We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2905 Sheridan St, Hollywood, FL 33020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed here post-cruise for one night with my SO and a friend. The main reason I chose this hotel was for the free shuttle service from the port. As chaotic as it was at the port upon return to Ft. Lauderdale, we had no problem getting the shuttle to pick us up promptly. The shuttle also took us to the airport the next morning at 6:30 with no problems. The hotel is next to Denny's and a Shell gas station with a grocery inside. The hotel staff was excellent and incredibly nice. The business center had free internet and a working printer so we could print our boarding passes for the plane. The hotel was super clean, pretty, and a pleasant surprise to us. Our room (2 double beds) was big and the bathroom was huge. The room had a hidden mini fridge and a sweet plasma TV on the wall with cable. The only gripe we had was the water pressure of the shower was poor. But other than that, it was a wonderful experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    103
    26
    21
    20
See reviews for
77
99
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I was forced to stay here for 2 nights after my flight was cancelled.
the good: lovely pool, especially for children, wifi and LAN access, pretty rooms and comfy beds as well as a pretty lobby. basic exercise room.
the bad: the restaurant. in terms of food (limited selection of americana) the quality was all right but SO overpriced. 8 dollars for a cup of soup and it´s the only soup on the menu. no continental breakfast and breakfast selections were ok. overpriced of course as the basic holiday inn menu. if you don´t have a laptop and wanna use the computers here, not a good choice! there are two and they are unreliable and FULL of spyware everywhere.

location is also poor. stuck here sans car? you´ll pay 10 dollars to get to a strip mall, 20 to get to a beach 1 way. only thigns in walking distance are tri'rail stop, dennys, and gas station.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night after a cruise and prior to heading home.

We and many other people also getting off ships, arrived a lot earlier than expected. Reception was overwhelmed with people trying to get their rooms. As a result, the lobby area looked like a convention and got worse when departing guests showed up in the lobby to get on their cruises!

The manager came out and said to make ourselves comfortable and they would call out names when our rooms were ready. We were one of the first parties to arrive and got our room at noon.

The hotel has an excellent pool area so we camped out here and spent the last day of our vacation enjoying the warm weather. There is a restaurant here but we didn't try it. We took a cab to the beach area and ate there instead.

The major drawback is that the hotel isn't near much. There is shopping area within walking distance but you'll need to cross a major road to get there.

We took the airport shuttle to following day and that was fine. The driver was excellent and helpful.

This place is fine if you are in transit and need a bed for the night but not the place to spend a week at.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Where to start? Called for shuttle and desk person couldn't accurately tell us where to go to wait for van. Watched it pass us by even though she took my clothing description. Had to take cab which cost $30 because desk person told us an exit to use that was not the shortest distance for the 4 miles we were told was the distance. Bell man watched us lug our baggage into hotel but was quick to push the button for the elevator. We hope he didn't hurt himself. Superficially appointed rooms. Nice granite counter in bathroom with no bath mat or ventilation fan. Shower door opens into bathroom door where the towel hook is so you have to get out of the shower to get the towel soaking the floor because...they don't provide a bath mat. Cheap plastic coffee maker with disposable one cup per filters so we had to take turns making a cup of coffee secure in the knowledge we were contributing to Florida's landfill. We usually are not overly critical but this place was the most well appointed dump we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHIHSKP, Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2009
Dear Irn4a440,

We have seen your comments on Trip Advisor concerning your stay. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the service issues you encountered. Please call 954-925-9100 or email hhihskp@princebush.com. It is our genuine aspiration that all of our guest enjoy their stay with us.

