We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Stirling Rd, Hollywood, FL 33020   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #35 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night prior to leaving for a cruise the next day. We knew we wouldn't be at the hotel much so we had two criteria - a good price and a shuttle. Perfect.

The shuttle was very timely in picking us up from the airport which was nice since we had to wake up at 4am to get to our flight and just wanted to relax by the pool. The pool was extremely quiet so we were able to relax for a little while after getting some lunch at Chipotle - which is super close. We wanted to go out at night to celebrate my birthday which was that night so we asked the front desk about local bars/restaurants/places to visit and transportation cost. This they were right on about. The one person at the front desk was extremely knowledgeable with recommendations, area bars/restaurants, and taxi fare.

The shuttle provided to the cruise port was also great. The shuttle from the cruise on our return back to the airport was not very good though. For some reason we were waiting for 45 minutes to get picked up. The shuttle driver was more than nice when he picked us up and was extremely friendly. We were not in a rush to get to the airport but the delay in getting picked up was frustrated.

The hotel is not fancy but our room was very clean and served our purpose. The safe was good, the room was clean... that's all we needed. Yes there are no interior halls and the exterior is a little run down. I would not stay for more than two nights but I was pleased with our experience overall. Breakfast is decent.

Oh - it was strange to see an employee getting food out of the garbage to feed to the birds...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Amanda T,

Thank you for your recent review of Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port South on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. I am happy to read that we were able to be a part of your vacation and your birthday. It is one of the best parts of this job seeing guests creating lasting memories at our hotel. I am equally delighted to read that you found us a great value. We work hard every day making sure all our guests feel as you do. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team members. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    167
    125
    73
    94
See reviews for
152
226
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Dear lord, this is the hotel the Comfort Inn chain forgot about. They need to thoroughly clean, sanitize and remodel this thing. We stayed here twice on both ends of a trip to the Dominican Republic. The pros - it was inexpensive, and includes an airport shuttle and breakfast. Also, while we had issues with being too near smokers or being assigned a smoking room, the hotel staff took the time to make things right eventually. It is also near a K-Mart, Taco Bell, McDonalds and Chipotle.
The cons - both rooms were dirty. The carpeting is stained. The hotel does not have interior hallways, so the rooms are noisy. Towels and bedding had hairs on them. The shower curtain had hair and spots of mold and mildew growing on it. Smokers and smoking everywhere.

If there ever is a next time in Ft Lauderdale, we will not be using this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Moongidget,

Thank you for your recent review of Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port South on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. I am deeply disturbed by your review. I can assure you that this not the typical guest experience at our hotel. We take great pride in going above and beyond ensuring all guests receive the best customer service Ft. Lauderdale has to offer. It seems that we not only failed to live up to your expectations, but the expectations we set for ourselves and for that I am truly sorry. My email is provided below if you would like to reach out to me and discuss this matter in more detail. Once again you have my sincere apology and if given another chance I am sure we could provide the experience you were expecting.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P.R.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice people in the front desk. The hotel needs remodelation is old and need to be paint. The room does not have a chest for the clothes and the carpet was dirty. I will not recomend this hotel unless they made an emergency face lift. The bed was in good conditions. We stayed three nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Cuchi99,

The staff and management at Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port South would like to convey our thanks for writing a review about your experiences at our hotel. I am delighted to read that you found the staff at the front desk to be friendly and the beds to be comfortable. We are in the process of updating our rooms. I am sure if given another chance we could exceed your expectations. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Couldn't fault the hotel . Great rooms , marvellous breakfast served around the pool & spacious rooms . Best of all were the staff and the fact we could print off boarding passes free of charge. An outstanding member of staff was Sharika . Sensing I was nervous she sorted all my concerns out in a most pleasant way . I was left feeling certain if anything went wrong Sharika would sort it out.
Our in room safe needed new batteries and the job was done immediately I reported it .
Well done Comfort Inn ! You seemed really busy and you deserved to be .

