We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Homemade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sal's Italian Restaurant

Sal's Italian Restaurant
2908 Oakwood Blvd, Hollywood, FL 33020
(954) 929-4727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 481 Restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Convenient and Homemade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our pre-cruise stop in Fort Lauderdale is the Hilton Garden Inn Dania. Not only is it convenient for airport and cruise transportation, but it offers a shuttle to the massive shopping center across the street, which is filled with shops and restaurants.

Our #1 choice of places to eat is Sal's Hollywood, which features great homemade Italian food at reasonable prices,( a hotel key gets you 15% off). On our latest visit, we enjoyed one of the house specials, Veal alla Romano, tender veal in a homemade sauce, which was outstanding. The Pizza is very good, and the wait staff works as a team to make a great dining experience. We wish we lived in Fla,.and could visit more often.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    7
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best takeout in Hollywood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Forget dominoes and Pizza Hut, sals has it down pat. This is the pizza I order when I want to impress people :). Try the caprese salad- it is top notch!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“What a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

There were 8 of us in our party. We had asked our hotel front desk where to go, the general answer was across the street and head past the Home Depot, there are a variety of restaurants, a small diner, saw TGIFs and when we came upon Sal's we knew that we had found the answer. We checked in and the hostess asked if we were okay with sitting outside. We said sure, we had been couped up in a plane all day, the evening was warm, sit outside!! There is a small patio style area outside of the main door, we asked how long until we can be seated, the answer, NOW, we will set up a table here in the middle and sit right down. I don't know if we jumped the queue but I am guessing if that we wanted to sit inside there was a wait. The place was busy for a Saturday night but we were served relatively quickly. I see others talk about poor service but we as a group did not experience this. A wide selection of dishes, the garlic bread to start was amazing, food and drink prices were very good. We enjoyed a great meal with attentive wait staff, don't know when I will be back there but am glad that we stumbled upon this local eatery.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

the food is great but the place is dark and small and the service is a little slow. but the food is very good.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle La Motte, Vermont
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Italian Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Can't go wrong with a great menu, fair prices and excellent service. Food was very good if you like Italian. Get there early or be prepared to wait. They also have an early bird menu with really good choices.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sal's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.