We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look No Farther ~ This is THE place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riptide Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riptide Hotel to your Saves list
Riptide Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Kokomo, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Look No Farther ~ This is THE place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our teenager & college student from December 19th - December 24th, 2013. It was the perfect place for us to stay. We stayed in the building farthest from the office and tiki bar area in room #23. Our room was situated on a corner opposite and farthest away from the office & tiki bar area. The awesome tiki bar is located in front of the main office and has a small location for musicians to perform. The acts performed music from musicians such as; Van Morrison, Jimmy Buffet, etc. The bar area draws a smaller crowd during the day that grows large during "Happy Hour(s)" in the evening. The crowd seemed to dwindle before 10pm at night. The majority of people in the bar area appeared to be 35-70 years of age. The patrons were never obnoxious, rowdy or inappropriate. Loud noise was never a problem for us. We didn't spend much time in our room other than sleeping & showering because the weather was wonderful with an average of lie 80's every day. I liked the fact that our room had 2 entry doors. One of the doors is on the side where you park which is nice for unloading and loading your luggage. The other door opens to a view of the boardwalk & beach. The room was spacious and very clean. The floors are tile which give the room a fresh feel versus carpeting which grosses me out in most hotels had a small modernized kitchen that contained black and stainless steel appliances; full size refrigerator, stove & microwave. It was stocked with dish soap, sponge, dish cloths & towels, paper towels, silverware, dishes, glassware & stemware, ice trays, etc. The sleeping area of the room contains; large windows with a beautiful view of the boardwalk and beach.a love seat with a pullout bed and 2 double/queen size beds, a table with 4 chairs, a nightstand, dresser & large flat screen tv with a DVD player. The bathroom was small, clean and basic. There is no bath tub only a shower. I loved the fact that guests may borrow dvd's, beach chairs, umbrellas & bikes free of charge. The staff was super friendly. I highly recommend The Riptide!!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Stephanie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us!

I am glad that you and your family had a good time here and we certainly hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Noy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    63
    24
    9
    10
See reviews for
67
104
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigamme, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I loved the stay and the employees are the best hands down.The bartenders Rocky and Princess was exciting and full of energy, i couldn't connect with Tarah the blonde bartender because she gets irritated at people for not wanting whine based liquors. i think that should be the first thing you tell people before they but a $8 mixed drink other then that incident she was nice for the most part. Also i really thought the front office girl christine and guy jean were perfect for the office atmosphere, they kept smiles on at all times and went out of there way to keep all the customers happy.of course the big guy Tony OR Tommy was great i dont know wat his job title is but he cooks ,bar back and i think hes the security because he makes sure the whole hotel is protected at all times, he comes in with a big smile and leaves with one the girls have nothing to worry about when the big guys on patrol lol. there was another guy there with long hair who also worked very hard but i didn't get a chance to speak with him i saw him set up early in the morning but when we got back later that day he was still working .The staff really does work all day and hard. Couple of things is rooms need to be updated rust on door handles and inside rooms old furniture problems after problems with the tv and wireless internet.i own a buisness and if you offer free wifi i think the managers should make sure it works I had to go out to the marriot. all tv's should have matching remotes because a panasonic tv with a zenith remote is not attractive it looks like a situation that was not taken seriously. One more problem i have is the big holes in the tables by the grill how long do you let them deteriorate before you actually spend a hundred bucks on new( wooden) tables.

Room Tip: find one with matching remotes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Chad,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a detailed & honest review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are really sorry to hear about the incident that occurred at the bar, our license only allows us to serve beer, wine and wine based frozen cocktails which is written on our menus. I apologize for the miscommunication. We are currently planning for a renovation that will update our rooms and patio area with more features for our guests. I do apologize for the issues with internet during your stay, we have now taken the necessary steps to correct our WIFI system.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly in the future for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location right on the promenade, great for early morning walk, breakfast etc.
Room vey basic, beds hard and lumpy, as we're the pillows.
Guy at reception on checking in not very helpful.
Shower tray dirty, toilet seat scratched.
Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Cambo2910,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,

We agree, the location is simply something you cannot beat.

We do apologize you had a negative experience with your room accommodations.
As for your comments on the furniture, we are currently looking into purchasing more comfortable beds as well as pillows.
If you should choose to stay with us again please contact me directly at 954-921-7667 and we will assure your next stay is much more enjoyable.

Best regards,
Jeremy Noy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poinciana, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This little hotel is right on the Broadwalk of Hollywood Florida! The rooms were adequate and the Tiki Bar was an added extra. It was nice to be right on the water, and be able to walk the Broadwalk every day. The Tiki Bar shut down every night at 9pm, so as not to disturb the guests with loud revelers. The staff was pleasant and very accommodating. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Frank D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We realize that guests come first so we always try to shut the bar down at an appropriate time.
We take pride in our friendly and accomodating staff and we are always happy to hear that you were treated well during your stay.

We hope to see you in the near future!

Best regards,
Jeremy Noy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A local's tiki bar hangout with nightly live music for your sunset enjoyment. Rooms are comfortable and amply equipped for both self catering or just a quick shower for a quicker return to 'Broadwalk' life - day or night beachlife that cannot be beat.

Hollywood Beach is that ocean frontage you've been searching for without the glitz, overcrowding, or overdressed party goers of more popular beaches to the north or south. Riptide provides a casual, get comfy with local scene, beach front getaway at most reasonable rates. Local tiki bar and music provide a quick start to a 'get ready to relax' week or weekend. Easy walk to a variety of restaurants, from quick ocean front dining, to foodie pleasing restaurants on both ocean frontage and intra-coastal waterway.

Room Tip: Ocean front okay but not essential for maximum enjoyment. All rooms are only steps to Hollywood'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
beachaloperon,


Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We agree, there is something very charming about Hollywood Beach that you just cannot get enough of!

We hope you will come back and stay with us for any future trips you have in mind!

Best Regards,
Jeremy Noy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Spent a weekend here and found it very enjoyable, old Florida without a lot of modern hype.
Nice clean room, very friendly staff (hotel & bar), free parking, great view, great location.
Everything we needed for a great stay In Hollywood, we will return for our "same time next year" get together.
greg

Room Tip: Stay in north room(s) if you want to nap in the afternoon, away from the fun but noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Greg,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us!

We look forward to seeing you "same time next year"

Best Regards,

Jeremy Noy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It is very nice location, you park your car and do not have to drive until you leave. Walking distance to the typical bars and elegant restaurants (like Marriot).
The beach is beautiful, they provide you with chairs or you can bring your own.
It has a nice Tiki Bar, with live music since 12:00 noon. Kitchen is OK and drinks at reasonable price.
It is all you need for a nice week end.

Room Tip: You can ask for an ocean view room, but it is not necessary, just go out to the front yard and you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Oscar,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Jeremy Noy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riptide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Hotel

Address: 2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riptide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riptide Hotel Tiki Bar & Restaurant is an oceanfront hotel located on the broadwalk in beautiful Hollywood Beach. We offer Live Music daily from 1pm-9pm at our Tiki Bar. It is the perfect place to relax, have a cold drink and a meal, listen to our talented Musicians and soak up the sun and gorgeous views of the best beach on the East Coast. Our rooms are simply furnished with kitchens containing all the glass & cookware essentials, flat screen TV's with cable and DVD players, WiFi, and more. We have many complimentary amenities available to our guests such as bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riptide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riptide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.