We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Motel
Save Saved
You added Sunshine Motel to your Saves list
346 Palm Street, Hollywood, FL 33020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Little Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

There really is no place like Hollywood Beach in Florida, where they have done a wonderful job of allowing the quality of the old beach streets to preserve without the crushing updating that the glut of high rise condominiums brings about. Nestled on one of the quietest, secluded streets in the northernmost part of North Hollywood Beach is a little gem of a motel called Sunshine Motel. It is very clean, quiet and updated, and has all the charm of an old 1950's motel. It is situated on absolutely a gem of a street only 150 feet from an almost secluded beach. There is no outside parking allowed, except for motel residents, so the streets are without traffic and void of almost any outside disturbances. There is even a beach shower and a shaded bench for sitting on the edge of the beach. From the Sunshine Motel you can jog, bike, or walk the close to 7 miles of undisturbed, traffic free paths which run right along the beach. Very special place, with a great owner, John and his family, who live on the property. Everything is provided, along with probably the best rates of any motel in the area. A great value in an absolutely great location.

Room Tip: The studios are the best bargain in town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It has been a total pleasure and delight to stay here. The studio felt like a very comfortable second home with a full kitchen and all the amenities. Steps from a beautiful, quiet beach. John, the owner/mgr. is a perfect and most welcoming host. The units are spotless and well decorated. A great place for a vacation and unwind from the world. Truly a gem that I will come back to again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed in the hotel with my family for a week. We definitelly enjoyed our stay a lot. The location is perfect if you plan to relax, a few meters from beatiful beaches, and the hollywood restaurants are 1 or 2 miles away. The price is also really good, you get a very confortable studio with a full kitchen. We will come back to this place in the future for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Small, well kept, amazing beach location, a slice of old Florida located within a quiet area of N Hollywood Beach. Owner/manager John is the quintessential host who adds tons to the experience. Units are spotless, beautifully decorated, with tiled and terazzo floors, artwork, and full bookcases in every room. World famous Hollywood Beach, but the quieter North end, complete with a county lifeguard stand, is a mere two minutes walk down quiet Palm St. and all but deserted most mornings. after nearly 30 years of staying in all sorts accomodations on Hollywood Beach, we've finally found the one place to which we plan to return year after year.

Room Tip: a vehicle or patience with local bus service is necessary to visit the many nearby attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My husband and I traveled here in Jan. 11 and stayed 7 weeks. And came back Oct. 11 stay 4 weeks.This is a gem the rooms are large with full kitchens. John the owner is wonderful and makes you fell like you are home. The beach is bare foot walk with lifeguard and shower. The boardwalk goes for 7 miles to the band stand and all the resturants. Great to walk or ride your bikes.

Room Tip: If you like sun the front rooms are very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I traveled with my two daughters and grandbaby to Hollywood. We stayed at the Sunshine for 5 nights. The location was good, the beach is walking distance. It's in the north side so you won't find any souvenir shops and big hotels. It's in a very quiet residential area and you almost feel as if you have your own private beach. You do need a car to get around but it's well worth the money (we paid $350 for a week). You'll find nightlife and good restaurants less than 10 minutes away. It's a no frills motel, you take out your own trash and put dirty towels outside to get clean ones. You do get free internet service. Jeanne seems very friendly and helpful. Also, if you're going on a cruise, it's super close to Port Everglades. There is a coffee maker, small fridge and toaster in the smaller rooms (2 double beds). Good enough to make some coffee and have some quick breakfast or re-heat food. Overall, we enoyed the stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Motel

Address: 346 Palm Street, Hollywood, FL 33020
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.