We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hollywood Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
H-Town
1 review
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I have so many mixed feelings about this hotel, so I decided to list pros and cons. Here it goes.

Pros:
1. Located right in front of the beach and every room has an ocean view.
2. The hotel is nice inside and has been remodeled. Keep in mind it used to be a Howard Johnson, which clearly shows on the outside.
3. Right on the famous boardwalk which is nice to walk on and has many places for you to eat. There are also souviner and dress shops.
4. Concierge and front desk are friendly.

Cons:
1. The bathroom door and shower door are see through. Which means if you are rooming with someone besides your spouse, you have to be careful.
2. Beds are hard and they hurt your back when you wake up every morning.
3. There is a $570 deposit that they hold on your card, which is ridicolous. We were not told until my friend was checking her bank account and saw the charge on the 2nd day when we were there. We confronted front desk, which did nothing. When we said we were calling the Marriott corporate office, they apoligized and everything got worked out.
4. There is def a lang barrier w/ front desk. None of them ever understood exactly what you were asking for. For example, I asked for a coffee mug and it took about 30 mins for them to figure it out. I learned quickly that most of the workers are French.
5. Watch out for this guy that Marriott hired to drive the "shuttle bus". He's rude, expensive, and has no idea where he is going. Your better off with calling a taxi. BTW, the hotel has to call the taxi for you, the taxi company will not come if you call yourself from the hotel, a little crazy. Make sure you go on on the taxi, not the guy who is sitting around the hotel.
6. The food is not that great.
7. This locals call this hotel the "scaryiott", so take it what its worth.
8. The Ramada in Hollywood looks alot nicer than the Marriott.

I don't think I would go back to this hotel, since I found more cons than pros.

  • Liked — Right in front of the beach
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    379
    126
    63
    44
See reviews for
305
366
35
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

Was in the area for business and decided to stay at hotel on the beach. Pleasantly surprised. The hotel is older (was a HoJo I believe) but is now Marriott.
Room was comfortable, king bed...good size. Hotel had restaurant on beach side, food was good and reasonable. Walk out directly to the beach across the boardwalk. Pool available
Free internet and parking (self) 13$ ..but while I was there they had a special, two free hot breakfasts and parking ..so even though I booked much earlier they gave me the special without any fuss....was impressed with the service attitude.

Recommend this hotel even for business travellers who have to work around the area (we had to go from Aventura to Hollywood/Ft Lauderdale/Dania etc) ...pretty central and easy access.

  • Liked — Location on the beach..not surrounded by dozens of other large hotels
  • Disliked — Smoking in the beach side bar area.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

I booked three rooms in this hotel a couple of months ago to celebrate my moms 80th! We had guests from out of town & they all loved it. We arrived at 2pm for early check in & we just waited a few minutes, all the rooms in the same floor, as previously requested. The staff was very helpful & friendly. The pool area gets crowded in the morning thru early afternoon but after that there is plenty of space. Since we were a large group, we rented a couple of cabanas on the beach & it was perfect. The restaurant has a wonderful breakfast buffet as well as room service. The regular menu is also very good, I had their fish & chips & also a burger. I did not find the food expensive. The bar gets busy during happy hour & there is always people having drinks or watching the games on t.v. I certainly will stay there again, all our requests were met perfectly. One more thing, the balconies on the 2nd floor are much larger than the rest.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We just returned from two nights at the Hollywood Marriott. We lived in Ft. Lauderdale for almost three years, so we knew the area. The hotel is a renovated Howard Johnsons and they have done a great job. The beachfront location is lovely. The Broadwalk allows bikers, runners and joggers to exercise right on the beach. We found the staff, for the most part, to be the highlight of the visit. John, who manages the pool, is a real asset. He and his staff could not do enough to make the atmosphere at the pool wonderful. As others have mentioned, Hollywood is a bit dicey in spots, but a real effort has been made to clean up some of the rough spots we saw when we lived there.
We will definitely be back to this hotel...a great place to go for a few days to relax and enjoy a lovely beach.

  • Liked — The beachfront pool, great food.
  • Disliked — Check in/check out
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

My husband and I had our "babymoon" at this hotel from Sat May 17 - Tues May 20. Overall, we found the hotel to be excellent and the location/beaach to be ideal for our short trip.

Hotel: The hotel was perfect for us because I could use my Marriott points, we got to stay in a not-so-touristy area of the beach and we were in walking distance of everything we needed (restaurants/mini-marts/shops). The hotel staff gave us a great room on the 10th floor with a beautiful view of the beach. The beds were so comfy - I slept sound as ever (which says a lot, being 7 mos pregnant!) The workout room was nice each morning, and we also got good exercise walking down the broadwalk to the restaurants. The Marriott restaurant has great food... it's a bit pricier than the other restaurants down the way, but we were happy with everything we had (breakfast and lunch).

Beach: Hollywood beach is just beautiful and I LOVED walking the broadwalk and staring out at the ocean. Sat/Sun was extremely crowded... families everywhere and the pool was packed! We rented a $24 umbrella/lounge set on the beach both days - the sun is so intense that I got a tan/mild burn even though I really tried to stay under the umbrella most of the time. We really enjoyed Mon/Tues when the crowds were gone and it was just a few couples on the beach - very romantic and relaxing just sitting on the beach listening to the waves. The ocean temp was perfect this time of year, and it was not rough at all so we enjoyed several swims throughout our stay - very refreshing!

