We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Westin Diplomat is full, don't stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hollywood Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If Westin Diplomat is full, don't stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

It's only 2.5 miles away from the Westin, but it's not even close to being the same kind of hotel. I'm here on 3/27 for a conference and couldn't get into the conference hotel. Don't be confused - this is an older property that's been upgraded to be a borderline 4-star family vacation hotel. I got a $12 burger for lunch in the loud restaurant and it was terrible. I think the kithen is using some kind of "toasting oil" on the bread that leaves a bitter aftertate. The service was incredibly slow. The room is decent enough, but like most posters, I found the rooms to be small, but it was clean. The high-speed internet doesn't work. I called tech support last night and they said there was an issue, but at noon on 3/28 it's still out. The drive between the Westin and here isn't that bad, but you do have to put up with merging into crazy Sunday traffic with no traffic lights, lots of red-light cameras, and slow-driving floridians on the road. The Westin and Crown Plaza are much better choices. Pay more to stay where you really need to be.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    314
    101
    53
    36
See reviews for
256
307
32
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed at the Hollywood Marriott 3/23-3/26. The hotel was nice, but they nickel and dime you to death. It cost $19 a day to park your car, $7.00 a day to rent a beach chair . . . Come on! I'd rather stay at the Pelican Grand in FT Lauderdale anyday. OH and the air conditioning unit in the room was so loud, it woke me up at least 20 times every night. The beds looked comfortable, but looks are deceiving :(

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

My wife and I, father, brother and his wife recently stayed there and were accomodated with adjoining rooms. We were all treated very well by the very friendly and helpful staff. This was the third time in four years that we vacationed in Hollywood and stayed at the Marriott and will stay there again next time. It's not an economy hotel and we all don't mind paying a little more when staying at a nice place, great location and service. The rear of the hotel with the indoor / outdoor restaurant and pool and tiki bar is separated from the beach only by Hollywood's paver version of a boardwalk called the Broadwalk. We rent a car and primarily use the hotel because of it's location and proximity to Miami and Fort lauderdale attractions but look forward to returning in the evenings to visit the tiki bar and broadwalk and then again in the morning to breakfast out back and a walk on the broadwalk and occasionally a day on the beach. Finally, the cons for some would be small rooms, small balconies not facing the beach and a $17 parking fee in their garage.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay during a convention week. We were up on the 9th floor and had great views of the ocean. You can walk down the boardwalk to listen to music or to have a nice beverage. The Hotel could use alittle sprucing up but the room was clean and the staff will make you feel welcome. Pool area included iced water spray and watermelon water. Food at the restaurant was good. Jose was especially nice to us. Fun area for people watching. I will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We ended up staying at this hotel after leaving another hotel in the area at midnight because it was terrible! The lady at the front desk was so helpful when my husband called and booked a room. When we arrived she gave us a very nice room with ocean view for a very good rate as she said she wanted to make our stay in Hollywoood a good experience and so far it had not been. The room was so clean and nice. When we were walking through the lobby the next afternoon we noticed a free drink. We asked what it was and someone told us it was a non alcoholic Mohito. It was so good and refreshing. We had a great stay for 2 days before our cruise on the Oasis and for a few days after. Thanks to everyone that made our stay enjoyable.

PS we stayed here in Jan 2010 but it wouldn't let me add that date.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottbeachfront, Manager at Marriott Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thanks everyone for your continued reviews. Some updates to let the world know about: Our exterior has been completely refreshed with new paint, and looks amazing! Our internet has been upgraded to now be even faster then ever. Plus, several other key upgrades are in process, so please visit us and see the enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed herein room 910 on 2/20/11 to 2/24/11 with my wife and 2 girls, ages 6 and 8. We were told we got lucky withthe weather, it was absolutly perfect 82 degrees and sunny!!!. The hotel is one of the nicer places to stay on the boardwalk,,right on the beach. Hotel rooms were a litte small (two full beds close together, no other sitting area to speak of and smallish balcony) but that is ok becasue we spent very little time in the room,,the room was t very clean, staff and service was very nice, pool was great. Hotel is located in a good spot on the board walk. I like Hollywood becasue it was mostly older set or families with younger children,,no springbreak crowds, no late night bar scene, very mellow the whole area was clean, no trash, no blaring rap music..a prefect short stay to recharge the batteries...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This was my second stay at this hotel in 2 years. The first experience here in 2009 was fabulous leading me to recommend it to my sister for a girl's getaway. The hotel was in the same condition. As others mention, it is an older property and I think they've done the best they can given the size, space, etc. The restaraunt is good - typical Marriott fare. The service was hit or miss. The last day we were there Ian in the restaraunt was by far the best staff member we encountered on this trip.The front desk staff was ok - definately didn't go out of their way to accomodate you. We had several requests and I am a Marriott Rewards member so it's usually no problem. Even a 1:00 check out was like pulling teeth. The concierge woman was the worst staff member we engaged with. we asked for suggestions for shopping - she pointed to the rack of maps and brochures on the wall and said " look there" . I tried another day to get directions to a nearby restaraunt and she said "it's right down the street" so I guess I was supposed to know which direction, how far, etc. Whatever.
The room is smaller. Bathroom is nice but if you have kids beware - all glass shower with slippery marble floors. The two double beds were tiny. Not the most comfortable marriott style beds I'm used to. Again if you have small kids BEWARE they are really high off the ground. We had to prop a bunch of pillows to make sure my 2 1/2 year old nephew didn't fall out.
The broadwalk is nice. The parking at $17 a day is ridiculous. Just make it part of the room rate if you must. It's hardly convenient to go outside, get in another elevator and find your car.
Beach cabanas and chairs are available for rent. The beach is well kept. The pool is nice and was well heated. It does fill up quickly but you'll have that pretty much anywhere.
I would think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hollywood Beach

Address: 2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Hollywood Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New carpeting and chairs now in every room!Situated apart from the busy strip of tourist hotels near Fort Lauderdale, you will find a relaxing getaway at our casual, boutique-style hotel in Hollywood, Florida. Perfect for families and couples, and located between the Atlantic Ocean and the Intracoastal Waterway, the Hollywood Beach Marriott Hotel offers guests a dazzling South Florida oceanfront location, yet we are just an easy 6 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and 8 miles from Port Everglades. Featuring 229 South Floridian style guest rooms, this Hollywood beach resort boasts an array of amenities such as plush Marriott bedding, balconies and water views. Relax and bask in the sun at the beachfront pool before exploring the famous 2 1/2 mile long Broadwalk and its restaurants, cafes and nightlife. From productive meetings to stunning beach weddings, this Hollywood, FL hotel can easily accommodate your meeting and event needs. We look forward to your visit to the Hollywood Beach Marriott, a AAA Four-Diamond hotel in Hollywood, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.