We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lesson learned” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market

Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market
400 N. Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-1412
954- 923-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 488 Restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: $25 - $250
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
port orange
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lesson learned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we would have rather gone to red lobester. the food would have been palatable, and not just overpriced.

why do some restaurants think that just because they over charge for poor culinary quality and mediocre service, that makes them a place to go? huh?

never again, let the tastbuds and wallet beware......

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    107
    56
    43
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Years Eve at Billy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had an outstanding dinner at Billy's Stone Crab on New Years Eve. We were pleased to be seated at a great table overlooking the Intercoastal waterway. Our waiter, Michael, was very knowledgable, attentive, and professional. The stone crab claws and Alaskin King Crab legs came out promptly and it was delicious!! We were not rushed and spent a lovely New Years Eve dining at a top notch restaurant. Thank you Billy's....we promise to return soon.
Susan S

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I started going to Billy's four years ago. We were in Miami for our 20th anniversary and now we make it a ritual to visit every January when we take our anniversary vacation. We have never been disappointed.Some may says it's a bit pricey, but when you want to make it special, it's definitely worth every penny! The food is always delicious! The waiters are very helpful and attentive to your needs. We love sitting by the window looking out at the water and the boats passing by. We cannot wait to go back again! Oh wait, we will be there next week :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Crawl on by”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose to eat here because it was close by our hotel and had decent reviews. Service was slow and inattentive, the server asked whether we wanted more rolls; we said, "no" because there were still rolls left. She then took the basket away. Our entrees took over an hour to be served. That might have been tolerable but my grilled seafood plate was unbelievably bland and my husband's dish, linguine with garlic shrimp consisted of a gooey pasta and shrimp that tasted as dull as my grilled shrimp. If you crave tasteless,overpriced seafood, then this is the place for you. The outdoor seating was marred by the smell from the water.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKHAM
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit, well worth the return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great food. Excellent service. Intracoastal view. The stone crab are a delight and the fish are delicious. Try it - you will come back over and over again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market also viewed

 

Been to Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.