We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, needs more staff, better communication” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2905 Sheridan St, Hollywood, FL 33020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, needs more staff, better communication”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My family booked 3 rooms when we were in town for a wedding. The rooms were big & nice. I loved the room darkening shades. The hotel has a very small restaurant but we were told we could also eat in the lounge or outside, overlooking the pool with waterfall. Our room rate included free breakfast for 2 adults but there was confusion the first morning about what the coupon covered. A waitress told us the coupon was a $20 value so we got the $10 buffet rather than wait to order but then a waiter told us that the coupon was for a specific meal & that we would be charged for the buffet. I told the manager we weren't paying for breakfast twice & the bill was corrected. The next morning the waitress & manager confirmed that the buffet was indeed covered by our room rate. Our biggest complaint was the fact that I called the front desk at 1:15 to ask when our rooms would be cleaned & the housekeeper came to our room 3 hrs later, just as we were getting ready for the wedding. They need more staff for housekeeping & for the restaurant.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayFLL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking your time and writing a review of our hotel.We value your feedback .We are sorry that you had a problem with breakfast and housekeeping cleaning your room during your stay .We are currently using this information to correct any issues for future guests. We ask that you accept our apologies. If you have anyquestions please feel free to contact me ,

Best regards ,

Saner Unal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    109
    29
    21
    20
See reviews for
78
102
28
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here in the final night of our holiday hoping to chill out prior to our early morning flight and that's exactly what we did. We were able to soak up the afternoon and evening sun at the lovely pool area followed by a drink in the attractively lit and friendly bar. We did not use the restaurant therefore are unable to comment on the food.

We we were impressed with the hotels own free shuttle service as we were able to book a specific shuttle upon check in it the hotel, and the shuttle together with friendly driver were waiting for us at 7.00 am while we were checking out.

The room and bathroom were furnished to a high standard, we turned off the air con as it was a little loud and we did not really need it. The bed was very comfortable.

Just across a quite road is Denny's and a Macdonalds, there is also a petrol station which sells snack and drinks next door.

Overall we were very satisfied with this hotel which exactly met our needs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was in ft lauderdale on business. The hotel is convenient located right off 95, and its about 30 minutes to miami beach. Hotel was very clean built in 1995, but looks very new. Nice pool, outdoor/bar cocktail area. the rooms were spacious, beds very comfortable. Had a late dinner at the lounge ( soup and salad), food was ok. Had breakfast in the restaurant that too was ok.The business center was well equipped. Convenient to the airport. I can't forget about the staff who were all very friendly and accomodating. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: I always request upper floors. less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for a night before going on a cruise. The rooms were quite large and nicely furnished. Most importantly, everything was very clean. The bathrooms were newly renovated. We had the breakfast buffet and the food was quite good and reasonably priced. Although we did not use it, the pool outside was beautiful and the grounds were nicely kept. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you to Danny, Laurette and Shawn for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was pleased with this stay. It was a brief stay. The room was more thans atisfacory. It was reasonably sized and comfortable. The service was good. The rate was reasonable. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago over the holiday weekend and have been meaning to post a review for a while. I have two ratings: The hotel stay was a 4/4.5 and the customer service as a follow up to my stay is a 1. I'd give a 2.5 total if it was possible to give halves.

The hotel is right off Highway 95, Exit 21.

Free parking, just feet away from the Shell gas station where you can load up on snacks. There's a Days Inn and a 24 hour Denny's across the lot.

I stayed at the end of the top floor so I didn't have to worry about elevator traffic and noise. The room had a microwave and fridge (make sure you have your own silver/plasticware) a ceiling fan and clean bedsheets (past experience at other hotels makes me more aware about this). I read a previous comment from someone who had trouble with the curtains but mine closed just fine.

Decent channel selection. Business center has two computers, a printer and recycling bins.

The restaurant closes at 10 and the bar closes at 11.

Before your stay, sign up for the IHG rewards. As a member I was given the option of a free drink at the bar or a free bottle of water. I was also given a paper voucher to use at the restaurant that would get me IHG member points if I spent over a certain amount. Lai O was my server and she made me very welcome.

=================

Now, The NOT-so-good things related to the stay:

-Only two elevators, which can be pretty slow

-Internet is free with a login and password but the speed can be a little choppy and slow and I found myself having to login everytime I came back to my computer.

-As mentioned, the front desk gave me a voucher when I first checked in stating that I would gain IHG Member Points if I spent a certain amount of money at the restaurant. I redeemed my voucher but days after my stay my points weren't reflected on IHG's site. After a long call with IHG customer service they said I would need the voucher number from the hotel, which was not on the cut out piece of paper the Hotel provided me initially.

I called the hotel, spoke to a young lady (M) who placed me on hold for about six minutes until the call timed out and I was disconnected.

I called again, she placed me on hold again since she was checking in someone and the same thing happened until I was disconnected.

I called right back a THIRD time and instead of placing me on hold she transferred me to the manager who answered the call in an annoyed tone and explained their process of accounting for the used vouchers, during which there was no mention of a voucher number and told me to allow a few weeks for it to be processed. Before I could say much else he hung up the phone.

I called back a FOURTH time and asked the young lady for the manager's name, which she provided (Dave Vogel/Fogel).

This experience was in stark contrast to the service I received during my stay and I don't want to hold it against Holiday Inn or IHG, but it's not a good representation at all, whether staff is overextended or not. I have second thoughts about returning as a result. I still don't have my points, either.

Room Tip: I had a end room on the top floor, no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear homemdomundo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is truly regrettable to see the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were very pleased to see your high scores for Cleanliness, Rooms, and the Value. We take all of our reviews, both positive and negative, very seriously. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on an overnight on our way out of Ft. Lauderdale. We wish it had been more than an overnight!!! The staff was so courteous and welcoming, very accommodating also. We were bummed that we couldn't enjoy the pool or the bar, but we both agreed we would gladly make a point of it to return for a weekend *staycation* (we are from the other side of the state, about an hour away).... Breakfast buffet was just okay, however. Simple continental options, with a few hot food choices. As nice as our waitress was, she hovered, and we felt slightly rushed. We would gladly return upon our next weekend getaway to Ft. Lauderdale, but we will $most definitely be waiting until the price falls back down to the $80-$100 price range we managed to book with the first time around!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool would have been my first preference, as our view was the parking lot.. o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport

Address: 2905 Sheridan St, Hollywood, FL 33020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 32' LCD flat screen TVs, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms. Overlook our stunning new tropical pool area with a large heated pool, Jacuzzi and pool bar. Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport is perfect for corporate travelers and families alike, the hotel is conveniently located near Ft. Lauderdale , Port Everglades, Dolphin Stadium and just 15 minutes north of Miami. There's Hollywood Beach, where you can indulge yourself in the wonderful sunshine and explore the famous Boardwalk. Also, don't forget the nearby attractions of Fort Lauderdale which bring visitors from around the world. Enjoy superb dining at our indoor/outdoor Cafe Aquatica or in the Rendezvous Reef Lounge with it's great atmosphere, whether inside or out on the terrace which overlooks our refreshing tropical pool area and waterfall. Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport is located at I-95 and Sheridan Street. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to and from the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (Daily 5:00 AM - 11:59 PM).Complimentary Shuttle service to the Port Everglades available (Daily 5:00 AM - 11:59 PM). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport Hotel Hollywood
Holiday Inn Hollywood
Hollywood Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.