We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way to sleep” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hollywood Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
nyc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No way to sleep”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

I wish I had been warned. The air conditioners in this hotel are louder than tractor trailer trucks. Unless you can sleep with earplugs, forget this place. The hotel is OK, overpriced restaurant, surely nothing special. But, the area around it is awful. You over look a number of abandoned small motel/hotels. Walking the boardwalk is depressing. They act like they don't know that there is any problem with the a/c. Also, pricewise, it's high for what you get. Find another place to go. A big disappointment.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — accomodations
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    305
    97
    53
    35
See reviews for
245
305
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

This was my second visit to the Hollywood Beach Marriott and I can say that it has improved! I liked the property the first time but they have added a few fetures that made the stay just a tad more enjoyable...the singer out by the pool on Sunday was a nice addition...the RPM (resort pool manager) made sure that the pool was under control...all very nice.

We had a oceanview suite on the end - and we like this set up as it has a king bed in the bedroom and a "sitting area" with a sofa bed. It works for our family of 4...the bathroom is very nice with marble and glass...AND I love the 2 balconys! On the side you have the pool and in front you have the ocean. We stayed here after our cruise and it was a nice way to end the trip.

WIth a suite you get concierge access - and as another poster mentioned -the room is closed on the weekends. It opens on Sunday night for drinks and apptz and it was nice. Breakfast was nice too with a nice asst of hot and cold items.

The staff here is very friendly and very "Marriott". We travel alot and have high standards - this is a nice place to stay and relax.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

My family stayed at this property for 9 nights at the end of February. We arrived early and both rooms where ready for us. We where given adjoining rooms which was nice. Rooms are tastefully decorated and all beds have 7 pillows on them and where very comfortable. Everything about the rooms was nice. No problems at all. Rooms where cleaned daily.



We ate poolside and where satisfied with our meal. There was always someone around asking if you needed a drink etc. Staff was very nice and always greeting the guest. If you needed information about the area or directions there was always someone available to help you out.

The beach was beautiful. Cleaned every morning and the water was warm enough to swim in. Only days with high wind did you see any seaweed.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — overall everything
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

We took a chance on this hotel because our Ft. Lauderdale hotel (Renaissance) was just too noisy for our taste. We were very pleased with the comfortable and laid-back atmosphere, and the welcoming staff. The hotel property is lovely, our room had a view of both the Atlantic and the Intrecoastal, and the little balcony was a nice bonus. It was wonderful to open the door and feel the ocean breezes.

The paved walk in front of the hotel was a great place to get some exercise. The beach was immaculate and uncrowded, and the hotel restaurant was fairly good. It was nice to be able to eat outdoors in the morning.

The hotel itself is very attractive and comfortable, but the staff is really what makes this hotel special. Next time we're going to stay longer!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

We stayed at the Hollywood Beach Marriott from Feb 8-12, 2007. The hotel is very nice and the staff always polite and accomodating. We especially liked our time at the pool each day as there were several awesome staff members who made the day relaxing and fun. The restaurant may be a little over priced but not terrible. We had a room with two double beds and it was a little cramped for three people but not enough to complain or ask for a room change. The bathroom was great.

The one complaint about our trip is the time we spent outside the hotel property--we found people to be very rude and many acted as if we were in the way (maybe due to the many, many snowbirds who are in the area and resent "outsiders" like us there for only a short time). SO...definitely stay at the Marriott and travel outside the property with caution!! We definitely plan to return next year. It's a great place for a long relaxing weekend.

Tom S., IL

  • Liked — Pool Area
  • Disliked — Some Rude People
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

My pregnant wife and I just returned from a 5 night stay at this property in which we redeemed marriott points for free accomodations. We decided to stay at this property instead of some of the other marriott properties in the miami area because my wife is pregnant and we wanted to ensure a more relaxing stay than say on Sobe. We were a little apprehensive about the hotel given that neither of us were familiar w/Hollywood Beach, but it turned out to be perfect for us: close enough to the more commercialized areas in ft. lauderdale and miami, and secluded enough to provide for a relaxing vacation. We also found hollywood beach to be a very "authentic" south florida destination. In other words, not full of commercial sky-rise condo buildings or chain restaraunts. If you're looking for something right in the heart of all the action- this wouldn't be ideal. However, it is ideal if you want a very nice hotel that offers much more personality and charm than a typical marriott hotel, and you enjoy being just off the beaten path. We found our room to be at the level of most JW Marriott locations. While the balcony is somewhat small, the ocean view from it was great. In January, the beach in front of the hotel is not private but not crowded. And the service provided at the hotel was very good. There is an ecclectic broadwalk in front of the hotel and we ate at the hotel restaraunt for breakfast each morning and enjoyed the people watching and ocean views. Food quality and prices were good for a hotel, but not a place I would have driven to specifically eat at. We have traveled fairly extensively: all over the US, Carribean, and Europe, and stayed in marriotts almost everywhere. This one is a bit different than most marriotts, but that is largely what is appealing about it. I would defenitely return again- especially if travelling with family.

  • Liked — personality of resort
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — rent a car if staying here
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast-UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

Hi a quick review of our pre-cruise stay at the Hollywood Beach Marriott. At the start of December.

We'd booked online and booked a Concierge room at close to $300.

On arrival we were given our room keys and my wife asked was the access to the lounge on our keys - no so they had to be changed again.

We had just arrived after a long flight from the UK so we decided to have a meal at the hotel and then use the lounge before bed.

The food was awful we picked through it and just asked for the bill as we couldn't be bothered arguing over it.

Off we went to the Concierge lounge ( if you can call it that ) OMG were we in for a shock - 4 apples in a bowl - a room that smelt like dirty socks and that was it. We rang the front desk to be told wait for it - the Concierge lounge is closed friday and Saturday.

That was that - i waited till morning and spoke to the duty manager - she refunded the difference for a Concierge room and the meal and gave us a complimentary breakfast ( which wasn't any better then the meal the night before )

The only plus was the room which was very nice - but i would expect that for the price i was paying.


I've just had an email tonight from the General Manager offering us 50% off another room if we wanted to give them another try.


My reply SORRY you missed your chance for my business thanks anyway.


jj....

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — the hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hollywood Beach

Address: 2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Hollywood Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New carpeting and chairs now in every room!Situated apart from the busy strip of tourist hotels near Fort Lauderdale, you will find a relaxing getaway at our casual, boutique-style hotel in Hollywood, Florida. Perfect for families and couples, and located between the Atlantic Ocean and the Intracoastal Waterway, the Hollywood Beach Marriott Hotel offers guests a dazzling South Florida oceanfront location, yet we are just an easy 6 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and 8 miles from Port Everglades. Featuring 229 South Floridian style guest rooms, this Hollywood beach resort boasts an array of amenities such as plush Marriott bedding, balconies and water views. Relax and bask in the sun at the beachfront pool before exploring the famous 2 1/2 mile long Broadwalk and its restaurants, cafes and nightlife. From productive meetings to stunning beach weddings, this Hollywood, FL hotel can easily accommodate your meeting and event needs. We look forward to your visit to the Hollywood Beach Marriott, a AAA Four-Diamond hotel in Hollywood, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.