We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WILL BE BACK...................” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves Apartments & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Waves Apartments & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waves Apartments & Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   317 Oak Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
“WE WILL BE BACK...................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Gotta tell you, this place is the best. Our room was 150 steps from the beach, yes 150 steps and my toes were in the sand. The Waves is lile a slice of heaven, we are currently planning our return trip back to stay again. They even had the old fashion charcoal grills, we cooked hamburgers the old fashion way and my girlfriend loved it. I can still smell the burgers cooking. Like I said, if you want to go to heaven.......GO TO THE WAVES.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    16
    8
    14
See reviews for
14
27
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I grew up in South Florida and, when I was young, my family and I would spend our vacations at the beach. This hotel reminds me of what I call Old Florida. It's not splashy and high tech, but it is quiet and has a spectacular view of the ocean. Now, I live in Fort Lauderdale and know the area very well. While my sailboat was in a boat yard, I needed a place to stay. I chose The Waves because of the location and the price. I couldn't have been more pleased. The view from my room was spectacular, Hector and Michele and their staff worked very hard to make my stay trouble free, the room was clean and equipped with a full-size refrigerator and microwave. As an example of great service, when I checked in, the high-speed Internet wasn't working. Michele and her staff came out at 9:00PM on a Friday night and had me up and running in about a half hour. The other guests were friendly and the overall feel was more of a community than an antiseptic hotel. No pool, but an uncrowded beach is literally seconds away.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

excellent service and amenities. The rooms were clean and the proximity to the beach a definite benefit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Upon arrival I was prepared to be disappointed. This is more of a motel than a hotel. I live closeby, but rented here for the 4th of July weekend for a quick getaway. It was very difficult to get in touch with the staff when I called ahead to confirm my reservation and ask a few questions about the room (as a matter of fact nobody ever answers the phone), but the lady at the desk at check in was very friendly. This hotel/motel is merely STEPS from the beach and my room was on the end of the building and had a slight view of the beach. This "resort" is located on the north end of the beach, which I particularly like because you are away from the local crowds. The locals and guests on this end of the beach are very friendly, beachy people. There were grills in well kept courtyard and everything was neat. The room itself was ordinary, but the fact that it had a full sized refrigerator, kitchenette sink, coffee maker and microwave made up for this. The room was clean and the hotel provides extra kitchen utensils and cooking supplies in case you forgot anything. This "resort" could use an upgrade. The beds are not very comfortable and the air conditioner is very loud. My room was at the end and the way the door opens out onto the landing is a very precarious situation; too many drinks and down the stairs you will land. It is very quiet on this end of the beach and the courtyard with the grills is a great touch. The landscaping is well taken care of and the grass is well kept. This place is great for a quick getaway to the beach, but I would do some major upgrades. New beds are needed as well as linens and it is time to upgrade to different types of TVs because the small one on the wall up near the ceiling was difficult to see and hear(it rained so we were inside for a while). New and more quiet air conditioners are now sold and I would suggest getting to that immediately because after a long day at the beach one likes to fall asleep quietly and these are LOUD. I would stay here again for a quick weekend because it was clean and had everything we needed, but it would not be my first choice for more than 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The Waves Apartment is located only a few steps away from the beach that is never crowded, even not at the weekends! The rooms were clean and the kitchen equipped with the most important things for a short-term stay. Arriving after business hours is no problem, because the hotel owners leave the key for the apartment in an envelope next to the office desk.
The only disadvantage is that it's necessary to have a car, because there were no shops or restaurants within walking distance.
I really recommend this hotel everybody who is searching for a cheap apartment close to the beach!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunrise
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Hotel is in a great location and staff are great."
My husband, 19 yr old daughter, 15 and 10 yr old son and I stayed here over the weekend of father's day The location could not be better, a few steps to the beach! The view from our room was amazing! We could see the ocean from our room.
Our room was clean and we had everything that we need.

The broadwalk is perfect for people watching, morning walking, roller-blading, biking, etc., and has excellent lunch options such as pizza, gyros, ice cream, etc. Were some volleyball nets up along beach. . Restaurant has indoor/outdoor seating with a bar outside with live entertainment. For dinner we headed to Hollywood Blvd, tons of restaurants and bars. Visited the Seminole Hard Rock casino, and that plaza also has nice restaurants/shops with a little lake in the middle.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

This is a great hotel. Cleanliness is my biggest concern and the room was very clean, quiet and conveniently located near a major highway. The beach is literally a few steps away. The room contained a full size refrigerator and microwave. It was much better than I expected for a value-priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Waves Apartments & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves Apartments & Resort

Address: 317 Oak Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waves Apartments & Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The right size apartment suites for anyone's needs are available at these apartments. Stay short-term or long term. We offer comfortable and well maintained apartments complete with spacious interiors and fully equipped kitchens, cable TV, and much more. Guests can enjoy the magnificent clear blue ocean and sunbathing on the spectacular beach while staying here.Our property is located at the North end of the beach in Hollywood Florida, 35 minutes North of Miami Beach and 40 minutes South of West Palm Beach on the East coast of Florida. Footsteps from the ocean, with miles of beautiful sugar-sand beaches and palm trees under a warm tropical sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Waves Apartments & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Apartments And Resort
The Waves Apartments Hotel Hollywood
The Waves Apartments Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves Apartments & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.