We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT GETAWAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hollywood Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Wilmington, DE
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“GREAT GETAWAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We just returned from two nights at the Hollywood Marriott. We lived in Ft. Lauderdale for almost three years, so we knew the area. The hotel is a renovated Howard Johnsons and they have done a great job. The beachfront location is lovely. The Broadwalk allows bikers, runners and joggers to exercise right on the beach. We found the staff, for the most part, to be the highlight of the visit. John, who manages the pool, is a real asset. He and his staff could not do enough to make the atmosphere at the pool wonderful. As others have mentioned, Hollywood is a bit dicey in spots, but a real effort has been made to clean up some of the rough spots we saw when we lived there.
We will definitely be back to this hotel...a great place to go for a few days to relax and enjoy a lovely beach.

  • Liked — The beachfront pool, great food.
  • Disliked — Check in/check out
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    306
    98
    53
    35
See reviews for
244
304
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

My husband and I had our "babymoon" at this hotel from Sat May 17 - Tues May 20. Overall, we found the hotel to be excellent and the location/beaach to be ideal for our short trip.

Hotel: The hotel was perfect for us because I could use my Marriott points, we got to stay in a not-so-touristy area of the beach and we were in walking distance of everything we needed (restaurants/mini-marts/shops). The hotel staff gave us a great room on the 10th floor with a beautiful view of the beach. The beds were so comfy - I slept sound as ever (which says a lot, being 7 mos pregnant!) The workout room was nice each morning, and we also got good exercise walking down the broadwalk to the restaurants. The Marriott restaurant has great food... it's a bit pricier than the other restaurants down the way, but we were happy with everything we had (breakfast and lunch).

Beach: Hollywood beach is just beautiful and I LOVED walking the broadwalk and staring out at the ocean. Sat/Sun was extremely crowded... families everywhere and the pool was packed! We rented a $24 umbrella/lounge set on the beach both days - the sun is so intense that I got a tan/mild burn even though I really tried to stay under the umbrella most of the time. We really enjoyed Mon/Tues when the crowds were gone and it was just a few couples on the beach - very romantic and relaxing just sitting on the beach listening to the waves. The ocean temp was perfect this time of year, and it was not rough at all so we enjoyed several swims throughout our stay - very refreshing!

Restaurants: We ate at Broadwalk Cafe, Little Venice Pizza, La Brochette, Taverna Opa, Bill's Crab House, Giorgio's Bakery, and some Greek restaurant... all were EXCELLENT! We also frequented Edy's for ice cream... you really can't go wrong with the restaurants in the area.

Other: Besides the beach/pool/broadwalk - there is precious little to do in Hollywood. We had our fill of relaxation after nearly 4 full days of beaching, lounging, reading, eating, etc... it is a great spot for a short trip, but I could not see spending more than 4 days here... unless we had a rental car and could drive to Miami or something.

  • Liked — Location - great beach, walking distance to restaurants, away from high-rise bldg
  • Disliked — Kids everywhere on the weekend, fruit is super-overpriced at Hollywood restaurants
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

I was in town last week for business and couldn't fly back the last work day, so decided to find a room at the beach and stay the extra night. This hotel was a great choice - and a free room with Marriott points.

Cons:

I found the Hollywood beach area to be a little on the seedy side. I walked the length of the boardwalk area alone and to dinner at Taverna Opa (about a mile) and never felt unsafe since there were plenty of people around, but I think I would have been a little nervous otherwise. I definitely wouldn't leave valuables on the beach while swimming.

The room was a somewhat on the small side - great for 1 or 2, cramped for 3 or more. The balcony is definitely 2 people max.

The pool isn't one of those new/free-form/waterfall types - certainly functional, very clean, but nothing special. It was also ccccccold! (in mid-May) The pool area is probably a little on the small side - I was there on a friday and nearly every lounge chair was taken at noon. I didn't see anyone who wasn't accomodated, but add another 20 people and it would have been a problem.

Pros:

I don't usually comment on the staff unless there's some out of the ordinary situation. First, I thought I had made a reservation with my marriott points, but apparently didn't click the last "yes i really want to do this" button on the webpage. No problem, the lady at the counter got me a points room and even apologized for what I'm sure was my own fault. She even gave me a choice of rooms to pick from. Every time I walked by the front desk, they smiled, said hello, asked how things were going. The host at the restaurant (Girard) was so nice, stopped to chat for a few minutes, and remembered my name. That's usually the kind of service you find at really good small boutique hotels - I was pretty impressed for a large Marriott.

The view from the room was amazing - looking over the pool and beach.

The rooms are beautifully decorated - dark hardwoods, nice linens, etc. 2 very nice robes - not the regular terry kind, these are ultra soft velour on the inside and something like egyptian cotton on the outside.

Breakfast outside on the patio overlooking the beach is not to be missed - the food was excellent and the view even better - so relaxing!

Service at the pool was something I was not expected - they brought around FREE skewers of chilled fruit and mini-size frozen drinks.

