We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay in Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelinos Sea Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Angelinos Sea Lodge to your Saves list
Angelinos Sea Lodge
2818 Ave E, Holmes Beach, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Third stay in Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Angelinos never fails! Beautiful, serene, comfortable, and private! We stayed over the 4th of July and still the beach wasn't crowded! The fireworks on the beach were amazing and the parade was great and a fun time! Love the wildlife! Dolphins, stingrays, birds! The shade on the property is wonderful! We've stayed in the Barbados twice and this time we stayed in the Aruba. Aruba is smaller but perfect for 2 adults! Love the side entrance! We'll never stay anywhere else on Anna Maria!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Angelinos is a little gem. My husband and I (40s) love to swim and mostly we love QUIET. The property is lovely and clean and pristine, very old-school Florida, no bars in sight and very dark at night. The shade trees are a huge plus, you can hang out anywhere on the property and be right in front of the beautiful blue-green Gulf of Mexico while relaxing in the shade. We stayed for eight days, the first four in the Cancun unit, which was a trip. Ticky-tacky furnishings and kind of shabby. My husband has some mobility issues and Cancun was kind of a mishmash of levels and kind of dark and cramped and awkward for him Not terrible, but not luxe, kinda like an old seaside motel. Comfy bed and to be honest, the unit has nice privacy. The price was right, we couldn't believe it was $120 per night.

The next four days we moved to Aruba, which was 1000 times better, tastefully decorated, light, open and much newer. Richard the owner told us it was his favorite, "if I could, I would live in that unit". But he and his sweet wife have a big gorgeous house on the property so he's set up.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and got in a swim, the beach was nearly deserted. Ravishing views of every sunset. The entire week it was like that, peaceful and quiet. Some people here have complained about kids, but even though we saw a family with two young boys the first few days, we never heard a peep from them. There is a Publix a few blocks away where I recommend you stock up on fruit and snacks, the kitchens in each unit are well-appointed with nice coffee makers, full-size fridges and freezers, microwaves and all kinds of pots and pans to cook simple meals and salads. There are great restaurants in the area and if you like Indian food the one Indian restaurant features local fish and is excellent. We got takeout twice!

We also loved the outdoor shower, keeps sand from getting in the room. Those people who complained that its water was cold have no clue about what an outdoor shower is for. It wasn't that cold, nothing is cold in south Florida in July :)

The one and only complaint I had, and this is purely subjective for people like us, is on the weekend you get the "weekend warriors", local Floridians staying there and in nearby properties. There were some 20-somethings who liked to "par-TAY!!" and they brought all kinds of junk to the beach, like huge floats they left anchored in the water like giant ugly beer hats and they played bad music and left cigarette butts and plastic crap all over the beach.

This property is very near an amazing bird sanctuary, and when we were there the sea turtle eggs were hatching, there were little nests all over the beach, protected by barriers. It was lovely. Take a boat tour from Cap'n Kathe to see dolphins and manatees. Breathe in the fragrant air and listen to the waves and swim and swim all day and pick up tiny seashells - but DON'T TAKE LIVE ANIMALS LIKE SAND DOLLARS, geez, some people have no respect for nature! Bring a ton of sunscreen because the sun is brutal. And please, if you've come for drunken parties, go somewhere else, you're missing the point of this beautiful oasis.

Room Tip: Aruba is great, Cancun is dark but private and quiet. Don't know about the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very unique vacation spot on the beautiful Anna Maria Island. Room was clean and colourful furnished. Full kitchen and a beautiful garden with swingchairs sunbeds and tables and chairs. Walking distance to Publix, Subway and pizza everything else with a free trolley.

Room Tip: The Cancun unit is large enough for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

For a couple aged 45 and up with no children, this is a perfect place to spend a week. The beaches are beautiful and uncrowded. The water is blue and warm. Plenty of great restaurants within a very short drive or trolley ride.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dominica room and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is my second stay & I had the best time at Angelinos sea lodge!

My husband and I had such a wonderful time reconnecting at the unique property with its colorful islandish cottages. We plan on returning regularly (to try out the other 3 cottages), as we have filed this very special experience in life memories!
On top of being a great retreat; as always, Dick & Lynn were fabulous hosts, who were available to hang out & chat whenever we wanted to connect, but also left us to our privacy as well. Angelinos Sea Lodge is on a quiet romantic tropical beach with blue blue waters & the whitest sand. The property also has waterfalls, gigantic shade trees, & features their world famous treehouse perched over the tropical waters of the mexico gulf.

I felt like I was at Disneyworld, hanging out in a treehouse, walking from the rainforest type atmosphere to the trolley, lounging in a hammock, drinking champagne & relaxing!

I can't say enough good things! Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Unit we stayed in was small but clean. Corps of Engineers was reconstructing beach while we were there (which we were not told upon reserving). Treehouse is just for looks - can't use. The WiFi was spotty at best. Owners were pleasant. If you're going there just to use the beach and walk to Holmes beach it's a good location with a good view. However, for the price I have a feeling you might be able to find a better deal/accomodations.

Room Tip: You may want to get a room on the 2nd floor because you can hear footsteps in the lower unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed for two weeks and had an amazing holiday, view of the sea from the apartment and we watched the sun go down with a glass of wine each evening. lots of lovely restaurants locally and the people on the island are very helpful and friendly. Thank you to Richard and Lynn for sharing their thanksgiving with us, we had a fabulous time. We would recommend this to others looking for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Barbados unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Angelinos Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelinos Sea Lodge

Address: 2818 Ave E, Holmes Beach, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angelinos Sea Lodge offers four beachfront cottages right on the Florida Gulf Coast, Anna Maria Island, Holmes Beach. Hidden in a quiet residential street, these beach vacation rentals are quaint, charming, and just a few steps to the white sand and turquoise ocean. All sea lodges have direct ocean views through a subtropical garden of swaying palms and whispering pines.To experience living on the beach and to feel life in harmony with nature at a price that's right for you, take the virtual tour of our beach, garden, and the interior of our four vacation rental units on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Angelinos Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angelinos Sea Hotel
Angelinos Sea Lodge Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelinos Sea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.