We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hollywood Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This Marriot is located right on the beach. The room I had was # 501 facing the ocean, on the North side. All rooms facing the ocean on the north side are above an area where live music is played each Friday and Saturday night until 10 pm and face the Broadwalk. All ocean front rooms on the south side have a partial view of the pool area and the Broadwalk too.

I think the price was a bit steep ($439) a night for a small room. All ocean front rooms have 2 balconies. One that faces the ocean and one that is off the side off the building. The front of the building actually faces North. The balconies are small even with 2 of them.

The room and bathroom were clean and fresh. The decor is like a Tommy Bahama "style". The furniture is older but in good shape, considering there are thousands of people going through this hotel every year. Inside the room there is a small coffee maker, a small fridge and a safe. No microwave.

The HVAC is a heat pump controlled by a wall Thermostat. The a/c worked fine, but in the heating mode the unit made a loud humming noise and it was hard to fall asleep. I went down to Walgreens and picked up some ear plugs. It may not be this way in other rooms.
Sometimes you can ask for another room because of the noise problem, but they were fully booked so no chance of moving around.

I did not swim, but the pool area seemed adequate. There is a nice on-site restaurant with good food and excellent servers. The exterior bar is covered and there is open exterior seating as well. The breakfast has a full bountiful buffet, if you so choose. And good choices for other meals as well.

There is a gift/snack shop inside the hotel, including an extra vendor that serves fresh hot pizza and great coffee.
Out of everything at this Marriot - the service was the best to me. From the front desk, to room service all the way to the bar and general service area workers, everyone was pleasant and professional.
Parking is adequate for self park or they have valet parking as well.

By the ocean side is a walkway called Broadwalk. It is a paver walkway that runs up and down the beach. A lot of people use it and it is a good way to excercise, take a stroll or just sit out and people watch and take in some sun.

Since this hotel is not in an area that has multiple high rise hotels near by, it is not overcrowded. But in the same sense there is not a lot of extra infrastructure to help you have multiple choices for various restaurants or night clubs.

Room Tip: Ocean front on the south side, because it will get more sun in the winter months. All ocean front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    425
    133
    67
    48
See reviews for
350
393
41
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Agree with some posts that say great location on beach but some problems with this Marriott. The building is challenging due to size/age but we thought the staff was good, rooms clean (some maid service better than others), food was good BUT the POOL is a mess! One thing to be challenged because of size (pool kind of small, deck chairs very packed in) BUT IT SHOULD BE CLEANED DAILY AND IT DEFINATELY WAS NOT. We love being at the pool and use it. I am a lap swimmer as well. We came Mon and it was ok. Got worse each day (our stay 6 days) . We've stayed mostly Hilton's before and early each morning they are hosing the deck and chairs, skimming, and treating with chemicals. We were there early each day and never saw anyone do anything with the pool. In fact, bird poop on several chairs still there after 5 days, deck dirty, pool with lots of sand & couldn't see for cloudyness, eyes stinging, definately not a clean fressh feel. Sad bec other aspects of hotel & staff were good. I did call down to ask abt their cleaning it and what their policy was and desk clerk didn't know. Said Mgr. would call me but no one ever did. Very dissapointing. Would not go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel was perfect for what we were looking for in a beach hotel. It's literally steps from the beach, separated only by the boardwalk. I enjoyed having my morning coffee & breakfast outside right on the boardwalk at the hotel restaurant. I could relax, watch the people and enjoy the great view of the beach and ocean. Not to mention the food was fabulous! They have a salt water pool and the attendant Scott was very nice to us. The rooms were very attractive, beds comfy, loved the big marble shower. Everyone there was friendly and helpful, from Andreas who helped us with our transportation needs, to the concierge Paolo. They really made us feel welcome! I have to say, I really liked this hotel! I will be back!

Room Tip: Higher floor & pool side otherwise your looking at huge palm trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My spouse and I stayed here over a long weekend in February. The hotel is on the beach in a spot that at
this time of the year was relatively quiet, not at all crowded. Between the hotel property and the beach is a nice "broadwalk" that is great for walking, biking, and people-watching...mostly retirees. The Marriott was the only "brand" hotel that I saw for several blocks. There are
mostly either private condos or smaller beachfront motels.
We had a corner room that had two sets of glass patio doors and an unobstructed beach view. I would recommend this type of
room if you don't mind spending a bit more. No complaints with the room. The bathroom was roomy enough (large shower, no tub) and the bed was comfortable. Room service was quick and friendly. We ate two meals in the outdoor restaurant. Fish tacos, mango slaw, etc. were
all good, and all breakfast choices were tasty. If you want to eat elsewhere during your stay, we found a couple of restaurants within walking distance of the Marriott. I can't rate the other amenities at the hotel, such as pool or fitness center as we did not use them. We did explore the Hollywood area, and spent some time at nearby Gulfstream Race Track/Casino which is fabulous and has an upscale outdoor shopping/dining area on the property. There is a Hollywood Trolley service that makes regular short trips around town. The bus stop is right on the main road in front of the hotel.
Overall, no complaints at all here. All staff was courteous, valet parking was quick and convenient. The lobby is attractive and includes a small store and a coffee bar. Elevators are fast and easily accessible.
By the way, we spent plenty of time on the Broadwalk and beach near the hotel, and we don't
recall seeing any dogs the whole time. So, if you travel with dogs you need to make sure they're welcome here.

