We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location, Great Bargain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Hollywood Gateway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2900 Polk Street, Hollywood, FL 33020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Tampa Bay
1 review
“Great Staff, Great Location, Great Bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I’m not sure I’ve ever written a review before, but my stay at this hotel was so pleasant and affordable I want to acknowledge the great experience I had. The most outstanding aspect of the hotel was the staff. In particular, Martha at the front desk was terrific. She was always warm and helpful. When I left some medicine behind in my room, she worked with me to arrange to have it sent to my home. She made what could have been a big problem for me easy to remedy. So thanks very much, Martha. I also want to say that every staff member I encountered - other front desk personnel, Paz (I think he’s a manager), and each housekeeper – were extremely warm, polite and helpful.

The hotel is undergoing renovation, so there’s a small amount of construction disorder on the property, but it isn’t affecting the rooms which are clean, spacious and in order. And again, the staff more than made up for this inconsequential temporary condition.

The only other problem which didn't inconvenience me was that the wireless internet doesn't work in all the rooms, so to get a strong signal, one has to go to the lobby. This was not a problem for me, but might be for someone who needs to use the internet in their room. As I understood the situation, if a guest discusses this need with the front desk, a room with a strong signal can be arranged.

I will recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Miami/Ft. Lauderdale area that’s looking for a great place to stay that’s centrally located (Hollywood Blvd and I-95) and an amazing bargain. Thanks to everyone at the Hollywood Gateway Inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    22
    16
    52
See reviews for
33
35
27
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

location, location, location for starters. Expedia travel service was very misleading on this hotel and this place in reality does not compare to that shown on the web site. It is in renovation, Expedia did not disclose this, nor does the web site for the hotel. Spend more, get more.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Upon arrival to the hotel it was found to be in ruinous condition, with trash and litter scattered throughout the property--there were even mattresses' hanging off of the balconies. In short, it is quite obvious that this property appears as if it is utilized as long term subsidized housing for the indigent, or for shorter term contracts of an hourly nature. I cannot emphasize enough how disgusting this property is.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Low price and very good service. Renovated room, clean, quiet place near everything!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

The front desk was incredibly helpful and friendly. They said ownership recently changed hands, and they are in the process of renovating the grounds, as well as the staff has changed. Reading some older reviews, I was cautious about coming here, but everything was put to ease once I got here. The name of the front desk manager is Livia. She was so incredibly nice and accommodating, I would recommend this place to anyone. I was in town for an audition and the hotel was located less than two blocks from the audition cite. Also very close to the beach and several local shops. Overall great value, great service, and made my trip to Florida very enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

This is the first time I've stayed at a public lodging in FL. I always stayed at my family's condo in South Beach. I had a spur of the moment 4 day business trip and the condo was booked. I had to go from S. Beach, Coconut Grove and all Ft Lauderdale areas. Very very clean, cheerful and incredibly helpful staff. I would give this place *****. BTW I have stayed at five star Hotels and for the price, location and customer service, I would recommend Hollywood Gateway Inn to anyone who wants quality and value. There is a nice sized pool. I was able to fit in an afternoon at a spa in Miami Shores that the staff helped me out with. -Thanks Doug and Company

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

i was in room 205 the room was very clean, the front desk young girl was very nice and with a great postive attitude keep her she was great with all that came in that nite while i was standing there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Gateway Inn

Address: 2900 Polk Street, Hollywood, FL 33020
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Gateway Inn is the prefect place to relax and rest up.The Newly Renovated Hollywood Gateway Inn is located in a wonderful location right off I-95 and within minutes of Fort Lauderdale international Airport, Port Everglades, Hollywood Beach, Downtown Hollywood.The property recently underwent full renovation and is a now a beautiful modern boutique property in the Greater Fort Lauderdale area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Gateway Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.