We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Gets Better and Better-Can't wait to return to RIPTIDE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riptide Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riptide Hotel to your Saves list
Riptide Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
PA.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Only Gets Better and Better-Can't wait to return to RIPTIDE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is my 2nd visit to the Riptide, 1st time with the new management. The improvements were noticeable from check-in to check-out. We arrived before the 3pm check-in time and was able to get into our room early. We had stopped for some groceries before our arrival, and was pleasantly surprised when Chris helped us carry our luggage and groceries to our 2nd floor room. The room was small and old, but clean. The bathroom was the biggest disappointment. It was very small, with no electrical outlets for a blow dryer. The kitchen set-up was very nice, with a coffee pot, filters, a full size fridge, and microwave. Since we fly in from PA., the use of the bikes (only 2 so get them early) and the beach chairs (need new ones, pretty old and broken) was a nice surprise, and we took advantage of them everyday.
Now for the best part and main reason we stay at the Riptide. The Tiki bar and music! They have GREAT live music from 1 pm - till 9 pm everyday! We enjoyed ordering lunch from their full menu, having Tony cook the best burgers & wings on the grill, right in front of us. Bartender Rocky would serve us our Corona Lights and join us in conversation. Tarah, the other great bartender told us of all the new upgrades coming to the Riptide in the future, including breakfast. Happy Hour was always a fun time, with the locals treating us as friends.
We will definitely be back to see what new improvements are coming to the Riptide, including the breakfast!
Lisa-front desk, Tarah & Rocky-bartenders, Tony-chef and Chris-hotel help.....you guys ROCK!
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We enjoy the south building, with the music, tiki bar and beach steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear stusmomPA_,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It makes us feel so good when guests that have stayed in the past notice the changes we are making. I do apologize for the condition of the beach chairs and limited supply of the bicycles during your stay. We have corrected that and purchased more chairs and bicycles so they are more available for the guests needs. I do apologize for the problem with the outlet in the bathroom; we do offer in every room a blow-dryer for the guests use and are repairing the wiring in some bathrooms that need updating. Thank you for your patience & understanding while we work to improve the quality of your and other guests stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lauren G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    62
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
65
104
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Riptide is a throwback to the era of small oceanfront motels. It offers a variety of rooms to suit most every size group or family. The rooms are clean and come with basic kitchens and bathrooms at a great price for being directly on the beach. The people watching is great.

Room Tip: Stay in the North building for quieter nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Rick H,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We agree Hollywood Beach brings some of the most eclectic people in South Florida making it one of the best for people watching. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lauren G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently had a 6 hour overlay after getting off a cruise ship. We had no place to stay so started walking down Hollywood Boulevard to see if we could find a place to store our luggage. A wonderful manager by the name of Felicia made arrangements for us to have a room overlooking the ocean for 6 hours. It was Superbowl Sunday and at 6:00 pm we had the hotel call us a cab for 6:30. The cab never showed up even after calling twice. It was 7:30 and we were frantic. Felicia said "no worries" our general manager Tal will give you a ride." We take care of our people ." she added. Tal drove us to our gate. He absolutely would not take any money from us even though we insisted. This is a wonderful small business that really tries to do the best they can to make your stay relaxing, safe, and enjoyable. I thank you Felicia and Tal ,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Lynnda43357,

Thank you so much for all your kind words! Tal will always go above and beyond for our guests. I am so pleased we were able to be there for you and your family. And we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lauren G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I appreciated the free bikes and free beach chairs . This is second year we stayed. Great value. Clean beach. We will return.i the front desk was helpful when i misplaced a key. wrote over two hundred characters

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear DJL1967,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was wonderful to hear you brought in 2013 with us! We look forward to seeing you in the future again.

Best Regards,
Lauren G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Riptide for 3 nights over New Year's because we were in town for a concert at the Hard Rock Hollywood. The hotel is located oceanfront along the Hollywood Boulevard,which has many small tourist shops, restuarants and bars. Very nice beach with lots to do and interesting people watching. Rooms very very spacious and clean, not luxurious by any means, by adequate and comfortable. Nice Tiki bar on-site with live entertainment.

Room Tip: Choose the North side if you want a quiter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear DJL1967,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was wonderful to hear you brought in 2013 with us! We look forward to seeing you in the future again.

Best Regards,
Lauren G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is not a new motel but the rooms were clean (small) and there is a kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator, stovetop, sink, coffee pot and dishes. They do provide beach towels as well. If you are looking for something $120+ cheaper a night than the Marriott but still on the beach, this is it. Definitely not the Marriott as it is a small room and older decor with a window air conditioner that may not be for a light sleeper. However, you are on the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk with a great beach. If you are looking for quiet, this is NOT it. They have a small Tiki Bar which is outside your room if you are in the South building- the Tiki bar with music is very LOUD and unless you want to go outside and be part of the party - you will not like this. I was in the South and if you are in the North building, it would be a lot quieter. I was there on a Wed and Thurs night and the music and party was over about 10 pm both nights in late Nov. Not sure about the summer time. The happy hour and food at the TIKI bar was good. This is a good option if you don't have small kids, are on a budget and want to be on the beach, but don't expect a Holiday Inn, Hampton, or higher level of accomodations. Staff was friendly and helpful and I really liked the broadwalk and beach. Safe area even at night.

Room Tip: North Building if you don't want noise from Tiki Bar in your room. South rooms have the Tiki bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have never stayed anywhere where they charge you $25.00 for not returning a parking sign that they give you to hang in your car, and all other rediculous charges when they couldn't even clean the room properly.

By the way do not order dinner from their menu. 7-eleven deli food tastes better than what they serve.

And the main thing if you are looking for a place to relax you will not find it here. They have their live band blaring to wee wee hours of the morning. And if you call the office it is closed so no one can help you.

Next time we will pay a little extra if needed but make sure they don't have a tiki bar on the other side of our room door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riptide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Hotel

Address: 2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riptide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riptide Hotel Tiki Bar & Restaurant is an oceanfront hotel located on the broadwalk in beautiful Hollywood Beach. We offer Live Music daily from 1pm-9pm at our Tiki Bar. It is the perfect place to relax, have a cold drink and a meal, listen to our talented Musicians and soak up the sun and gorgeous views of the best beach on the East Coast. Our rooms are simply furnished with kitchens containing all the glass & cookware essentials, flat screen TV's with cable and DVD players, WiFi, and more. We have many complimentary amenities available to our guests such as bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riptide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riptide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.