Room Tip: A corner room on the sixth floor had two balconies, which made for a better view and brighter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nice location but the management really needs some work on customer service. And don't even try to smoke on the premises. I smoked on the balcony and was charged an extra $250!! Other customer issues were dealt with a dismissive attitude. Complaints up the chain were dealt with the same way. Not a very good way to foster goodwill or customer loyalty. I assume they don't care since they probably don't do a lot of repeat business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
345 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in mid February, weather was great and I was very impressed with this hotel. Partly because it was not your traditional Marriott with the same decor as every other Marriott that I stay in as a platinum level guest and partly because of the staffs attitude was outstanding!!! Natasha at the front desk may have the best attitude I have ever seen at ANY hotel....she is awesome. When I first called from my home she transferred my call to a manager and since they weren't in I hung up. You can only imagine my surprise when Natasha called me back two minutes later on Super Bowl Sunday and said " I noticed no one picked up so I took the liberty to call you back, how can I help you"
Folks you just don't get service like that!!!
Then when we checked in and I said my name, you would have thought I was her long lost relative!!! That woman is a KEEPER!!! Actually everyone here was very nice and extremely friendly. They groom the beach every morning and have great beach cabana's for $30 per day which we really enjoyed! Food in latitudes was very good. If I had one thing I would change it would be they need more staff at latitude because they were busy but very one was exceptionally friendly. Our room was 1002 with an outstanding view for our anniversary! We WILL be back here because it's combined all the great Marriott amenities with a boutique style hotel. Oh one last thing fantastic concierge lounge !!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I just got back from a trip to Hollywood Beach (Feb. 2 - 6), and this hotel did not disappoint! The room I was in was super roomy (4th floor), with a king size bed, well appointed bathroom, and a balcony that had a view of the ocean (ok, and some of the HVAC units on the roof, but it wasn't all that bad).

This was a solo trip for me, and everyone from the front desk staff to the service at Latitudes was top notch!! Everyone took time out to chat with me, and make sure I was taken care of. They kept a watchful eye on me (since I was flying solo) and made sure I had everything I needed.

Poolside, the gentlemen were really nice and waited on you hand and foot. Got you drinks, towels, food.... and always made sure you were comfortable while catching some rays.

I didn't venture far while in town, this was a "time for me to unwind" trip and I didn't want to keep any agenda. This was THE PERFECT place to spend a few days people watching, eating, drinking, and relaxing.

The food at Latitudes was deelish!! So much so I never bothered to eat anywhere else. They had a nice variety, and most of my meals, including a glass of wine, were never more than 20 bucks (I think I spent 22 one night).

The Broadkwalk is the perfect place to hang out, and the beach is only steps away.

I can't comment on the parking or valet services, since I did not rent a car.

If you're thinking of a trip to this area, do it!! The ride in from FLL airport is quick, about 20-25 minutes depending on traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
6.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#12 of 65 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#9 of 65 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
2.5 mi away
Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hollywood Beach

Address: 2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#11 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is in the air at the Hollywood Beach Marriott, a South Florida boutique hotel that is situated directly on the famed Hollywood Broadwalk and on the Atlantic Ocean. As the only Marriott hotel on the Broadwalk, and only five miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and eight miles from Port Everglades, this Hollywood Florida hotel that is on the beach is nestled away from the busy strip of tourist hotels near Fort Lauderdale, which captivates a true hometown, beach town experience for the best in accommodations. The Hollywood Broadwalk is rated as one of the best beach boardwalks by Travel + Leisure magazine and USA Today, offering almost three miles of strolling, biking, dining, and nightlife, all connecting to the hotel so you can walk to so many attractions. In walking distance, Florida action awaits you! Featuring 229 guest rooms lined with amazing water views, the Hollywood Beach Marriott also offers an indoor and outdoor restaurant to satisfy, plus a delightful beachfront pool and Jacuzzi for serenity. Casual and cool, we boast the perfect function space for your next beach Wedding, Mitzvah, or Corporate meeting. Whether on vacation or getting down to business, you can do it right in Hollywood, Florida ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.