We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A laidback oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riptide Hotel

Save Saved
You added Riptide Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riptide Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Lund
1 review
“A laidback oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

The Riptide is a nice laidback place to stay.Very friendly people who really get out of their way to help you with everything. Nice and clean rooms, a small but well equipped kitchen. Parking is reserved for quests and you can borrow beachtowels, chairs and bicycles free of charge.For us 50+ was the entertainment in the Tiki bar perfect, we knew all the lyrics!!
The location is the best, you cross the broadwalk ond you´re on the beautiful beach.We will be back!!

Christel & Janne from Sweden

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    56
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
55
102
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We spent 3 days at the Riptide - other reviews are generally accurate, but we noticed a few cracks in the facade. Tiki Hut soloist was marginal and inescapable - 2 of 4 bikes were not ready to ride - room was small - location good, staff friendly - Tiki Hut prices a little high. Tripadvisor rating a little overstated.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

The folks at the Riptide are friendly, friendly, and more friendly. We had a wonderful time, and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The location is great, the atmosphere is marvelous, and everyone goes out of their way to make you feel at home. Great, little hotel at a great location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Riptide Hotel
I can honestly recommend this hotel for several reasons.
For nr 1 I put the wonderful people that run the hotel.
The owner had reserved a parking and came out straight away and asked if we need assistance or something.
Then a lovely woman gave us our key and told us that we are free to use their computer with Internet and also lots of movies, both dvd and vcr that are free to borrow.
A very friendly and nice room service lady made the cherry on the top as she both was very nice and funny.
The Hotel is placed right on the beach and there is no words to describe it how wonderful it is to wake up in the morning and see the sun slowly rise from Atlantic Ocean.
The room was absolutely perfect.
We all know when we build our own rooms that it’s not that easy.
Well, Riptide has managed to build rooms with a wonderful style which make them both luxury and cozy.
They also have a very nice Tiki bar with live music and also great people that worked in the bar.
Riptide is absolutely a Hotel that I can recommend and I will spend
many vacations there.

Ron Westerlund
Sweden

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Stayed there 3 weeks ago, 3 nites, great place,right on beach, great people & bar, you will love it, 15 rooms,very clean, free parking,free use of bikes,etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Riptide for the Hollywood Beach Clambake and enjoyed every minute!! The perfect location-beachfront, beautiful views, easy access to activities and dining on the Broadwalk! The staff were excellent-friendly and accommodating. Parking was handy and they made sure spots were saved for guests. The hotel offered free use of anything you could need to enjoy the beach and the area. The Tiki Bar and live music was unbeatable. We can't wait to get back!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k.c.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

My husband and I are very no frills. We want beach, good people, clean room and fun, this place had all that, it was AWESOME!! It is a small 13 room hotel that gives the best beach vibe with the Tiki Bar and the live music. The rooms are just right with the kitchen. The staff was more than accomadating and by the time you leave you feel like you have made some really great friends. Great location, within walking distance of many great things. It really is right on the beach and with the complimentary bikes, beach chairs, boogie boards, grills and parking we felt like we could not have made a better choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riptide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Hotel

Address: 2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riptide Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riptide Hotel Tiki Bar & Restaurant is an oceanfront hotel located in beautiful Hollywood Beach. We offer Live Music daily from 1pm-9pm at our Tiki Bar. We recently opened our Restaurant and serve cold & hot sandwiches, wraps, salads, & appetizers. Our Tiki Bar is the perfect place to relax, have a cold drink and a meal, listen to our talented Musicians and soak up the sun and gorgeous views of the best beach on the East Coast. Our rooms are simply furnished with kitchens containing all the glass & cookware essentials, flat screen TV’s with cable and DVD players, WiFi, and more. We have many complimentary amenities available to our guests such as bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Riptide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riptide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.