Being right on the boardwalk was great - within 1/4 - 1/2 mile you can walk shops/restaurants. There are more restaurants/shops further down as well, and its a beautiful walk. There's a smooth section of the boardwalk for rollerblading as well as bicycles. There must be a place to rent them, although only staying 1 day, I didn't have time to check it out. On the beach in front of the hotel there's a guy renting beach cabanas, umbrellas, and cushioned chairs - the price for a 2 lounge chair cabana was $22/day.

I didn't actually swim in the ocean (not enough time, and by myself) - the water is a beautiful color, although I could see some seaweed floating around. The beach was clean and there are several places along the boardwalk with shower heads where you can wash off the sand.

It looked like a great place for watersports like waverunners and windsurfers, but I never saw any, and there were no vendors.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again - great spot for pre/post cruises. I don't think I would necessarily make it a vacation destination on its own, but it was very relaxing and an enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — staff, view, boardwalk
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

I had never heard of Hollywood and i am an avid Marriott user. It is a great location with a long boardwalk right outside the hotel. The boardwalk has many restaurants and little shops. The hotel itself was great! The rooms were average sized and very clean, the staff was nice including the pool guy! he was very funny i would keep an eye out for him (in a good way!). In regards to negative reviews about this hotel, some people are honestly never pleased wherever they go no matter what. Hollywood is a nice town and it is surrounded by miami and ft lauderdale which are also VERY nice cities so you will NOT ever get bored!

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

My wife and I had travelled from Vancouver through Phoenix to stay for a few nights with some friends in Houston. We left Houston and landed in Ft. Lauderdale (via Charlotte, NC). We were a few days early for a relocation cruise from Ft. Lauderdale through the Panama Canal and back up the Pacific Coast to Vancouver.
I had read the good reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor and was very pleased with the outcome of our stay. The hotel is well situated in relationship to the airport and Port Everglades and we really enjoyed walking on the walkway along the ocean. The weather was very warm and we enjoyed the heat of the day on our various walks. We particularly liked the pastel coloured art deco buildings of the surrounding area.
Our room was very spacious and modern and we had a great view from the 9th floor out to the pool area and the ocean.
We stayed for 2 nights and used the restaurant for breakfast and lunch.
I would recommend this facility for anyone who is planning a cruise.

  • Liked — Closeness to Port Everglades for our cruise.
  • Disliked — N/
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

I am surprised at the negative reviews. I travel fequently and stay at many Marriotts. This property is just fine. I found the staff very friendly and accomodating. Another reviewer is right this is not the "South" Go to Mobile, Birmingham. Atlanta or Savannah and Charleston for that -- not SE FL! The pool area is nice - a good breeze and a mixture of sun and shade. You can see the ocean from the pool. I had room sevice for dinner- a very good burger- in less than 30 minutes. I requested a late check out which was no problem.
I had an executive suite that had the "renassiance" finsihes - marble tops on table and dresser. Philips flat screen TV. Nice little shop for a snack or forgotten toiletries. A Starbucks cafe in the lobby if you don't want a big breakfast.
As far as the neighborhood it seemed quiet and not threatening.
I walked the broadwalk in the morning and thought it was nice. There was a lot of people out but no freaks - all ages - people on a charity walk , bicyclers and runners. And the broadwalk is really not the hotel's "problem".
I would definitely return here.

  • Liked — nice beach hotel close to FLL
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

My girlfriend and I arrived a day early in Ft Lauderdale for a cruise with Carnival. As a Platinum Marriott member, I had some certificates for free stays and decided to use them at the Hollywood Beach Marriott for the night before and the night after our cruise; and what a great choice it was! The location is beautiful, with a great view of the beach and a long boardwalk with much to see. There was a French-Canadian festival going on along the beach and boardwalk which was very interesting to see.

The best part was the room itself, I was upgraded to a suite with two balconies, one overlooking the ocean and another over the pool. The room was fantastic; huge, comfortable bed, LCD TV, and a large marble shower. We slept with the sliding door open, listening to the waves come in which was really relaxing. The hotel restaurant was also nice with great food and service - not too pricey either.

Since I would be returning in a week, I asked the front desk person if we could possibly get the same room or one similar on our return (yes, it was that great). She said no problem, and sure enough when we returned we got another suite on a higher floor. Staff were wonderful and very friendly throughout.

  • Liked — Quality of rooms, view
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hollywood Beach

Address: 2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Hollywood Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New carpeting and chairs now in every room!Situated apart from the busy strip of tourist hotels near Fort Lauderdale, you will find a relaxing getaway at our casual, boutique-style hotel in Hollywood, Florida. Perfect for families and couples, and located between the Atlantic Ocean and the Intracoastal Waterway, the Hollywood Beach Marriott Hotel offers guests a dazzling South Florida oceanfront location, yet we are just an easy 6 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and 8 miles from Port Everglades. Featuring 229 South Floridian style guest rooms, this Hollywood beach resort boasts an array of amenities such as plush Marriott bedding, balconies and water views. Relax and bask in the sun at the beachfront pool before exploring the famous 2 1/2 mile long Broadwalk and its restaurants, cafes and nightlife. From productive meetings to stunning beach weddings, this Hollywood, FL hotel can easily accommodate your meeting and event needs. We look forward to your visit to the Hollywood Beach Marriott, a AAA Four-Diamond hotel in Hollywood, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.