We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They care!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riptide Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riptide Hotel to your Saves list
Riptide Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They care!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently had a 6 hour overlay after getting off a cruise ship. We had no place to stay so started walking down Hollywood Boulevard to see if we could find a place to store our luggage. A wonderful manager by the name of Felicia made arrangements for us to have a room overlooking the ocean for 6 hours. It was Superbowl Sunday and at 6:00 pm we had the hotel call us a cab for 6:30. The cab never showed up even after calling twice. It was 7:30 and we were frantic. Felicia said "no worries" our general manager Tal will give you a ride." We take care of our people ." she added. Tal drove us to our gate. He absolutely would not take any money from us even though we insisted. This is a wonderful small business that really tries to do the best they can to make your stay relaxing, safe, and enjoyable. I thank you Felicia and Tal ,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Lynnda43357,

Thank you so much for all your kind words! Tal will always go above and beyond for our guests. I am so pleased we were able to be there for you and your family. And we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lauren G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    101
    37
    10
    14
See reviews for
103
138
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I appreciated the free bikes and free beach chairs . This is second year we stayed. Great value. Clean beach. We will return.i the front desk was helpful when i misplaced a key. wrote over two hundred characters

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear DJL1967,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was wonderful to hear you brought in 2013 with us! We look forward to seeing you in the future again.

Best Regards,
Lauren G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Riptide for 3 nights over New Year's because we were in town for a concert at the Hard Rock Hollywood. The hotel is located oceanfront along the Hollywood Boulevard,which has many small tourist shops, restuarants and bars. Very nice beach with lots to do and interesting people watching. Rooms very very spacious and clean, not luxurious by any means, by adequate and comfortable. Nice Tiki bar on-site with live entertainment.

Room Tip: Choose the North side if you want a quiter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear DJL1967,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was wonderful to hear you brought in 2013 with us! We look forward to seeing you in the future again.

Best Regards,
Lauren G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is not a new motel but the rooms were clean (small) and there is a kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator, stovetop, sink, coffee pot and dishes. They do provide beach towels as well. If you are looking for something $120+ cheaper a night than the Marriott but still on the beach, this is it. Definitely not the Marriott as it is a small room and older decor with a window air conditioner that may not be for a light sleeper. However, you are on the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk with a great beach. If you are looking for quiet, this is NOT it. They have a small Tiki Bar which is outside your room if you are in the South building- the Tiki bar with music is very LOUD and unless you want to go outside and be part of the party - you will not like this. I was in the South and if you are in the North building, it would be a lot quieter. I was there on a Wed and Thurs night and the music and party was over about 10 pm both nights in late Nov. Not sure about the summer time. The happy hour and food at the TIKI bar was good. This is a good option if you don't have small kids, are on a budget and want to be on the beach, but don't expect a Holiday Inn, Hampton, or higher level of accomodations. Staff was friendly and helpful and I really liked the broadwalk and beach. Safe area even at night.

Room Tip: North Building if you don't want noise from Tiki Bar in your room. South rooms have the Tiki bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have never stayed anywhere where they charge you $25.00 for not returning a parking sign that they give you to hang in your car, and all other rediculous charges when they couldn't even clean the room properly.

By the way do not order dinner from their menu. 7-eleven deli food tastes better than what they serve.

And the main thing if you are looking for a place to relax you will not find it here. They have their live band blaring to wee wee hours of the morning. And if you call the office it is closed so no one can help you.

Next time we will pay a little extra if needed but make sure they don't have a tiki bar on the other side of our room door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed two nights before a trip to Key West. And stayed two more nights before flying home.
We have stayed here previously with the old owners. There are some differences, but nothing I would complain about.
The rooms are clean and the staff very helpful.
The tiki bar is a fun place to listen to good music and watch the world go by...or just stare at the beautiful ocean.
We were never bothered by the music after going to our room. We did have some trouble with our A/C, but they got it fixed.
I can't wait to get back there again!
One request...coffee grounds to go with the coffee pot?

Room Tip: Best place to stay on the Broadwalk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We've been coming here for years. It was always our favorite place have a charming room with kitchen, the tiki bar, the free bikes....we absoutelu loved it

But alas new owners decided to have live music late and then switch to blaring music "until someone complains" which for us was 11 pm and we couldn't take it anymore.

They now serve food and have draft beer at the tiki bar so they must want business for the bar

Unfoetunately for those in the rooms, even with windows shut tight and air conditioner blaring, the music is so loud as if they are singing in your room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott Hollywood Beach
Marriott Hollywood Beach
#14 of 64 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#8 of 64 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
WalkAbout Beach Resort
WalkAbout Beach Resort
#7 of 64 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riptide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Hotel

Address: 2300 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riptide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riptide Hotel Tiki Bar & Restaurant is an oceanfront hotel located on the broadwalk in beautiful Hollywood Beach. We offer Live Music daily from 1pm-9pm at our Tiki Bar. It is the perfect place to relax, have a cold drink and a meal, listen to our talented Musicians and soak up the sun and gorgeous views of the best beach on the East Coast. Our rooms are simply furnished with kitchens containing all the glass & cookware essentials, flat screen TV's with cable and DVD players, WiFi, and more. We have many complimentary amenities available to our guests such as bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riptide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riptide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.