Walter
Assistant Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We arrived around midnight after a lengthy flight, and were relieved to have the reservations processed so very quickly, No hassles! On our return trip we had planned to spend the day beside the pool and were a little disappointed to find them setting it up for a wedding reception. They were pleasant and allowed us to swim during the time they were working. UNFORTUNATELY!
*I have to add this-although the online photos of this pool do it justice, when actually in the pool we could clearly see how filthy...not just dirty, but gross the pool was. Huge patches of green algae all over the sides , especially by the fountain! Yuck! We made a quick exit. *Also important to note that this is not within walking distance to much!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I was a volunteer bump on a 4/20/09 flight out of Ft. Lauderdale & rec'd a voucher for this hotel. Registration was efficient & I reserved a spot on the first shuttle to the airport the next morning & the receptionist recorded my name & room number in the shuttle schedule. The room was large, spotless and beautifully appointed (appears to have been recently remodeled). Everything was perfect until the next morning when I went to the lobby to check out and catch the shuttle van. I arrived in the lobby at least five minutes early (according to the clock in the guest room). The male night reception manager (shirt hanging outside of his slacks, hair dishelved) was in the process of providing instructions to a female morning receptionist while I stood in front of them. I finally stated that I needed to check out as I wascatching the first hotel shuttle to the airport. The female morning receptionist immediately checked me out and the male night receptionist advised me that the shuttle had already left and I'd have to wait & catch the next one. I couldn't believe the shuttle left without me as I had made the reservation the day before. It appears the hotel needs to syncronize their lobby clock to the guest room clocks. As I sat down in the lobby to wait for the next shuttle the hotel security guard approached me as he had evidently overheard my conversation with male night manager/receptionist. The security guard told me he could take me over to the shuttle in his security golf cart as the shuttle had only gone across the street to another hotel. Within a couple of minutes the security guard wisked me across the street where not one but two hotel shuttles were still loading hotel guests. I never caught the security guard's name but he certainly saved the day going above and beyond the call of duty providing "knock your socks off customer service". The hotel security guard certainly understands the value of customer service and could provide lessons in professionalism and customer service to the night manager/receptionist.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Our overnight stay was February 21, 2009 and we loved it just as much we did last year. The place is very clean and provides a feeling of tranquility. The hotel bar has a beautiful fish tank and the swimming pool, with a waterfall, provides elegant background for dining, especially for breakfast. When we arrived for dinner, we had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated because there was a large group in the restaurant. While waiting, a gentleman approached us and vehemently complained about the food and the management, how the food was very bad, that he didn't get served for 2 hours, and that the management was unresponsive. He highly recommended nearby Denny's because he didn't want to be kept captive by Holiday Inn. Because of our prior very positive experience we decided to stay, since we were on vacation and were in no hurry. Our food was exceptionally good and the staff very friendly. We also greatly enjoyed the table lamps that kept changing colors. The manager himself made my drink and made our dinner very enjoyable. If you come here in a very large group and need all the food served all at once, it might be a problem. However, since this is a gourmet restaurant with fine dining, a short wait for a very fine dinner is well worth the time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport

Address: 2905 Sheridan St, Hollywood, FL 33020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 32' LCD flat screen TVs, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms. Overlook our stunning new tropical pool area with a large heated pool, Jacuzzi and pool bar. Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport is perfect for corporate travelers and families alike, the hotel is conveniently located near Ft. Lauderdale , Port Everglades, Dolphin Stadium and just 15 minutes north of Miami. There's Hollywood Beach, where you can indulge yourself in the wonderful sunshine and explore the famous Boardwalk. Also, don't forget the nearby attractions of Fort Lauderdale which bring visitors from around the world. Enjoy superb dining at our indoor/outdoor Cafe Aquatica or in the Rendezvous Reef Lounge with it's great atmosphere, whether inside or out on the terrace which overlooks our refreshing tropical pool area and waterfall. Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport is located at I-95 and Sheridan Street. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to and from the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (Daily 5:00 AM - 11:59 PM).Complimentary Shuttle service to the Port Everglades available (Daily 5:00 AM - 11:59 PM). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport Hotel Hollywood
Holiday Inn Hollywood
Hollywood Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.