Restaurants: We ate at Broadwalk Cafe, Little Venice Pizza, La Brochette, Taverna Opa, Bill's Crab House, Giorgio's Bakery, and some Greek restaurant... all were EXCELLENT! We also frequented Edy's for ice cream... you really can't go wrong with the restaurants in the area.

Other: Besides the beach/pool/broadwalk - there is precious little to do in Hollywood. We had our fill of relaxation after nearly 4 full days of beaching, lounging, reading, eating, etc... it is a great spot for a short trip, but I could not see spending more than 4 days here... unless we had a rental car and could drive to Miami or something.

  • Liked — Location - great beach, walking distance to restaurants, away from high-rise bldg
  • Disliked — Kids everywhere on the weekend, fruit is super-overpriced at Hollywood restaurants
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

I was in town last week for business and couldn't fly back the last work day, so decided to find a room at the beach and stay the extra night. This hotel was a great choice - and a free room with Marriott points.

Cons:

I found the Hollywood beach area to be a little on the seedy side. I walked the length of the boardwalk area alone and to dinner at Taverna Opa (about a mile) and never felt unsafe since there were plenty of people around, but I think I would have been a little nervous otherwise. I definitely wouldn't leave valuables on the beach while swimming.

The room was a somewhat on the small side - great for 1 or 2, cramped for 3 or more. The balcony is definitely 2 people max.

The pool isn't one of those new/free-form/waterfall types - certainly functional, very clean, but nothing special. It was also ccccccold! (in mid-May) The pool area is probably a little on the small side - I was there on a friday and nearly every lounge chair was taken at noon. I didn't see anyone who wasn't accomodated, but add another 20 people and it would have been a problem.

Pros:

I don't usually comment on the staff unless there's some out of the ordinary situation. First, I thought I had made a reservation with my marriott points, but apparently didn't click the last "yes i really want to do this" button on the webpage. No problem, the lady at the counter got me a points room and even apologized for what I'm sure was my own fault. She even gave me a choice of rooms to pick from. Every time I walked by the front desk, they smiled, said hello, asked how things were going. The host at the restaurant (Girard) was so nice, stopped to chat for a few minutes, and remembered my name. That's usually the kind of service you find at really good small boutique hotels - I was pretty impressed for a large Marriott.

The view from the room was amazing - looking over the pool and beach.

The rooms are beautifully decorated - dark hardwoods, nice linens, etc. 2 very nice robes - not the regular terry kind, these are ultra soft velour on the inside and something like egyptian cotton on the outside.

Breakfast outside on the patio overlooking the beach is not to be missed - the food was excellent and the view even better - so relaxing!

Service at the pool was something I was not expected - they brought around FREE skewers of chilled fruit and mini-size frozen drinks.

Being right on the boardwalk was great - within 1/4 - 1/2 mile you can walk shops/restaurants. There are more restaurants/shops further down as well, and its a beautiful walk. There's a smooth section of the boardwalk for rollerblading as well as bicycles. There must be a place to rent them, although only staying 1 day, I didn't have time to check it out. On the beach in front of the hotel there's a guy renting beach cabanas, umbrellas, and cushioned chairs - the price for a 2 lounge chair cabana was $22/day.

I didn't actually swim in the ocean (not enough time, and by myself) - the water is a beautiful color, although I could see some seaweed floating around. The beach was clean and there are several places along the boardwalk with shower heads where you can wash off the sand.

It looked like a great place for watersports like waverunners and windsurfers, but I never saw any, and there were no vendors.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again - great spot for pre/post cruises. I don't think I would necessarily make it a vacation destination on its own, but it was very relaxing and an enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — staff, view, boardwalk
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

I had never heard of Hollywood and i am an avid Marriott user. It is a great location with a long boardwalk right outside the hotel. The boardwalk has many restaurants and little shops. The hotel itself was great! The rooms were average sized and very clean, the staff was nice including the pool guy! he was very funny i would keep an eye out for him (in a good way!). In regards to negative reviews about this hotel, some people are honestly never pleased wherever they go no matter what. Hollywood is a nice town and it is surrounded by miami and ft lauderdale which are also VERY nice cities so you will NOT ever get bored!

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hollywood Beach

Address: 2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#11 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New carpeting and chairs now in every room!Situated apart from the busy strip of tourist hotels near Fort Lauderdale, you will find a relaxing getaway at our casual, boutique-style hotel in Hollywood, Florida. Perfect for families and couples, and located between the Atlantic Ocean and the Intracoastal Waterway, the Hollywood Beach Marriott Hotel offers guests a dazzling South Florida oceanfront location, yet we are just an easy 6 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and 8 miles from Port Everglades. Featuring 229 South Floridian style guest rooms, this Hollywood beach resort boasts an array of amenities such as plush Marriott bedding, balconies and water views. Relax and bask in the sun at the beachfront pool before exploring the famous 2 1/2 mile long Broadwalk and its restaurants, cafes and nightlife. From productive meetings to stunning beach weddings, this Hollywood, FL hotel can easily accommodate your meeting and event needs. We look forward to your visit to the Hollywood Beach Marriott, a AAA Four-Diamond hotel in Hollywood, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.