Room Tip: No room issues as far as I could see anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Penny W,

Everyone at Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port South would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule and posting such a flattering review of our property on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to read that you found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass along all your kind words to our team members. By the same token, I am delighted to read that our complimentary breakfast was so well received. It is one of the best parts of this job seeing guests laughing and enjoying breakfast by the pool every morning. It is a great way to start the day. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was the least expensive motel that was fairly close to the airport. We had an overnight stay between our flights from CA and on to Haiti the next morning. The primary problem we encountered was with the airport pickup. I called the motel as we got our bags, were told to wait at the island outside, got there 3 min later, and waited 45 min. In the meantime, various other hotel vans appeared and picked up everyone else. Some came by 3 times. I called once after 20 min and was told the driver was in the airport and would be right there. No van. I called after 45 min and was told that the driver didn't see us and is back at the motel and we should take a cab and they would pay me back. We did that, got no apology (but did get reimbursed), and thus arrived much later than we expected, anticipating a 4am wake up in the morning.

The motel is pretty much a dump. The "grill" was out of food, so we had to buy takeout at Taco Bell.

The first shuttle is at 5am, which is a bit nervous-making when it's full and you have a 6:50 international flight. We arrived in time, but if we hadn't had priority in the security line, it would have been a close call.

We will find another motel for our next trip to Haiti, probably one of those that had 3 shuttles show up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear AnitaMW,

Thank you for your recent review of Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port South on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. You have my sincere apology that you had to wait so long for the shuttle. As you can see from other reviews this is not the norm. It seems in your case we not only failed to live up to your expectations, but the ones we set for ourselves and for that I am truly sorry. I will discuss your review with our shuttle company to make sure this does not happen again to other guests. Thank you again and we hope you will give us another chance the next time you travel to Ft. Lauderdale, Florida.

Sincerely,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

There were 10 people coming from all parts of the US to go on a cruise. After a call to the hotel, from the airport, we were picked up in about 15 minutes. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but withing walking distance are a few fast food places such as McDonalds and Taco Bell. The large mall is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel for your last minute shopping items. Front desk people were very polite and accomodating. The hotel bar serves some sandwiches if needed. The morning breakfast is pretty good. Much more than a continen breakfast. We told the desk clerk the name of our ship upon check-in and she went to a book listing all of the cruise lines. She told us when our shuttle would leave for the cruise terminal. We did not expect the Ritz, when they charge less than $90 for the night, breakfast, pickup at the airport and delivery to the cruise terminal. Room was satisfactory. If going on a cruise out of Ft. Lauderdale, I would use the Comfort Inn again. It certainly served our purpose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear traveler1937,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on Trip Advisor about your experiences at our hotel. We here at Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port love seeing guests reviews of their experiences at our hotel posted online. I am delighted to read that our staff and shuttle services were so well received. We work hard every day to ensue all our guests shares your feelings towards the hotel. Thank you again and think of us the next time you travel to Ft. Lauderdale for a vacation.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Inn Airport/Cruise Port South before and after our recent cruise. An older facility, smaller rooms but clean, great free shuttle service to and from airport and cruise port, great breakfast and great pool/meeting area. The pool area is a great gathering area to meet and greet your fellow cruisers. Almost everyone staying at the hotel were cruisers. We figured we saved at least $100 by taking advantage of their free shuttles. The shuttles were all very timely and a great service. All personnel were very friendly and very willing to please. Hotel is within walking distance of a shopping center and K-Mart. Taco Bell, McDonald's, BurgerKing, Wendy's, Chapolte's Mexican and the old time Dining Car Resturants are all within walking distance. Thank you for a great stay. Will definitely stay at this facility when cruising out of Ft. Lauderdale again.

Room Tip: Rooms were on the 2nd and 4th floors overlooking the parking lot--very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear MadSyd2,

The staff and management at Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port South would like to thank you for such a glowing review posted on Trip Advisor. I am glad to read that all the free amenities we offer were so well received. We pride ourselves in making sure all our guests share your feelings towards the staff and the hotel. I am equally delighted you were able to meet other cruise goes at the pool area. Every day I see people laughing and sharing stories of adventures and travels by the pool. It is what makes this hotel so unique. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you again and think of us the next time you travel to Ft. Lauderdale for a vacation.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South

Address: 2520 Stirling Rd, Hollywood, FL 33020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Amex, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South Hotel Hollywood
Comfort Inn Hollywood
Hollywood Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.