on your next trip to Anna Maria Island. Please keep in touch with us via Facebook or Twitter until your next visit.

Sincerely
Margo Ryder
Manager, Mainsail Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I am the type of person who likes to say GOOD THINGS. Our encounter with MainSail Beach Inn was anything BUT nice. We were lied to about our unit. We were told ALL the units have good views. Our view was of a BIG GREEN GARBAGE DUMPSTER and a parking lot. People in the pool could see right into our unit and our bedroom. There was NO privacy. You would have to keep your drapes closed your entire stay. The furniture looked worn and dirty. They told us it was brand new. The management allowed us to be lied to and did nothing to help the situation. It was SO BAD …. that we never even stayed a single night there. They REFUSED to help us in any way even though their reservation individual out and out lied to us. ( after asking question after question about the resort prior to making our reservation) I feel this resort is simple out to HOOK you into making your reservation … and then trapping you with a no refund policy. I am 57 years old and well traveled. I have NEVER encounter a property that lies to it's guests simple to make a sale. BUYER BEWARE. You see properties like this on tv … they take great photos … but in reality are anything but nice. I cannot say enough harsh things about this resort. BUYER BEWARE.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We take the good with the bad and always take the opportunity to learn from our guests on how we can improve on everyone’s experience. We’re sorry we failed to meet your expectations. Although we are a Certificate of Excellence Award winner and enjoy a 96% favorable rating, we are never satisfied, knowing there is always room for improvement.

On behalf of our team, we wish you happy travels and hope you will someday return to Mainsail Beach Inn.

Sincerely,
Margo Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
2.9 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 3 in Anna Maria
5.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainsail Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainsail Beach Inn

Address: 101 66th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Holmes Beach
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking stunning turquoise waters and situated on a powder sand beach is the Mainsail Beach Inn on Anna Maria Island. Offering guests a superb island experience, our resort offers 12 upscale multi bedroom suites, all with beachfront access, and some with a Gulf views. Hardwood plank floors, gracious living areas and fully equipped gourmet kitchens are complemented with locally inspired artwork, flat screen TVs, free WiFi, balconies or a patio. Community amenities include a heated resort-style swimming pool, hot tub, pool side grill, and beach lounge chairs & umbrellas. Conveniently located next to The Beach Bistro for fine dining and within walking distance to the Anna Maria Island trolley for easy access to Pine Street shopping, dining options and attractions. Barefoot Luxury. Authentic Florida. Discover the Mainsail Beach Inn difference! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mainsail Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Mainsail Beach Inn Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainsail Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.