We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mainsail Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mainsail Beach Inn to your Saves list
Mainsail Beach Inn
101 66th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Peterborough, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Overall, we loved the Mainsail Beach Inn. So many positives to note! The best aspect of this property is the location. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, oceanfront, ground level unit and it was absolutely breathtaking. Great view of the beach/ocean from the unit, had a fabulous private patio and we were only a few steps from the sand!

The decor of the unit is fabulous. The only negatives are that the living room furniture and area rug were worn and soiled. Aside from that, it was perfect. The beds were extremely comfortable. Only downside of master bedroom is that the toilet in the unit above was crazy noisy and kept waking us up throughout the night. We've never experienced anything like it!? But, the positives of the holiday outweighed the toilet issue...lol!

The pool area is quiet and a wonderful place to hang out in the afternoon as there was lots of shade for little ones. While the pool was small, it was clean, warm and well maintained. There are many sand and pool toys to be enjoyed by everyone visiting the hotel. There is no need to bring your own.

The beach is lovely. Quite secluded and quiet in comparison to other beaches in the area. Great beach for walking/running, shelling and building sandcastles. Beautiful sunsets and wonderful wildlife to observe in the area (e.g. herons and many other birds walking on the beach, manatee and dolphins swimming by). Did I mention it's a fabulous location?

Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to inquire about how everyone was doing and provided us with lots of information regarding the area.

We fell in love with Anna Maria Island and the Mainsail Beach Inn and will definitely be back! It would be a fabulous location for a familiy reunion and/or to travel with friends. A quiet, family-friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
76
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We have been staying in this exact location since it was called the Beach Inn. It is arguably the best location on Anna Maria Island, and the new building itself is amazing. We had the gulf view on 3rd floor and from the early morning mist to the gorgeous sunset it truly was spectacular. The lobby smells great and the staff is helpful, but never intrusive. The pool area is darling and we used the outdoor grill./kitchen almost every night. Definitely a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Not often do you find a hotel online which is even more beautiful than in the photos. I almost always expect less so as not to be dissipointed. Mainsail Beach Inn is a rare find. From the moment that you walk into the lobby you quickly become aware by the quality of the materials and the attention to detail in the decorating that this inn is even more beautiful than in the photos on their website. The suite we stayed in was more than spacious. It was absolutely well-decorated, fully-equipped with a spectacular view of blue-green water and sugary sand beach.

You will not find cleaner accommodations than the Mainsail. Cleaners came into our suite regularly. In the five days that we stayed at the inn I saw at leas 5 cleaning staff who were continually mopping floors, wiping down railings and cleaning carpets of any sand which might have been tracked in from the beach.

The staff were more than helpful. Always friendly, they were willing to assist with any request which would make our stay a better experience. To be perfectly honest I can not think of a single thing that can be improved upon at the Mainsail. We will without a doubt stay at the Mainsail again next year. Thank you so much to the staff for making our first family vacation such a lovely experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

The staff at the Mainsail Inn are the ones that truely made our stay great. From the freshly baked cookies to the sincere attitudes. The condo was amazing, the details and the layout made for amazing views both at sunset and sun rise.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinson, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed 4 nights with my mom and sisters in an ocean front 3 bedroom condo at the Mainsail Beach Inn for one sister's birthday on the beach celebration. The cost was less than renting a couple of hotel rooms. Our whole experience there was FANTASTIC! The living space and bedrooms were all spacious, bright, and comfortably relaxing. They even provided laundry and dishwasher detergent. We spent every morning on the balcony watching dolphins play. It just doesn't get much better than that! The doors are a bit tricky to lock and unlock- you have to pull the knob and turn at the same time after you touch the magnetic key to its door slot. Otherwise, the inn, the island, the beach... PERFECTION!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed here with my two daughters(5 and 7). Truely great condo. Beachfront luxury. Everything you need for a family. Would definately come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010 via mobile

It was absolutely perfect condo. Upscale, clean, very modern, right on the beach, spacious, airy and we had such a great time. We would come back here in a heart beat. I don't think there is any other place on the island that even comes close to the amenities, spaciousness, etc. It also has a really nice pool if you don't like the ocean. It is also directly across from the Beach Bistro which is great.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mainsail Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainsail Beach Inn

Address: 101 66th Street, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking stunning turquoise waters of Anna Maria Island is the Mainsail Beach Inn, offering guests a superb island experience. This ideally located resort offers 12 upscale multi bedroom suites, all with beachfront access, and some with a Gulf view. Community amenities include a heated resort-style swimming pool, hot tub, pool side grill, and beach lounge chairs & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mainsail Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainsail Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Mainsail Beach Inn Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainsail Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.