We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I must be in heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelinos Sea Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angelinos Sea Lodge
Save Saved
You added Angelinos Sea Lodge to your Saves list
2818 Ave E, Holmes Beach, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Bloomfield Hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I must be in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

What a great find. This place was so laid back you would think you are in the
50's Richard the owner was so nice and very down to earth guy. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed in the Dominica, and it was nearly perfect. Spotlessly clean. The decor style was sort of eclectic. Loved the large shower with great water pressure. We did not have the problem some others complained about of not enough hot water--we had plenty. There were wall-mounted dispensers of hand soap beside the sink and of soap and shampoo in the shower. We wouldn't have had to bring either of these. There were also the typical small bottles of lotion and bars of soap that you find in hotels. The bath towels were large and soft and there were also beach towels. The king-size bed was very comfortable. The unit was plenty large enough for the two of us. It had a very efficient central a/c. Good TV reception and also the internet worked great. The only thing I found to be missing in the unit was a dishwasher. We ate all of our meals out so that was not an issue for us, but if you plan to do a lot of cooking you should be aware of this. This unit is on the second level and it didn't actually have a balcony or deck. There are two small landings where you can sit in an upright chair but there's not enough room for a lounger. But who cares, with that gorgeous beach at the foot of your stairs?! Lots of shade from large Australian Pines. I have to be careful about getting too much sun because of sun poisoning, so this was perfect for me. There were plenty of chaise lounges, although to be honest, they weren't the most comfortable I've ever sat in. There is a swing hanging from one of the huge pine trees that is ideal for watching the beautiful sunsets from. There is also a hammock, but I never saw anyone use that while we were there. There is not a pool, but the ocean felt great and the water is so clear that we preferred it to a pool anyway. This place is very quiet. All of the guests I saw while we were there were at least middle-aged--no children or teens or even any young couples. Hmmm, wonder why no young couples? Richard, the owner is a very gracious host. When we checked in he offered us cold drinks and a fishing pole. He also offered to help carry our luggage up. He was usually out puttering around the property but he was never imposing. If we initiated conversation he was very friendly, but otherwise he just let us be. I only met his wife, Lynn, when we were checking out.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Wonderful property tucked away behind tons of tropical foilage right on the beach.

Stayed in the Dominica and it was great. Very large front room with view of gulf and palms. It was extremely clean with extra towels, soaps, shampoo, kitchen supplies, etc. We didn't need to purchase anything but our food and ice. Bed was comfortable and shower was extra large.

Property had shuffleboard, horseshoes, 2 grills and PLENTY of beach chairs and shade! Also a koi pond and resident mooch named 'Ernie' looking for shrimp every evening about 4-5 o'clock. Laundry is right beside the Barbados unit which came in handy as we packed light with all the baggage restrictions on airlines.

Only saw Lynn @ check-in, she was very helpful with places to eat. Husband visited with Richard several times admiring all the gardening he had done. The place is a tropical oasis with all the plants and palms. Most properties we saw when walking the beach did not have the shade coverage that Angelino's has.

Saw dolphins several times and a manta ray up close (much to my surprise!)

Only negative was lack of even the slightest bit of warm water for showering. Seems it was always chilly at best, not cold. Even in the summer heat, we prefer a little warm water .

Would not hesitate to recommend or re-book ourselves next visit.

Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

This place is wonderful. Spotlessly clean, very friendly and right on the most beautiful beach. The units are beautifully furnised and very well equipped. The hosts, Richard & Lynn, are great and are always on hand with advice on where to eat etc.
We go every year and still can't get enough

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing. In my opinion it's perfect
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset, uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

When we go to Florida we like to go to the gulf of Mexico as the beaches and wildlife are superb. We found this place, Angelinos Sealodge, which has four vacation units, all very well kitted out with everything you need. Even has kayaks and a bbq for you to use, and beach chairs and a hammock to laze in. This property is owned and run by Richard and Lynn, who live next door. Its RIGHT ON the gulf of mexico, and its beautiful. The wildlife include dolphins, herons, egrets, pelicans, sting rays, its just wonderful, and thats without mentioning the sunsets and sunrises! The sand is like icing sugar and never gets hot. The sea is usually warm. Its only an hour and 20 mins from Tampa airport, you can only fly there direct with BA at this time. We usually do a fly drive package which they call a 'consolidated fare' when you book it, its cheaper. Sarasota is nearby (20mins) and also Venice Beach and Naples are not far. St Armands Circle is nice too, and just off Longboat Key (island next to AMI and posher!) The island of Anna Maria is so laid back just like you imagine USA in the 50's. Try to find Hurricane Jacks, great food at great prices. Also we eat at the City Pier, where you can sit and watch the dolphins swim by, and the sting rays if you keep your eyes peeled. All in all a wonderful paradise. Their website is [--]
Go and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

Each unit is a work of art. The owners are wonderful. Have been back twice, and can't wait to go again.

Stayed July 2003
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

My parents stayed at Angelino's Sea Lodge last summer and are returning again next week. I stayed down the beach at a motel with my husband and children, but I also spent some time at Angelino's visiting my mom and dad. Angelino's spot on the beach is picturesque. You could not be any closer to the gulf. Tall trees offer afternoon shade and the lodge has an awesome hammok and several great places to sit and enjoy the sunset. The grounds are perfectly groomed. We've seen dolphins swimming by and picked up beautiful shells.

My parents room was small, the smallest offered at the lodge, but nice and very clean. I would not stay here with kids. The atmosphere is quiet and definitly geared toward adults. Angelino's is actually closer to Bradenton Beach area than Holme's beach. I would recommend this spot for anyone who is comfortabable staying in a bed and breakfast type of establishment. I don't think you can find a better beach location!

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angelinos Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelinos Sea Lodge

Address: 2818 Ave E, Holmes Beach, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angelinos Sea Lodge offers four beachfront cottages right on the Florida Gulf Coast, Anna Maria Island, Holmes Beach. Hidden in a quiet residential street, these beach vacation rentals are quaint, charming, and just a few steps to the white sand and turquoise ocean. All sea lodges have direct ocean views through a subtropical garden of swaying palms and whispering pines.To experience living on the beach and to feel life in harmony with nature at a price that's right for you, take the virtual tour of our beach, garden, and the interior of our four vacation rental units on the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angelinos Sea Hotel
Angelinos Sea Lodge Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelinos Sea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.