We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best crab around with a nice athmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market

Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market
400 N. Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-1412
954- 923-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 477 restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: $25 - $250
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Goiania, Brazil
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“best crab around with a nice athmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were staying at Ft Lauderdale, searching for some crabs. Trip advisor showed us this nice place at Hollywood beach. Other choice should be moving down to South beach or Key Biscaine (no way...). The restaurant is by the waterway at the second floor of the building, that gives you an amazing view, specially if you get a table by the window (as we fortunatelly did, even with no prior reservation). The hostess was very friendly, so was the waiter. They have 5 diferent kinds of crabs, from medium to giant sizes (alaskian ones - market $$). The price was fair enough, not bad wine selection and plenty of beer brands. For the "non crab lovers" you get others nice options at the menu.
If you are around don´t miss it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    128
    89
    49
    39
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gaylord, michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service, bland, oversized portions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our waiter took our order and never once retuned to see if we needed anything else. We were not advised as to the size of the sides or entrees resulting in 5 to go boxes. Six people, $400, and we weren't even asked if we'd like another glass of wine. The scallops were supposed to be seared and weren't and the Alfredo sauce had no seasoning. Good blackened fish and coconut shrimp and a very good key lime martini. Would not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a nice way to spend a sunny afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a few hours to fill, so we looked in TA for some good stone crabs.
We usually eat at Joe's when in the Miami area but were getting a bit tired of their prices so we decided to give Billy's a try.

Well, we didn't save much and the crabs weren't as good, but the service was fantastic (our waiter, Andre, was the most cheerful server I have ever met) and the outdoor atmosphere on the swinging benches was awesome. Great selection of wines and terrific Key Lime pie.

Shame about the motor yacht that pulled up halfway through lunch, leaving his generator running and VHF squawking away. It wasn't directly in front of us, so our view wasn't ruined. Felt sorry for the other tables though.

Altogether a nice few hours. Would go again but only in nice weather, inside looked a bit dreary and I don't think the menu or the service could overcome that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“THE BEST SEAFOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiance and i went to Billys. I ordered the scallops and he got the crab legs. The restraunt seated us right along side the canal and i was feeding the fish some of my bread :) It was fun to watch the boats go by and see the sun setting. The food was outstanding. The only reason i cant give it 5 stars is the canal smelt like sulfer at times (yuck)!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love stone crab claws”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

So so delicious and really fresh. Joes is more touristy and really great but the stone crabs are just as good as joes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market also viewed

 

Been to Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.