We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Westin Diplomat is full, don't stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hollywood Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If Westin Diplomat is full, don't stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

It's only 2.5 miles away from the Westin, but it's not even close to being the same kind of hotel. I'm here on 3/27 for a conference and couldn't get into the conference hotel. Don't be confused - this is an older property that's been upgraded to be a borderline 4-star family vacation hotel. I got a $12 burger for lunch in the loud restaurant and it was terrible. I think the kithen is using some kind of "toasting oil" on the bread that leaves a bitter aftertate. The service was incredibly slow. The room is decent enough, but like most posters, I found the rooms to be small, but it was clean. The high-speed internet doesn't work. I called tech support last night and they said there was an issue, but at noon on 3/28 it's still out. The drive between the Westin and here isn't that bad, but you do have to put up with merging into crazy Sunday traffic with no traffic lights, lots of red-light cameras, and slow-driving floridians on the road. The Westin and Crown Plaza are much better choices. Pay more to stay where you really need to be.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    424
    133
    67
    48
See reviews for
349
393
41
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed at the Hollywood Marriott 3/23-3/26. The hotel was nice, but they nickel and dime you to death. It cost $19 a day to park your car, $7.00 a day to rent a beach chair . . . Come on! I'd rather stay at the Pelican Grand in FT Lauderdale anyday. OH and the air conditioning unit in the room was so loud, it woke me up at least 20 times every night. The beds looked comfortable, but looks are deceiving :(

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

My wife and I, father, brother and his wife recently stayed there and were accomodated with adjoining rooms. We were all treated very well by the very friendly and helpful staff. This was the third time in four years that we vacationed in Hollywood and stayed at the Marriott and will stay there again next time. It's not an economy hotel and we all don't mind paying a little more when staying at a nice place, great location and service. The rear of the hotel with the indoor / outdoor restaurant and pool and tiki bar is separated from the beach only by Hollywood's paver version of a boardwalk called the Broadwalk. We rent a car and primarily use the hotel because of it's location and proximity to Miami and Fort lauderdale attractions but look forward to returning in the evenings to visit the tiki bar and broadwalk and then again in the morning to breakfast out back and a walk on the broadwalk and occasionally a day on the beach. Finally, the cons for some would be small rooms, small balconies not facing the beach and a $17 parking fee in their garage.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay during a convention week. We were up on the 9th floor and had great views of the ocean. You can walk down the boardwalk to listen to music or to have a nice beverage. The Hotel could use alittle sprucing up but the room was clean and the staff will make you feel welcome. Pool area included iced water spray and watermelon water. Food at the restaurant was good. Jose was especially nice to us. Fun area for people watching. I will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We ended up staying at this hotel after leaving another hotel in the area at midnight because it was terrible! The lady at the front desk was so helpful when my husband called and booked a room. When we arrived she gave us a very nice room with ocean view for a very good rate as she said she wanted to make our stay in Hollywoood a good experience and so far it had not been. The room was so clean and nice. When we were walking through the lobby the next afternoon we noticed a free drink. We asked what it was and someone told us it was a non alcoholic Mohito. It was so good and refreshing. We had a great stay for 2 days before our cruise on the Oasis and for a few days after. Thanks to everyone that made our stay enjoyable.

PS we stayed here in Jan 2010 but it wouldn't let me add that date.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriottbeachfront, Manager at Marriott Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thanks everyone for your continued reviews. Some updates to let the world know about: Our exterior has been completely refreshed with new paint, and looks amazing! Our internet has been upgraded to now be even faster then ever. Plus, several other key upgrades are in process, so please visit us and see the enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed herein room 910 on 2/20/11 to 2/24/11 with my wife and 2 girls, ages 6 and 8. We were told we got lucky withthe weather, it was absolutly perfect 82 degrees and sunny!!!. The hotel is one of the nicer places to stay on the boardwalk,,right on the beach. Hotel rooms were a litte small (two full beds close together, no other sitting area to speak of and smallish balcony) but that is ok becasue we spent very little time in the room,,the room was t very clean, staff and service was very nice, pool was great. Hotel is located in a good spot on the board walk. I like Hollywood becasue it was mostly older set or families with younger children,,no springbreak crowds, no late night bar scene, very mellow the whole area was clean, no trash, no blaring rap music..a prefect short stay to recharge the batteries...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This was my second stay at this hotel in 2 years. The first experience here in 2009 was fabulous leading me to recommend it to my sister for a girl's getaway. The hotel was in the same condition. As others mention, it is an older property and I think they've done the best they can given the size, space, etc. The restaraunt is good - typical Marriott fare. The service was hit or miss. The last day we were there Ian in the restaraunt was by far the best staff member we encountered on this trip.The front desk staff was ok - definately didn't go out of their way to accomodate you. We had several requests and I am a Marriott Rewards member so it's usually no problem. Even a 1:00 check out was like pulling teeth. The concierge woman was the worst staff member we engaged with. we asked for suggestions for shopping - she pointed to the rack of maps and brochures on the wall and said " look there" . I tried another day to get directions to a nearby restaraunt and she said "it's right down the street" so I guess I was supposed to know which direction, how far, etc. Whatever.
The room is smaller. Bathroom is nice but if you have kids beware - all glass shower with slippery marble floors. The two double beds were tiny. Not the most comfortable marriott style beds I'm used to. Again if you have small kids BEWARE they are really high off the ground. We had to prop a bunch of pillows to make sure my 2 1/2 year old nephew didn't fall out.
The broadwalk is nice. The parking at $17 a day is ridiculous. Just make it part of the room rate if you must. It's hardly convenient to go outside, get in another elevator and find your car.
Beach cabanas and chairs are available for rent. The beach is well kept. The pool is nice and was well heated. It does fill up quickly but you'll have that pretty much anywhere.
I would think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
6.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#12 of 65 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#9 of 65 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
2.5 mi away
Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hollywood Beach

Address: 2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#11 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is in the air at the Hollywood Beach Marriott, a South Florida boutique hotel that is situated directly on the famed Hollywood Broadwalk and on the Atlantic Ocean. As the only Marriott hotel on the Broadwalk, and only five miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and eight miles from Port Everglades, this Hollywood Florida hotel that is on the beach is nestled away from the busy strip of tourist hotels near Fort Lauderdale, which captivates a true hometown, beach town experience for the best in accommodations. The Hollywood Broadwalk is rated as one of the best beach boardwalks by Travel + Leisure magazine and USA Today, offering almost three miles of strolling, biking, dining, and nightlife, all connecting to the hotel so you can walk to so many attractions. In walking distance, Florida action awaits you! Featuring 229 guest rooms lined with amazing water views, the Hollywood Beach Marriott also offers an indoor and outdoor restaurant to satisfy, plus a delightful beachfront pool and Jacuzzi for serenity. Casual and cool, we boast the perfect function space for your next beach Wedding, Mitzvah, or Corporate meeting. Whether on vacation or getting down to business, you can do it right in Hollywood, Florida ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hollywood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.