We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now serving lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Council Oak Steak and Seafood

Council Oak Steak and Seafood
1 Seminole Way, Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Hollywood, FL 33314
954-327-7501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Council Oak Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 459 Restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: US 441/State Road 7
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Now serving lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This location had not been open for lunch until last month. They were only open for dinner and Sunday brunch. This is our second lunch experience. The lunch menu is rather limited but uniquely varied. The dinner menu is also still available. We have varied our selections and find every choice to be excellent. It is best know for its steaks but the sea food is incredibly superb. The Sea Bass is an award winner Today, I went for the standard hamburger. It was accompanied with a bone marrow mayo that elevated the dish. It came with truffle french fries(I suggest you order these well). The portions are perfect with a number of extremely tasty sides. The soups are great and the selection of salads should satisfy. The decor is upscale, comfortable and the outside dining is perfect. In general the service is par excellent! It is just to bad that our 'bus boy' out shined our waiter in communication and attention to dining detail. Well done Clive!
It is on the expensive side, but the quality of the food and it's preparation is well worth it. The manage,r J K visits all tables and engages the diner.
Urge you to visit, you will enjoy the experience. Dinner is a special experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    40
    35
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tried it twice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

…and it was expensive, good food and great service. We would go back for a special occasion, however.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great steak place. Romantic and pretty. Desserts were awesome and the steak was phenomenal, we had the porterhouse and it was very well seasoned and flavorful. The waiter directed us well.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The atmosphere is very relaxing for dinner with soft lights.The food is first class in presentation,taste and originality.The salmon dish and king crab is particularly good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went to Council Oak at the end of September, as there's no way to avoid the restaurants in the casino when attending a concert.

They allow smoking on the veranda, which we didn't know, so we had to endure the second-hand smoke from other tables. The service is excellent and the food is fair.

My major complaint is the amount you receive and I am not a big eater. My husband ordered the grouper special: it consisted of a very small piece of fish with a medley of other types of seafood. For $42 you would expect at least a side dish, something inexpensive as potatoes or rice, but no. At least it was good. I had the tuna Tataki that normally fills me up. What I got for $25 was just four (4) tiny pieces and a couple of shreds of nondescript vegetables: something fit for a Persian cat but not really for human appetites. I ended up scraping the small bowl of tapenade that came with the bread so hard that I must have dented it.

The bill, with a couple of drinks, came to $98 before tip. We left underwhelmed and underfed: we ended up gorging on popcorn at the concert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Council Oak Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Council Oak Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Council Oak Steak and Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.