We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay for pre and after cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Stirling Rd, Hollywood, FL 33020-1122 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay for pre and after cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It's not too fancy but it's a good place to lay your head before and after a cruise - they are very experienced with getting you to your cruise port and picking you up ... from Fort Lauderdale and Miami Ports! All the employee's work very hard and long hours and still keep a smile on their face.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear retired1103,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on Trip Advisor about your experiences at our hotel. We here at Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port love seeing guests responses posted online. I am delighted to read that you found the shuttle service were so well received. We work hard every day making sure guests get picked up from the airport and taken to the cruise port the next day in a timely fashion. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    169
    128
    72
    97
See reviews for
157
228
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My friend and I were booked in at this hotel as we were going on a Panama Cruise with Island Princess lines. This was the designated hotel.
What a dump. The sink had a large crack in it. The room smelled musty and the air conditioner was on 24/7 with no off switch that worked. The bedspreads looked like they had been brought in second hand. It sounded like the people in the next room were right beside us in our room.
Honestly, for a hotel that is designated as a stop over before sailing, it is disgusting. I think the owner should take some of the money they are getting from the Travel Agents and upgrade this place. A new paint job would be a good start and maybe an up todate flat screen tv that would leave some room for the guests things on the counter.
Our unit had a large cabinet to hold the tv. The cupboards had been ripped off the cabinet and you could see where there once was a fridge.
I would not recommend this hell hole to anyone and believe me I know alot of travellers.
We were supposed to get a shuttle from the airport but we waited for 1 hour and I phoned the hotel again and was told we were probably standing in the wrong place. I looked at the sign and it said pick up and shuttles to hotels. We got so tired of waiting we hailed a cab. When we checked in I told the desk clerk what had happened and she again said we were probably standing at the wrong place. grrrrrrrrr
No use complaining to the front desk people because they are just the employees and the manager wasn't anywhere around.

Room Tip: Just go to another hotel such as La Quinta that was recommended to us but our travel agent had alrea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear sunseeker123,

Thank you for your recent review of Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port South on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. You have my sincere apology that the room did not meet your standards. Was the issue you faced with the room reported to the front desk? If so, we would have been happy to move you to another room. Guest feedback is important because it shows us areas where we are doing well and areas where we need improvement. If you would like to discuss the matter in more detail my email is provided below. Thank you again and we hope you will give us another chance the next time you travel to Ft. Lauderdale, Florida.

Sincerely,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night before we departed on a cruise. I was very pleased overall with the service this hotel provided. The free airport shuttle is a nice benefit, particularly given that the hotel is several miles from the airport, which would make a taxi expensive. The entire staff was very pleasant and cooperative, and particularly helpful in assisting with the free transport to the cruise port for the next morning.

The hotel itself was what one would expect for a facility at this relatively low price point -- nothing fancy, but quite adequate. The bed was comfortable. Because we arrived late and did not have a car, I was pleased to discover that there were several fast food places to eat within walking distance, as well as a shopping center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear dpster,

Thank you for your recent review of Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port South on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. I am delighted to read that you found all the services we offer to be excellent. We work hard every day making sure guests get picked up at the airport fast and taken to the cruise port the next day promptly. I am also happy to read that you found the entire staff to be very pleasant and cooperative. I will be sure to share all you kind words with them. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were looking for a pre-cruise and post-cruise hotel so we used TripAdvisor to find something that would work. Many of the hotels in this area run $150+ so when I saw the $99 rate I looked further. Reviews indicated it was adequate - and that's what it was, adequate. As others have noted, it needs some fixing up - painted over cracks in the walls, holes in the carpet, hard to shut doors just to name a few. The breakfast, again, was adequate.

My big complaint was the post-cruise experience. After disembarking and collecting our luggage, I called for pickup. Several more calls and almost two hours later, we finally were able to get a ride. Once at the hotel, we were informed that our rooms would not be ready for at least 3 hours (had I known I might have booked a local excursion). As it turned out it was well over 4 hours before we got our rooms.

Side note - there is a Taco Bell and McDonald's right next door but no close restaurants. There is also a strip mall with Big Lots and a sporting goods store behind them. It helped us to pass the time while waiting to get into our rooms.

The big plus for this property, the people. Eddie & Sue at the front desk were good and tried to be as helpful as possible. The bellman was also courteous and helpful in getting our bags to and from the room - we had 4 couples so it was a lot of baggage.

Would I stay there again? I probably would not. Spending a whole day waiting on this hotel was not what I had in mind. I'll pay more next time for a nicer place.

Room Tip: This is a 3 story property running length-wise away from the office. Look for rooms numbered in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Howard4094,

The staff and management at Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port South would like to thank you for the review posted on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to read that you found all our team members to be courteous and helpful. Every day I see them go above and beyond making sure all our guests receive the best customer service Ft. Lauderdale has to offer. In contrast, I am disappointed to read that you had shuttle problems returning to the hotel. The port can get quite hectic when we have 8 ships departing. We do our best to make sure all our guests get picked up promptly, but in your case we failed you and for that you have my apology. Thank you again and if given another try I am sure we could exceed your expectations.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall a good stay. the staff was great and Kim the bartender was the best. The hotel could use a little updateing and some detailing here and there. The on site snack bar served very basic but good food. The continental breakfast was good also, the toaster took forever to toast( one of those details ) all things being said we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Eric B,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on Trip Advisor about your experiences at our hotel. We here at Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port love seeing guests responses posted online. I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be great. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to them. I am equally delighted that you found the new grill we just opened to server good food. It is a great place to get a little comfort food after a long day of traveling. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our flight had been delayed and we did not arrive in Fort Lauderdale until midnight. When I called for the complimentary shuttle the hotel informed me that the shuttle stops running at 11pm. On the Comfort Inn site it t states Free Airport Transportation without any time constraints. I can not review this hotel completely due to waiting for alternative transportation to the hotel.
We did not arrive to the Comfort Inn until approximately 2am. We left early that same morning. Also we were traveling with a two year old grandbaby and 2am in the morning was not a fun time...

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We arrived in Ft. Lauderdale and had to stay overnight to catch a morning flight to Cuba. Even though we called for a shuttle, there was already one waiting which we were able to catch. Although the room and the door was a little dated and worn the room was comfortable. The Breakfast was fine with both an indoor and outdoor area to eat. The front desk staff was friendly and prompt even when dealing with large cruise crowds. The shuttle back to the airport was again prompt and on time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear jbs713,

I am very happy you find all the staff and shuttle services to be top tier here at Comfort Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port South. We pride ourselves in getting guests to and from the airport promptly. I know from personal experience how important these services can be to a weary traveler. Every day we strive to ensure our transportation runs smoothly and efficiently.
Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guests.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South

Address: 2520 Stirling Rd, Hollywood, FL 33020-1122 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport / Cruise Port South Hotel Hollywood
Comfort Inn Hollywood
Hollywood Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.