We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Island Beach Cafe

Anna Maria Island Beach Cafe
4000 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
941-778-0784
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 35 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American, Fish & Chips, Bar, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Anna Maria Island Beach Cafe located “Where Manatee Avenue Meets the Gulf” offers casual gulf front patio and indoor dining on Anna Maria Island’s beautiful Holmes Beach.Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner we have an abundant menu selection that will please everyone! Famous for our ALL-U-CAN-EAT Pancakes & Sausage, we also have fresh omelettes, 1/2 pound cheese burgers, fish platters, colossal salads and kids meal. Every Friday we feature an ALL-U-Can-Eat Fish Fry.Come let the kids play in the sand and see a stunning sunset while listening to our nightly live entertainment and sipping one of our “Island Size” drinks at Anna Maria Island Beach Cafe’s Bamboo Beach Bar.If the locals love us — you know you have found the right place!!!
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beach Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a very good pancake breakfast in a very casual environment. The pancakes and sausages were served hot and quickly. The beach view was wonderful and made for a perfect setting. We had a very pleasant breakfast while visiting with friends. We will return again for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    130
    58
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a place we visit many times a week. The food is generally ok to good. Nothing special, except its in the beach. Order your food, get your number and wait for it to be delivered as you look out over Holmes Beach and the Gulf.

They also have drinks from the detached bar. However, when there is something wrong with your order the staff doesn't really care. For example, yesterday they sell a taco salad but they ran out of salsa. Too bad they didn't say that before I ordered it. So the staff drops the salad in front of me and I ask for salsa (as she is walking away from me very fast) and they says "oh we ran out" and continue to walk away. I would like to say.... go to the frikking store (which is 2 blocks away) and buy salsa!!! Its served in small cups as it is. The service and lack of consistent food quality had driven us to eat at the place across the street.

Beware that there may be long lines as it is a popular place to watch the sunset and listen to music. Over all the place is low key, inexpensive and fun!

Ps. I would like a refund for my taco salad, as I could not eat it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great fun, especially Friday nights for the drum circle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

It's not a gourmet stop. The food is excellent for toes-in-the-sand, beachfront, beer and sandwiches and fish and chips casual.

Super bargains: all you can eat pancakes daily, all you can eat fish and chips Fridays.

We came here with a very active pair of grandchildren on a Friday night. They worked up an appetite on the nearby playground, munched along with the adults on well-prepared kid food, then hammered away on the provided drums and tambourines as the sun set. Their parents and grandparents joined in the fun--one of the best times in a spectacular vacation!

Add in the outstanding Manatee County Beach and you've got one of the world's all-time bargains.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a favorite regular stop for us each time we're in the area. Great food (fried seafood, burgers, salads, breakfast, etc.). Order your food, get your number and wait for it to be delivered as you look out over Holmes Beach and the Gulf. They also have drinks from the detached bar and music at night as watch the sunset. Low key, inexpensive and tasty fun!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“UGH”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The location is the best and the staff are wonderful, but this is worse than fast food. The syrup for the pancakes is like flavored corn syrup and no real butter. We brought the fish and chips back to our place next door and we both threw the whole tasteless, greasy mess out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anna Maria Island Beach Cafe also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Anna Maria Island Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Island Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.