We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, paded bills rude staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hollywood Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Hollywood
leath
2 reviews
“Overpriced, paded bills rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

I have stayed at Marriots all over and have had consistently good service, However, This place is like the trouble step child of the Marriot Family. Good Grief, I have never been so let down by service food and Unfriendly service. The staffs were so busy taking about where they were going after work. I was wishing they would ask me to go with.... because apparently they could not wait to leave. My bill was so padded with tips and Service fees I could have rented a house by the time I checked out 3 days early!!! OVERRATED!!! For this kind of $$ It's worth the difference go to the Diplomat.
Patron on the trouble Marriot step child. Good luck you guys!!! You will need it. ;)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    404
    128
    65
    46
See reviews for
326
381
39
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We just spent a long weekend at the Hollywood Beach Marriot, and we had a great time. We have stayed at many Marriots over the years, and the staff at this resort are among the best. Two words to describe them are friendly and polite. We liked the boutique atmosphere of the resort and of course we liked its proximity to everything. If you are heading to the Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale area soon, pick this hotel over some of the larger resorts.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at the Hollywood Marriott for the last night of our trip to Florida. Having driven back from Key West to fly out of Ft. Lauderdale the next day, we didn't get to spend too much time on the beach for our one night stay. We did enjoy walking on the broadwalk and beach as well as spending some time pool side before the sun went down.

Things I liked about this hotel: Tthe bed (lots of pillows) and the large shower were nice as was their buffet breakfast. The pool area had a nice view and was convenient to the bar. We also took advantage of the broadwalk to go to a nice restaurant south of the hotel, which I believe was called the Sugar Reef Tropical Grill. We were able to print our boarding passes the night before from their free access computers. It was very convenient to the airport.

Things I didn't like: We had booked massages at their spa and I would not recommend them to anyone. Probably one of the worst I've ever had and to add insult to injury, they automatically add gratuity whether you want to tip or not. The rooms could be cleaner - there were water rings on the marble topped dresser and a stain on the carpet by the bed.

Overall, I think it's a nice choice for a short stay - just don't splurge on the frills like the spa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Love this place, they are a short cab ride from the airport. Then you are in a beach environment with all the perks. Nice outside bar, fabulas pool, and on boardwalk.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Hollywood Beach is one of Florida's best kept secrets - a 2-mile long stretch of flagstone walkway, the Broadwalk, alongside the Atlantic Ocean - lined with shops, restaurants, bars, and quaint art deco condos. In the middle of this peaceful yet vibrant ambiance is the pearl that is the Marriott - really the only "brand" hotel on the beach. Location location! You step out of your gorgeous Tommy Bahama decor room (if you can tear yourself off the balcony!) and you are in the midst of the action. Be sure to check the lobby for some refreshing minted lime water after your walk! Or you can stay on your balcony, drink champagne, and watch the sea and sunset until the dramatic thunderstorms roll in. Too tired to drive or walk to a restaurant? Marriott's restaurant serves up a succulent menu with attentive service. Follow up with a relaxing dip in their beachside pool. This was a long Labor Day weekend to cherish and look forward to repeating again! Oh yes, your car will enjoy the cool, covered parking too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My wife had a grueling week at work, so we decided to take a jaunt down to South Florida for some fun and relaxation. For years, that trip would have occurred on South Beach, but since we now have a 2 year old daughter, we looked for something a little more laid back. The Marriott at Hollywood Beach was the just what we wanted.

The location was amazing. Directly across from the beach. And when I say directly across, I mean you walk about 12 feet from the hotels pool and you are on the beach. The sand is not like what you find in the Caribbean, but neither is it the hard, lumpy, jagged, sand that we typically find in beaches up north. The beach was beautiful. The water was pretty clear and blue / bluish green. While my wife and I were content to soak up some sun, we took turns accompanying our daughter between building sand castles on the beach and swimming in the hotel pool with numerous other kids (which she loved).

The food was good, albeit overpriced (as should be expected in any hotel restaurant). We had the brunch one day and was not overly impressed. We then walked about a quarter mile up the boardwalk and found several great eateries that were also extremely inexpensive.

The room we had was more than sufficient. We had a view of both the ocean and the intracoastal. The deck was a little small/shabby but the room was clean and relatively large. They also provided a separate sleep pen for our 2 year old. The only negative was that our room was among the last that was remade (typically afternoon instead of morning when we were out at the beach - which we would have preferred - though we were later told we could request an earlier housekeeping visit).

Overall, between the location, the great service (pool guys were very helpful), the deliciously flavored water, and the cost (we booked a deal through hotwire including our airfare and 6 days for $315/person), we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We picked this hotel randomly and will definitely return again. The hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly! We were upgraded to a suite due to the fact that this is considered a boutique hotel for Marriott they do not offer a room with two Queen beds, being that we were 2 adults and one teenager 2 doubles didn't work for us. They also gave us free breakfast both days that we stayed and free parking. This hotel was nice and clean and the views were beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hollywood Beach

Address: 2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is in the air at the Hollywood Beach Marriott, a South Florida boutique hotel that is situated directly on the famed Hollywood Broadwalk and on the Atlantic Ocean. As the only Marriott hotel on the Broadwalk, and only five miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and eight miles from Port Everglades, this Hollywood Florida hotel that is on the beach is nestled away from the busy strip of tourist hotels near Fort Lauderdale, which captivates a true hometown, beach town experience for the best in accommodations. The Hollywood Broadwalk is rated as one of the best beach boardwalks by Travel + Leisure magazine and USA Today, offering almost three miles of strolling, biking, dining, and nightlife, all connecting to the hotel so you can walk to so many attractions. In walking distance, Florida action awaits you! Featuring 229 guest rooms lined with amazing water views, the Hollywood Beach Marriott also offers an indoor and outdoor restaurant to satisfy, plus a delightful beachfront pool and Jacuzzi for serenity. Casual and cool, we boast the perfect function space for your next beach Wedding, Mitzvah, or Corporate meeting. Whether on vacation or getting down to business, you can do it right in Hollywood, Florida ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.