We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riptide Hotel

Save Saved
You added Riptide Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riptide Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love, love, love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This place is great. Right on the broad walk and beach this is an older inn that has been upgraded. All the units have kitchen facilities so if you want to avoid eating out you can make all your own meals here. We had are entire wedding party stay here, 16 rooms of the 28 available. All our guests are planning a return trip to this place! The staff is great, the prices are great and the location is one of the best in south Florida! I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Room 15 is a one bedroom suite with an ocean view and a walk in closet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    56
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
56
103
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petrozavodsk, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We've been staying in Riptide in April 2014 for 13 nights. We occupied oceanfront room Nr.8 on the upper floor of South building with queen bed and sofa and stuunning veiw from the window. The beach was just few steps in front across the Hollywood Boardwalk. Live music and noise from Tiki Bar didn't annoyed us too much because we went to sleep late. The atmosphere in the bar was really lively and all staff was friendly and helpfull. For lunch and dinner I recommend the Mariott restaraunt which is very close to Roptide, only 3 min to walk. Hollywood Beach and Boardwalk itself is a good place to get sun, walking, jogging and biking. The nearest big places for shopping are Aventura Mall of Suuny Isles and Galleria of Ft. Lauderdale.
In total, I can say that Riptide Hotel is simple but pretty good place to get fun in Florida. We enjoyed our staying there very much.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room Nr.8 in South Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great location. Everything else was acceptable except the hotel bar staff. I found the majority of the staff to be snobby at best. After 7 days at the hotel with 3 groups of friends we all came to the same conclusion. The cleaning lady and the front desk clerk we friendly, pricing was great, beds were a little hard, rooms were clean, and the hotel is in a great location.

Room Tip: Visit ricks just a short stroll down the beach for the biggest shrimp cocktail I've ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

For an expensive and busy area, this hotel was a good value. Accommodations were good, not spectacular, though the staff was very friendly and helpful. The A/C in the room was exceptionally loud but kept the room nice and cool. The little kitchen area, with fridge, stove, microwave and coffeemaker - even dishes and utensils - was very appreciated. Nice vibe and service at the outdoor tiki bar, decent prices on drinks. Though they advertised live music every night - one of the reasons I booked the hotel - both nights we were there (Friday & Saturday) it was canceled due to rain earlier in the day…though the weather was totally clear after 6PM both nights. Hmmm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Sandwich is delicious tuna sandwich and their salads. did not have anything from the menu not delish. We are regulars and Tarah is a great bartender always flashed a big smile. Great prices and great views over ice cold drinks served with a smile. Live music all day everyday

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Soto, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place has bare essentials but the location and view cannot be beat.

Breakfast (not free) is available at around $10. If you prefer to sip on coffee while watching the beautiful sunrise, I suggest you bring your own. The room had a pot but no coffee! Since the office didn't open until 8:00 or a little after, the coffee wasn't ready until 8:30 am. People were standing in line waiting.

I suggest the office open earlier or invest in a Bunn!

The Tiki hour happy our was great. Another time, bartender service was lacking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Riptide is a classic beachfront hotel, complete with Tiki Bar and daily musical entertainment for your beach vacation pleasure.

Don't expect fancy, its not.. expect clean, it is.
Don't expect stuffy (go a little further north up the Broadwalk for that,) expect friendly, it is..
On the other hand, don't expect top shelf liquor, there is none.. expect beer and wine and tasty frozen drinks, they got that handled..

They have breakfast, lunch and snacks at the bar, good selection, freshly cooked and table service on the patio as well. Try the guacamole, its freshly made and delicious.

For those that are so inclined, there are a few bicycles and chairs you can use for a morning ride or to sit on the beach. They are free, and as such, may or may not serve your purpose.. YMMV.

There is what is billed on the website, a "Gift Shop".. umm, no.. its a glass cabinet with a few items for sale. Grab a tank top for the ladies, guys- sorry, NO tanks for you!.. only T shirts.. ?? Mgmt: Seriously?.. what is that all about?

Oh yeah, it mentions scuba diving on the website.. However, not at the Riptide; you are on your own.
Mgmt: Maybe you can hook up with the dive shop over in Dania and actually be able to offer a deal to guests?
Another note to Mgmt: Please fix the in-room safes...

On any given day, you will find a great mix of locals, regulars and hotel patrons enjoying a break from the sun, enjoying a snack, or meeting up after work at the Tiki, its a fun crowd. Or if you like, sit at a table on the Broadwalk just feet from the sand and watch the surf, the people or the clouds...

Room Tip: Parking can be tight at times, as a rule, it's 1 car per room, ask about overflow parking right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riptide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Hotel

Address: 2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riptide Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riptide Hotel Tiki Bar & Restaurant is an oceanfront hotel located in beautiful Hollywood Beach. We offer Live Music daily from 1pm-9pm at our Tiki Bar. We recently opened our Restaurant and serve cold & hot sandwiches, wraps, salads, & appetizers. Our Tiki Bar is the perfect place to relax, have a cold drink and a meal, listen to our talented Musicians and soak up the sun and gorgeous views of the best beach on the East Coast. Our rooms are simply furnished with kitchens containing all the glass & cookware essentials, flat screen TV’s with cable and DVD players, WiFi, and more. We have many complimentary amenities available to our guests such as bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Riptide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riptide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.