We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean front nostalgia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riptide Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riptide Hotel to your Saves list
Riptide Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Delaware, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ocean front nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here several nights for a short mid-winter getaway. The room was perfect for us- minikitchen, 2 comfortable beds and clean bathroom. The real draw is the tiki bar and 30yard walk to the ocean. The locals raved about the food and drinks (rare, considering the tourist attraction.) The boardwalk is straight out of the 70s, yet offers enough people watching and kitschy shops to keep your attention. We had a blast and will continue to make Riptide our long weekend destination.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing The Riptide Hotel for your stay in Hollywood Beach and for taking time to write this amazing review about us!

I am looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Noy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    56
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
57
103
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We live in AZ and were looking for a relaxing place on the beach but also near enough places so that our 3 young adult kids could take off ! Our room was the northside overlooking the ocean. The room was very clean and smelled good. (Which was very important to me). The staff allowed my friend to come earlier and stack up the kitchen for us. They have bikes, chairs for the beach and a bbq you can use for lunch. Everything we needed was there! Loved this place..Gail K.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Gail thank you for writing a review on your stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here two nights and never wanted to leave! Very clean and at home feeling,there is a nice tiki bar right outside our room and someone played music every night at the bar. The beach is just steps from your room and is clean and clear. good snorkeling for shells. The boardwalk has all kinds of places to eat and get good drinks!!! Very good for couples

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Jasper thank you so much for choosing us for your stay in Hollywood and for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband & I stayed here recently for my 28th bday. We absolutely loved it. Very home-like feel, conveniently walk to the beach & board walk & the bar just outside our room was great as was the service. I would however expand on the hours of the bar. The only bad expereince that pretty much ruined our time was the beyond Obnoxious wife or relative of the owner. She needs to stay off property & not ruin it. Just thinking of her behavior, her attitude & words makes my blood boil to this ver day (& its been 2 months since we stayed here). Besides that heartless "lady" everything else was great!

Room Tip: First floor was great!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Sandrarella,

Thank you for your review. I do apologize for any events that may have negatively impacted your stay with us. Please give me a call regarding what happened during your stay, because the owners of the establishment & their family members have not been in town for many months.

Best Regards,
Lauren G
(954)921-7667
lauren@riptidehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had an amazing stay there a littlewhile back with 3 friends,great location and the whole ambience was amazing, we left south beach to comehere and totally loved it. I work in travel back in the U.K for a high end holiday company so this was seen with open eyes. you must go here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Peter O,

Thank you very much for your review! We agree there must be something in the air on this beautiful beach that you can’t help but get caught up in. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lauren G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldfield,IA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

You are literally right on the beach! A nice little tiki bar open all day with good food. Grocery and convenience stores are not close by so if you don't want to buy soda and water from the bar then make sure you bring plenty with you (we did not have a vehicle with us). Broadwalk is right in front of hotel with some wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Our room had a nice kitchen with full sized appliances. Our room had an incredible view and was plenty spacious for 4 adults. I will definitely stay here again if I have the chance.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Allieb68,

Thank you for taking the time to writing a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you in the near future!

Best Regards,
Lauren G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Riptide for just one night, prior to driving down to Key Largo last November. This place was a very pleasant surprise. The location is fantastic, the rooms are huge, and the staff was very friendly!

I wish that we could have stayed longer. As a matter of fact, we might plan another trip to Florida, and make this our primary destination!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear joanskid,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us. We would be honored if you would choose to make us your main Florida destination! Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly for your future travel plans.

Best Regards,
Lauren G
lauren@riptidehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riptide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Hotel

Address: 2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riptide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riptide Hotel Tiki Bar & Restaurant is an oceanfront hotel located in beautiful Hollywood Beach. We offer Live Music daily from 1pm-9pm at our Tiki Bar. We recently opened our Restaurant and serve cold & hot sandwiches, wraps, salads, & appetizers. Our Tiki Bar is the perfect place to relax, have a cold drink and a meal, listen to our talented Musicians and soak up the sun and gorgeous views of the best beach on the East Coast. Our rooms are simply furnished with kitchens containing all the glass & cookware essentials, flat screen TV’s with cable and DVD players, WiFi, and more. We have many complimentary amenities available to our guests such as bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Riptide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riptide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.